Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very uncomfortable stay

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I stayed for overnight. It was highly uncomfortable. Matttess was just springs and no foam. I was very tired and couldn't complain them at that moment to change it. But it was horrible. Won't recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corby

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The room needed decorating the single bids were very old one of them was half a single bed. The window wouldn't stay open the bathroom door wouldn't close, there were gaps under the skirting board that let light in. The bathroom was dirty. It was stuffy and smelly. Only seen one member of staff when we checked in he wasn't customer friendly and we didn't see anyone else since. Only good thing was the location was easy to get to.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alessandria

English Horror Story

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Outside you can already imagine something spooky of the hotel, but ince inside is even Worse. The guy at the reception actually has been nice to us - he worked there since few weeks - and told me what I should know. The room was on ground floor, just opening the door next to the desk (I thought it was the lift door!). Room terrible, dirty, old fornitures, view on a trashy corner where there were old mattress abandoned, umbrellas (probably Mary Poppins is dead here!), and other broken things... the bathroom a nightmare... the wc was making always noises such as someone was throwing water continuely in, they probably painted the walls but not moving the fornitures, so there were old color lines and spots on the wall where they couldn't reach. We slept over the sheets, dressed, and with lights on cos feared about insects could come Inve lights off... At the desk there's none during the night (after 21) and the hotel door is always opened... anyone could come from the outside doing whatever. I saw just once again someone of the staff, in the hall/living room... I thought was a host, taking a picture outside, then told me not to leave my child of 7 playing chess (with me) cos children usually breaks chess pieces... I didn't care actually and we played a couple of hours ... We had no breakfast, we went both days outside, I was quite scared.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basic hotel no breakfast

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: very convenient location for tube and attractions
Cons: communication prior to arrival about change in breakfast provision. Cleaning on more regular basis
Location: between baker street tube and marleybone station in quiet square. short walk to Madame tousards and longer walk through Regents Park to London Zoo
I booked hotel expecting breakfast to be available. Back of hotel room door still states times for continental breakfast but this service is no longer provided. I would have appreciated prior notice of this before arrival or at check in. Room was basic as expected, bathroom very old but functional. I stayed three nights and bin was only emptied once during my stay and bed was not changed at all during this period.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers but with a nice receptionist

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
I knew from the reviews that this hotel was hit or miss when I booked it, but it is quite poor. Lovely staff at reception. Very hot room, but fan provided, so I slept OK. However, bathroom very small and dirty and the shower didn't work. It was so late when I arrived that I just washed as best I could in the sink and tried to get some sleep. Sash window wouldn't stay up, so if you did want a breeze, you'd have to wedge something there. Take earplugs (for the road noise) and a sense of humour.
1 out of 5
by Matthew

Definitely don't bother - find somewhere else

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Really poor! The building was a mess - extremely dated, with no facilities, and more like a renovation project building site. I had to go to reception to ask for soap and shampoo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants, UK

Very poor!!!

Posted May 30, 2017
Overpriced for what I got in return. I booked a double room for 1 night. The main issue was that the mattress was completely worn and I could feel the frame. Room not supplied with any basics such as soap or shower gel. I thought all hotels provided these items. Only one plus point was the small bedside fan on a very hot and humid night. Definitely won't be going back.
2 out of 5
by simon

Not great

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Typical of these townhouse hotels in London. Over priced b&b's and that probably unfair to a b&b. Shabby. Poor bathroom with a macarator. No toiletries etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average, yet centrally located hotel.

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is in a very good location. Walking distance from a few cafes and restaurants, and a couple blocks from baker st station. However the hotel itself could use some updates. The window in our room was cracked, letting in a cold draft. No air or heat in the room. No soap to wash your hands with. Shower curtain was abnormally long, so you'd step on it while showering. Beds were uncomfortable, but bedding seemed to be clean. TV did not seem to work. No phone in the room. Walls are very thin, so you can hear most of what's going on outside your room. Strange construction noises at all hours of the night. The ceiling was cracking in the shower above the bathtub, with some type of black substance along the ceiling. There was only one outlet in the entire room. Overall, room was not great, however I did not expect a great room. If you'd like a centrally located place to leave your things and sleep, this might be a good option for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels