Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Comfortable room, quite atmosphere & pleasant staff. Bar serves nice beverages! It is a great location for GNP touring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and Comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
I have to say there is just something about this place that I love so I tend to overlook the small things. I had a little one bedroom cabin to myself while I was there and that was perfect. My husband joined me for the last night but it would have cozy if we’d both been there the whole week. We were 8 miles from the entrance to Glacier Park with all its breathtaking scenery. The cabins are well enough constructed that in the fall with the windows closed I’d have to look outside to see if there were other people staying there. The kitchen was spotlessly clean and had all the basics you could need except a toaster and a hot pad. They provide coffee and tea but theirs is not very good so I bring my own. But you can get a great latte down at the lodge. The thermostats in the cabin worked great and I stayed comfortable during the day and could sleep cool at night. If you like it warmer you might have to listen to the heater kicking on and off at night. But that’s true any place you stay in Montana. I loved the privacy. I loved that housekeeping didn’t show up till mid afternoon so I could have a slow start to the day. There were about 15 tv channels. We had a crazy windstorm one evening that knocked out the power and someone came and brought me a lantern. There’s a barbecue grill and a little outside table for the warmer months. Soap and shampoo were installed. Bring your own conditioner. I didn’t eat at the restaurant but wish I had tried it. It gets great reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good family hotel with lots of outside activities.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Linens and towels are good quality.
Cons: Key lock needs to be updated.
Location: Flathead Lake and Glacier National Park are near and worth seeing.
Accommodations are only 8 miles from Glacier National Park. Good location if you are going to visit the Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Hello, and thanks for taking time out of your schedule to post a review! We appreciate all the comments we receive and do our best to follow up on suggestions for the benefits of future guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Bed and room was fine but the shower was tiny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We will take your comments regarding the size of the shower into consideration in order to meet the needs of future guests. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
by Cheryll

Visit to Glacier National Park

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely friendly and helpful staff; very family oriented hotel environment with a large grass area and so much room for the kids to run and play while also having areas for adults to relax and watch their kids play (or play a game of volleyball with the kids)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you so much for your review - we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
1 out of 5
by David

Nightmare at the Lodge!

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel totally did not honor the confirmed hotels.com reservation. They indicated there was no reservation and that hotels.com never communicated with them. I have a written, printed out confirmation from Hotels.com that stated clearly you are confirmed, no need to re-confirm and enjoy your stay. I was totally screwed in this situation. The hotels.com call center in Manilla was useless and clueless. All they could say was .. we did set up the reservation but if the hotel wants to disclaim that they can and all we or they have to do is rebook you somewhere else, done. So this was horrible in the high season at Glacier. I ended up in Evergreen Motel, it smelled, it was on the railroad line and it was dirty. That was just a terrible way to spend a valued vacation day. The Tamarack Inn owner, Doug knows how to game the system, and he totally dissed Hotels.com. You cannot rely on Hotels.com reservations anymore, the system is broken and I will not use it again. One must book direct now. The call center was totally useless and frustrating. This was bad. bad. bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
David, I believe I have addressed your comments on another review site but I will do my best to clarify again. We deal with a large number of reservations from third party sites every year and rarely have issues such as yours. If we do not receive notification of a reservation from a site, it is impossible for us to reserve a room. The fact that no deposit was taken for your room, clearly shows that we did not receive notification of your reservation. Like I said, it rarely happens. However, no system is foolproof and unfortunately things do fall through the cracks on occasion - as in your case. As soon as we realized there was an issue in your case we did our very best to locate a room for you elsewhere and to ensure you were comfortable and received a meal and drinks on the house whilst we did so. We do not 'play' any games or any systems with our guests and honor every reservation we receive. We are sorry that this affected your stay on this occasion, but feel we did the very best we could under the circumstances.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Caronina

Needs Work

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Not much to like.
Cons: Complete trimming rooms and replace shower curtains with ones that fit.
Location: Close to National park.
Cabin was not very well constructed. Unfinished drywall in bathroom, shower curtain not right sized for shower stall which caused curtain to mildew and sour. Walls very thin and everyone in cabin can hear everyone else in same set of cabins. Nothing special that made it historic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Double Check Your Reservation: Untrustworthy Staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
First off, my family and I did not stay here because our reservation was mysteriously canceled. My reservation was made Jan 4, 2017 to stay Jun 19, 2017 - Jun 21, 2017. I received Expedia and Tamarack confirmation numbers. After driving around 2000 miles, we arrived at Tamarack, eager to check in. Upon speaking with the front desk attendant, I was told my reservation didn't exist in their "bulletproof" reservation system. My reservation was searched for by my last name, but didn't show up somehow (I looked at the screen and did not see it). The front desk attendant made it a big point to blame Expedia for the missing reservation, but was happy to call around for another room for me and my family. We ended up down the road at a better place for lower cost which was actually closer to the park entrance. When we called Expedia to find out what happened, Expedia staff called Tamarack who was suddenly able to locate our reservation by searching with our last name. The manager said our reservation was canceled by Tamarack without any cancellation notification to myself or Expedia. Luckily, I had opted to pay at the hotel upon check-in rather than pay up front, so I didn't have to deal with refunds or chargebacks. If you decide to stay here, make darn sure your reservation still exists before travelling. I have booked many nights with Expedia and have never had an issue until dealing with Tamarack!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Antelope Cabin

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The Antelope cabin was a nice cabin, well stocked with the basics. However, it shares an interior wall with the Bison Cabin. The occupants of the adjoining cabin may as well have staying with us as the noise from their cabin and their conversations was extremely loud and obnoxious, as if they were in the same room! I know more personal information about the family that stayed in the adjoining cabin than I care to know. Our bedtime was their bedtime and our mornings began when theirs did! Do not choose either of these cabins unless your group is using both. The cabin is well located for visiting the WEST side of Glacier NP and the surrounding areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun for kids

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
As a historic lodge, the Tamarack did not have all the bells & whistles of some newer hotels (somewhat smaller rooms & bathrooms than typical), but they had everything we needed and then some. Our boys even got to fish for the first time with loaner fishing rods from the lodge on the beaver ponds at the back of the property. A fun bonus for our vacation.