Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Had a fab evening in the bar then restaurant, food and service was excellent . Would not hestitate to stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from woking

Dry comfortable overnight stay on the way west

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Lovely room, great staff nice food. A very well appointed and well run hotel
Cons: It was all pretty good Cannot think of any pressing need for improvement
Location: Good stopover on journies to the west country
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are hoping to refurb the bar & restaurant in the new year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2nd stay here, not as good as the 1st

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Always find it a little frustrating when your checking in to be told they have no booking! Hotel apologised and room was allocated. After a long route through the building I arrive at my room, it's a little dated. Looked clean until I went to use the bathroom, toilet bowl contained something that should have been flushed when the room was persumably cleaned!! When showering it took longer to adjust the mixer taps then the act itself. The bar and restaurant is superb from the atmosphere created by staff to the amazing food served. Shower in the morning was as cold as the checkout. No cheerie goodbye or how was your stay! Would have mentioned above rather than feeling the need to type here! The check in and check out were conducted by someone I assumed was a manager. Hopefully just a bad day but let's see what happens on my next trip to the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to point out where we might do better. Most are fairly easily corrected, and your comments have been forwarded to all departments. Thank you for pointing out that you will stay again, and I hope your next stay will match up to your first stay. Kind Regards, Tom Walsh (Manager)
5 out of 5
by Brian from Rochester

A Great Find

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel as my usual hotel in this area was fully booked I stayed for three nights and was made very welcome by the management and staff Most of the rooms are on ground level and each room has it own patio area complete with a table and chair The actual bar and restaurant are in a old pub styles building with a good atmosphere, the main accommodation block is quite modern but fit in well with the older building The rooms are light and airy due mainly to the large patio doors a the end of the room, my bath room was brand new and the room was very clean and well maintained The hotel management and staff are very friendly and helpful The restaurant had a good menu with good portion size and the food I ate at this hotel was well prepared and although the menu was not very big what was on it was good quality The hotel is in a quiet area county side area and we very relaxing after a day work I would certainly stay in this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, and we are sincerely delighted that you would choose us for a future trip. We survive on repeat business, and letting other guests know you would return is much appreciated.
5 out of 5
by David from Aboyne

A Really Fab Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this only a few days before leaving and it was a little outside the area where we wanted to stay (closer to the coast). However, we weren't disappointed and despite the 40 minute drive down to Bridport etc it was a fantastic base. The Haynes Motor Museum, Fleet Air Arm, Sherborne Castle etc are all a short drive from Bower Hinton along with countless other attractions and of course the Jurassic Coast. We took a Junior Suite so we had large French Doors opening out onto the garden etc, really beautiful. Great bath (very quick to run) and a spacious bathroom, bedroom area great and the lounge area with a leather couch and big TV great for relaxing after a full day out. Breakfast was quite superb and all to the highest standard. If I were to make one small criticism, the 9:00 close for breakfast was a little tight for us. We spend our lives on the clock and could have done without this. Mind you, we tended to do some work in the mornings, head out around lunchtime and we were never back before 22:00. I did notice it catch one or two others out during our week long stay so it may be worth the hotel reviewing this. Not a biggy, just an observation. All in all, I'd highly recommend The Hollies. Fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Paris

Beautiful hotel. Highly recommended.

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel with excellent facilities. Very friendly, patient and helpful staff (reception, breakfast and housekeeping). We were lucky to be upgraded to a three bedroom cottage which was perfect for two adults and two young children. A real gem of a hotel.
5 out of 5
by Muriel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Lovely Country Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Food at the restaurant was surprisingly top notch. I recommend the pork belly.
5 out of 5
by Sonny

A1

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
quality throughout
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A1

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
A1 100% quality