Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great staff and location

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Good location and friendly staff
Cons: Bigger desserts and smaller entrees : )
Our family had a wonderful time and would return. Their website accurately depicts their accommodations. The location allows you to view hippos and crocs right from the property and all of the tents are facing the river for a nice view. The food was good to very good. The tents are clean and in good repair. The employees are friendly and want to be helpful, for example I unknowingly dropped some money on the floor and our waiter spotted it and quickly returned it to me. Our game driver John went out of his way to make sure that we spotted the big 5 plus so much more. It is a mix between a tented camp and a resort, it has a larger feel to it but that suited our needs perfectly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommmend!

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
AMAZING stay, great game drives, food is very very good and most of all the service and people are wonderful
5 out of 5
by Naresh

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Daniel, Hotel Management
Dear Naresh, Thank you for taking time to write feedback about us. We look forward to welcoming you back again, Best Regards, Munene Ngotho, General Manager, Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by Yvonne from Australia

Safe & snug at Kenya's Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Staff (Geoffrey, John, Munene, Miriem) were welcoming & generous with their hospitality from pick up at the airstrip, till departure. There were food choices to suit all, thanks to Chef Nicholas & Team. Delicious wine selection, especially the Mara Red, and great table service, thanks Stephen, Alex & others. Driver Ashford was very skilled in navigating the varied terrains, making me feel safe at all times. His knowledge of game & birds was welcome. Location is great, altitude of 5300 feet, just south of the Equator, with large well appointed tents high above the Mara River, and we could see hippo and crocodiles from our verandah. Plenty of bottled water in the tent, plus fruit plates, coffee machine, tea, minibar. Sammy the room attendant did a great job looking after our needs, and kept the tent immaculate. And the hot water bottles in both queen beds every evening were Devine. The lounges and dining room, plus verandahs wrapping around the main building are all decorated with the African decor that sits so well in a lodge atmosphere. The gift shop has a huge selection of things, reasonably priced. Security at the Lodge is excellent, all vehicles are scrutinised before entry (thanks Wilson), electric fences discretely in the trees, regular patrols, plus personal electronic safe. All in all, just as you would expect from a Fairmont property in the wilderness, and a wonderful way to experience Kenya. We saw lots of animals. The massing for the Migration is stunning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
Great value for money as about half the price of some of the fancier lodges. The rooms are lovely and the food is pretty decent, although the restaurant could do with a little more atmosphere! Some more comfortable furniture on the verandah of the tent would also be nice as the wooden chairs do not lend themselves to sitting for more than five minutes!
5 out of 5
by Anudeep from Chicago

One of the best family vacations of many...

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels
We have taken many family vacations around the world. 3 days spent at Mara Safari Club were one of the best. Pros- 1. Terrific location - Located on the Mara River with Hippos and Crocodiles visible from living quarters 2. Excellent accommodations and service - very friendly and responsive staff, our driver Evans was fantastic 3. Plentiful wildlife up close - we saw the big 5 and all else several times at touching distance 4. Easy access and exit from Nairobi Things to be careful about 1. Not cheap - you pay for what you get 2. Food choices - while the quality was uniformly good, picky eaters would find the fare limited; you are in the middle of a jungle after all 3. Limited connectivity - wifi in the main hotel only, ideal if you want to unplug and disconcerting if you are used to plugging in 24/7 without paying exorbitant roaming charges
5 out of 5
by ali from Egypt

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bj. from London, UK

A Great life experience

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Wonderful time! I have no regrets about this trip. An amazing place with beautiful people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lara from Philadelphia, PA

Safari Meets Luxury

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Easy flow with just the right attention to schedule to allow us to have a great, full experience without feeling structured. Well appointed tents.
Cons: Nothing
Location: location is close to airstrip, very close to the reserve, right along the river, lots of wildlife.
Great and easy to get to location, every need anticipated. Staff was super attentive. Resort was small enough that we were known, by name, within hours and by all. The schedule was set, everything inclusive, but didn't feel regimented. The resort takes full advantage of the natural surroundings and gives animal encounters with monkeys, hippos, crocs, birds in a safe and up close way. We lacked nothing and the prepared game drives were superb. Our safari was top-notch thanks to the efforts and the planning and the expertise of this hotel. Would not hesitate to send my closest friends and family here.
5 out of 5
by Jim & Ann

Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels
Great location - all tents, and the main buildings, overlooked the Mara river, also had beautifully landscaped grounds that gave sufficient privacy between tents. Luxurious tents that had amazingly comfortable beds and outside deck areas to enjoy the splendid postion overlooking the river. We even had our own 'local' hippo in the patch of river below!! Although the food was plentiful and enjoyable, the evening meal was not quite the standard I expected from the Fairmont. The safari's were great! comfortable vehicles fully equipped with refreshments, but most importantly, good guides who knew the territory well and were very knowledgeable. generally very friendly staff who made you feel very welcome. We would definately return!