Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Have extra money and need rip off experience?

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Scenery is nice, though not breathtaking for us. Was a dry forest with the volcano in the distance. grounds were well kept. Most staff are friendly
Cons: Pricing, Food, on site facilities, shopping, wifi, have actual spa The place looks like a camp without tents instead of a 4 star complex.
Location: The location was very remote, so we were totally at the hotel’s staff mercy. No restaurants or shops nearby. Road to town is a dirt road and quite far
We just finished a 3 night stay this hotel and have some serious concerns regarding the exorbitantly high rate we were charged per night and the value we received, or did not receive for it. Since we want to be fair in reviewing we will start with the good things and then move to our concerns. We would also like to compare this hotel with the Camino Real hotel we stayed in for part of our trip. Camino Real is also a 4 star property in Managua and very conveniently located to the city and airport. Comparing the two, we found Camino Real to be a REALLY good value, with super amenities, outstanding food, all for half the price of the Hacienda full board. So, our advice is to stay at someplace else, and take a day trip to the volcanoes. Anyway, here is our review of the Hacienda. FOOD was not at par with what was promised. after paying more than a 4 figures for full board, we ended up having beans and rice for two out of the three dinners, and were hungry during the lunches. The hotel is in a very remote area, so no restaurants or anything within walking distance left us at the hotel’s mercy and hungry. Even when we used the hotel’s tours, we were not offered lunch for those tours. The room’s amenities are not at par with a 4 star property or worth the pricing. The WiFi was too slow for us to complete any work, which is going to cost us due to backlog of work. No WiFi in the rooms. This is a glorified campsite, not a 4 star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geneva, switzerland

Fabulous lodges on a cliff

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Ebookers
I absolutely loved this place! It really is a little bit of paradise! Wonderful lodges, the view is out of this world- one can actually see the erupting volcano from afar- excellent service, great food and both wfficient and friendly staff. I honestly dont have anything negative to write.Moreover their choice of excursions is perfect- there is something for everyone. I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECCOMEND IT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's, NL

Excellent choice, wonderful people,

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Accommodating. Breathtaking nature. Clean.
I found about the place while searching choices for a stay in Nicaragua. I love to be closer to Nature and away from cities. This place provided all that. It has a breathtaking view over a lake and some amazing peaks. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always ready to take the extra mile to accommodate any plans or requests. JC, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The organized last minute excursions for me that were really fun and enjoyable. Highly recommended. You won't regret it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

A honeymooners paradise!!!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Granada is a vibrant city with the Mombacha Cigar factory, the Choco Museo, the coche, and Las Isleta de Granada. Masaya Volcano was awesome
From beginning to end, the entire stay was wonderful! The view was breathtaking, the room and the resort were perfectly designed, and the meals were excellently prepared. The staff were extremely kind, professional, and knowledgeable and we were grateful for all their hard work. Katherine, Ruth, Ariel, Oscar, and Adrian worked tirelessly throughout our stay to keep the place clean and were always on time with a smile and kind word. The owner, JC, also generously gifted us with a bottle of wine. The masseuse, Blanca, really helped to make my wife very comfortable and we highly recommend her services. All together, they helped make this honeymoon a memorable and fantastic visit we will never forget!! We cannot wait to visit again....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super for couples

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place to relax and stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Val P.

What an amazing place

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Orbitz
Loved the setting, food, beautiful views and sunsets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular views and staff. Amazing food

Posted May 21, 2015
a must experience for anyone traveling to masaya. Staff are amazing. Views unbelievable. Perfect place to unwind
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alton, il

Rustic with all comforts you need

Posted Mar 21, 2015
You cannot go wrong with stay at the Hacienda. The views, the casitas, the staff make for a perfect vacation. You will not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Old Heathfield, England

A true Gateway to Heaven

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Views, staff, tranquil settings, remote location promotes restfulness and relaxation
Cons: Nothing is a fundamental issue
Location: Take the opportunity for a walk out with one of the staff as guide, all organised trips are worthwhile. BUY CHOCOLATE IN GRANADA
We spent a glorious 3 weeks at Hacienda Puerto del Cielo over Christmas and New Year 2014-15, with its stunning scenery, photographs cannot do it justice, the panoramic view across the National Park to the distant Masaya volcano are so beautiful one can understand why the hotel has been named, “Gateway to Heaven”. Despite the beauty of HPDC, we found the most important and consistently enjoyable aspect of our stay was the staff. The front of house and kitchen staff were delightful, great characters, full of fun and made sure they looked after every need. We stayed in Casa Bela and made friends with a great diversity of people from many walks of life and soon found the humour and bon-homie of like minds. This differentiates the Hacienda from other places we have stayed where one only gets to know a few people. In the evening JC’s bar is a magnet for banter, fun and delightful cocktails after a hard day relaxing or touring. Every trip was a great experience, the folk music evening was very special, we can't understand a previous comment about being embarrassing and feeling compelled to pay; that is a niggardly response, we found it a joyful experience and believe it fundamentally important not to lose Nicaragua’s cultural heritage. Many visitors stayed just a night or two on their way to other destinations, consider a longer stay. HPDC supports the local community.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This place is one of the most beautiful places that we have visit, the staff is beautiful the hacienda is beautiful the food is amazing the views are what your eyes mind heart and body needs to relax; Don Juan Carlos is an exceptional person ; we are planning to enjoy this place again ; and take my family as well . love this place love the people love the food. Thank you love you all :)