Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice and affordable stay in London

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was fresh, warm and of high quality. There was no noise pollution coming from the outside or inside.
Cons: Although the bathroom was very clean, there was a slightly unpleasant smell coming from the sink in the bathroom. This was not a big issue though.
Location: Perfectly located within a walking distance to Euston station and University of Westminster (15 mins to both) and surrounded by shops and restaurants
This was my first stay at Fitzroy. I was skeptical and had low expectations towards the place because of the overall rating and other people's comments. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival and throughout my stay and found the place to be very nice! I booked an en-suite double bedroom for two nights. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was extremely comfy. Both the owner and assistant were very friendly. The location was perfect as it was within a walking distance to both Euston railway station and University of Westminster. I stayed in a different B&B in central London last year, and had a terrible experience, which might be adding to my overall rating of Fitzroy in how pleasantly it surprised me. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to this part of London. I also received a discount for my stay by paying cash on departure, which was a lovely surprise on top of a pleasant stay. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for an affordable stay in London in a great, central location and in a quiet area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Not luxurious but clean and fairly quiet.

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Not luxurious but clean and fairly quiet in a good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overnight in the West End

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Location. Price.
Nice hotel, clean, basic (but the low cost justifies that). Nice breakfast. Close to the tube station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Clean but room a bit cold in morning

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Staff very friendly and polite, room ok but cold in morning shower not the best and quite small bed comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iceland

Brilliant location - friendly staff!

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel is well worn on the inside but everything was clean and the bed very comfortable. Shower was nice and powerful. Excellent breakfast & very friendly staff. Location is fantastic - only a couple of minutes walk to Warren Station underground. Plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood 😀
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Good Location budget hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Good Location
Cons: More sockets in bedroom, light switches nearer bed, more choice of food for breakfast - especially veggie options
Location: Good transport links, and within reasonable walking distance is Regents park, British library, British museum.
Good location close to Euston main and Euston Square tube station.Warren St. tube is just around the corner. This is a budget hotel so no frills - bring your own toiletries. Our room was on the 2nd floor, reception office and dining room are in the basement so there are lots of stairs and no lifts . Room was clean and reasonably spacious although there was only two of us in a triple room The bathroom was small and rather dated but was adequate - the shower pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. A kettle was provided for tea/coffee making but it was a bit of a struggle to fill it in the small bathroom basin and the socket was on the opposite side of the room to the dressing table and so you had to stand it on the floor. A hairdryer is provided but again the socket is on the opposite side to the mirror. There are no chairs or full length mirror in the room and there are no light switches near the bed. The breakfast was well cooked with good portions but there is a limited main menu and limited choice of other things - 1 type of fruit juice, 1 type of cereal, no fresh fruit. As a vegetarian I managed with scrambled egg and tomatoes but they not have veggie sausages or other veggie substitutes. A continental breakfast is listed as 1 of the 4 options on the main menu but the details were not specified. I suggest vegans ring before booking. I would recommend this hotel to a friend who wanted a reasonably priced budget hotel with basic facilities but a good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waungron

Excellent location

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location to everything
Cons: Breakfast
The Fitzroy is a classic old bedsit in a very nice neighborhood. It is extremely convenient to all forms of tranposrt, food, and some excellent pubs and cafes. I had the top floor room and it was very quiet and comfy with a little bit of a vew. Hey, it's not the Ritz, it's the Fitzroy! I would defo use it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic, clean room. Don't expect luxury

Posted Oct 22, 2017
I stayed in a triple room that had private bathroom. Room and bathroom was basic but very clean. Shower water did not drain well so I stood on puddle of water while showering. Staff are friendly. Would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Good value b&b close to euston

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The room was neat and clean and had all the essentials. The staff were polite, breakfast satisfactory. A good value b&b for the price and convenient lication
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Disappointing at first, but definitely grew on me.

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Upon arriving at the Fitzroy Hotel, I noticed what a great location it was in; Warren Street station is just a short walk down the road, and it is surrounded by great restaurants and things to do. However, my excitement quickly faded as I rung the doorbell, was greeted, and rushed down to a dodgy basement room, they call their "reception". After that, I headed up the steep stairs, hitting my head for the second time on the strangely designed concrete ceiling, to my disaster of a room. I was upgraded to a double with an ensuit. As great as this was, it didn't really make up for the paint peeling off the walls, the windows that didn't lock, the curtains that you couldn't fully close while you're changing, the suspicious lumps under the sheet, the filthy toilet seat, the sink with taps that, if not turned on to their full capacity, would just run water down the side of the basin, and of course, the dirty rubber gloves lying in the corner of my room. The first day, I sat in this room, wondering what I had gotten myself into. The next day, however, I was able to have a complimentary full English breakfast, and this did almost make up for the awful room. The staff were friendly, but the cleaner loved to sing very loudly and yell down into the basement through the day. Which as much as it was entertaining, it was incredibly irritating as I was recovering from my jet lag. All in all, while the room was not up to scratch, the complimentary breakfasts and location did suffice.