Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and amazing view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting the Masai Mara

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Electricity is off several times a day, which can be a pain. Internet is good.
Location: Balloon ride, game drives, spa, pool,
We spent a week in the Masai Mara. The Serena lodge is the heart of the Masai Mara conservancy which is the best kept part of the entire area. The roads are better, the animals are protected and it is the perfect destination for game drives. The Serena lodge is the only place to stay in the area and there really is no other place you would want to go. It is located a few km from the airstrip (yes you do want to fly in, don't drive from Nairobi) on top of a high mesa that looks out dozens of miles in all directions. The property is amazing with a pool, workout facilities and an excellent spa. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating and you will want for nothing. Look out your window each morning and see everything from baboons to buffalo to antelope and giraffes. They have many Land Cruisers with pop tops for game drives and the animals really are incredible. Highly recommend the balloon ride. The master pilot, Dan, is incredible and the vistas are amazing. Not cheap but worth the adventure. On Wednesday night there is an excellent talk by local researchers from the Hyena study camp which is fascinating as well. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and setting

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Mara Serena - the location is amazing and the staff is quite friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Heart of the Mara - pumps to beat of migration

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Wonderful Staff, wonderful animals, unbeatable location - so very sad to leave - next visit will be longer. Simply excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicola from UK

The best place we have ever stayed

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The location!
Cons: Leaving it.
Location: On the top of a hill, every room has a view out over the plains of the Mara. Animals can wander up close to the edge of the rooms.
We stayed at a quiet time, so there were few people around, but nonetheless the way we were looked after was superb. Wonderful food, wonderful views, brilliant service, comfortable rooms, swimming pool. When you add in the location, on top of the hill looking out across the plains, this hotel is the best place we have ever stayed. Where else can you have a swim before breakfast, see a lion at lunch time, then elephants in the afternoon, before a delicious dinner and then fall into a comfortable bed? We will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to return to

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels
The vistas of the wild bush are great and one can see a lot of wild animals from the comfort of one's room.
5 out of 5
by Dagmar

Posted Dec 18, 2012 on Hotels
everything perfekt
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drew from Louisiana, USA

Expect to pay ALOT more

Posted Dec 6, 2012
First off, the overall experience at the hotel was quite amazing, so if you don't care about all the extra fees than you'll love it. However, if you do care, prepare yourself. Right away there's a 70 dollar conservancy fee per person per night you have to pay. I don't hold this against them given that you pay it to the park and not the hotel, but warning would have been nice. Next, they charged us 80 dollars to bring us from the airstrip to the hotel, which is about a 4 minute ride. This was what outraged me the most. For the price you pay and how short the ride is this should ABSOLUTELY be free. Then, when we got there, it turned out the 'game drives' were another 80 dollars per person per drive, and while at least you're actually getting something for this 80, the description does not clearly specify that this is not included. So overall, it was a great experience, I just wish they were less crafty in letting me know what I paid for before I showed up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Be aware with the extras

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels
The place was nice, well kept and with nice amenities. However if you do not have a package they charge insainly high prices for absolutely everything! E.g.in March 2012 (I understand prices are changing frequently) transfers from the airstrip to the hotel and v.v. 40 USD pp per way(for a less than 2 miles distance!) 2 hours safari games: 80 USD pp. Also count on 70 USD pp per day for the mandatory Mara conservation fee. Food is relatively good and service is excellent. Wi fi internet is good you can also skype.Wi-fi costs 4 USD per hour or 20 USD per 24 hrs.