Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel with rooms overlooking beach

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Good location, nice room with balcony overlooking beach, walkig distance of village area with restaurants.
Cons: Only 1 restaurant was in wide open area - could be more enclosed to create atmosphere. Perhaps open Sirene restaurant a couple of times a week.
Location: Ferry to Fort de France, walk round village/beach/marina. Car hire to view island. Water sports available. Sunset cruise on Samsara
Lovely island - not typical of Caribbean in some areas. Good location, hotel nice with great breakfast, rooms overlooking beach bit dated but super view from balcony and clean/comfortable, lovely beach does not get overcrowded and super view across bay towards Fort de France and Mount Pelee. Good selection of restaurants in village gives variety as one restaurant in hotel for evening meal lacked atmosphere being in wide open area. Particularly liked the one with meals cooked "on the stone". Meals can be pricy. Worth getting car for few days to take look round island and see Mount Pelee, the East coast has great boarding beach at Le Francois to enjoy/sit in the sun at one of the numerous drink stalls/restaurants and narrow roads can take you up mountain where many villages are perched to take in the fabulus views. Feb saw many heavy showers - only lasting a few minutes mostly - but be prepared to shelter when required. Fort de France can be reached by ferry - but very disappointing town, lacked character, Fort not open to public and just lots of shops/boutiques selling tacky carnival gear.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Terrrible Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The beach is convenient
Cons: Check in, safety, cleanliness
Location: lots of overpriced stores around
Do whatever you can to not stay here. Our rooms were not ready until after 7pm, half the staff seemed like they didn't even care. We were not offered a drink or a complimentary meal by the beach and when we got to our rooms, only one was ready. The interior is in desperate need of an update, the staff at the beach bar are surly and take almost 20 minutes to pour two cokes which they then charge you 8E for. The security is non existent so I wouldn't leave anything in your car. The restaurant was closed and so we were charged 58E for a terrible buffet that we promptly got sick from
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Presidents Weekend Escape to the Caribbean

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Location, Amenities, Views
Cons: Provision of extra coffee, and Ice Machines in the halls
Location: Ferry to Fort du France, walking, dinner and boating areas, delightful beaches for bating and snorkeling, rental boats/waverunners...
A delightful location on the western (Caribbean) side of Martinique. Water and air extremely tranquil and warm with both at 83 degrees all week. As a department of France, all communication was primarily French, although English could be used when needed. Hotel was slightly dated with limited electrical outlets, but complete with in room safe and mini-fridge. As with other European facilities, extra towels and coffee needed to be requested, but the location and views certainly offset any minor inconveniences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice hotel and right on the beach. Great Stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very clean and we enjoyed the beach and pool area as well as the Coco Bar.
Cons: I would suggest that bar service be made available to the guests on the beach.
Location: Centrally located, walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Plenty of good places to eat in walking distance but a car gives you more options.
We were 2 couples and had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our stay. The view from the hotel was awesome. The Hotel Bakoua has a few restaurants and the lovely Coco Bar, right in the beach area. The Hotel Bakoua is centrally located in the town of Trois-Ilets and close to many fine restaurants as well as a little supermarket for supplies. The hotel staff, especially Line- Rose was quite helpful and made some very good suggestions for lunch and dinner. In order to get around to other parts of the island one should rent a car and if you are not nervous about driving it is a great island to visit. We drove up to Le Carbet and spent the day at the Petit Bonhonum beach and restaurant. It was a lovely day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Very nice hotel. Room small but very nice, get beachfront if possible. Pool is fantastic, friendly staff and good food. Reliable internet as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The staff can make or break your stay, the staff at this hotel definitely made our stay very pleasant. The beach is nice.
Cons: My only complaint would be that non guests are allowed on the beach and it can get crowded.
Location: The location is great. Near shops, restaurants and entertainment.
Our stay at the Hotel Bakoua Les Trois Ilets was wonderful. The location is excellent, close to shops and activities. The staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful, especially Jean Michel, Line-Rose and Alice at the front desk. Also the housekeeper who was cleaning room 114 on Sunday, January 15 (I'm sorry I did not get her name). We had just checked in the night before and were wandering aimlessly looking for beach towels, she went and got some for us. Also, the nice kid who takes drink orders on the beach was so friendly and helpful all the time. We had a garden room which was a little dated but very clean. We checked out on Saturday, January 21 at 5am only to get to the airport to find out our flight had been cancelled. After making other flight arrangements, I called the hotel and explained our situation, we were told we could return to the hotel and were given a room to change, beach towels and they stored our luggage so we could spend the day at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Worth the Price of Admission

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The Bakuoa is very relaxing, quiet, and insulated from the "outside world." If you are looking for an escape, this is the place. You won't be sorry.
Cons: Service at the Coco Bar was glacially slow and even a bit sullen. It was inconsistent with the rest of the hotel.
The Bakuoa is a lovely property with a pleasant private beach, small but accommodating infinity pool, lots of activities at the site and nearby (interesting sailing vessels, for example). It is close to outside amenities, restaurants, a small grocery store, souvenir shops, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great view and very helpful front desk staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff at the front desk.
Location: Very convenient as it's about 5 minute walk away from the ferry stop. Many restaurants and shops down the street.
We got to the hotel, nervous about the language barrier as we do not speak French at all. The front desk staff, Jean Michel, was very friendly and helpful and went beyond and above to help us throughout our stay there. Our room was clean and quiet, right on the beach. We only tried one of their restaurants there but it was amazing. English menu available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great trip to Martinique

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Bakaou for 4 nights after 3 nights at Club Med. They were both great but I will give Hotel Bakoua the edge. I like the 2 minute walk into town for other dinning options. Felt very safe, about 1 out of 20 people speak English. Drove around the whole island 1 day and the southern half has the better beaches.