Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super for couples

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place to relax and stay.
5 out of 5
by Val P.

What an amazing place

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Orbitz
Loved the setting, food, beautiful views and sunsets
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spectacular views and staff. Amazing food

Posted May 21, 2015
a must experience for anyone traveling to masaya. Staff are amazing. Views unbelievable. Perfect place to unwind
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alton, il

Rustic with all comforts you need

Posted Mar 21, 2015
You cannot go wrong with stay at the Hacienda. The views, the casitas, the staff make for a perfect vacation. You will not want to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Old Heathfield, England

A true Gateway to Heaven

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Views, staff, tranquil settings, remote location promotes restfulness and relaxation
Cons: Nothing is a fundamental issue
Location: Take the opportunity for a walk out with one of the staff as guide, all organised trips are worthwhile. BUY CHOCOLATE IN GRANADA
We spent a glorious 3 weeks at Hacienda Puerto del Cielo over Christmas and New Year 2014-15, with its stunning scenery, photographs cannot do it justice, the panoramic view across the National Park to the distant Masaya volcano are so beautiful one can understand why the hotel has been named, “Gateway to Heaven”. Despite the beauty of HPDC, we found the most important and consistently enjoyable aspect of our stay was the staff. The front of house and kitchen staff were delightful, great characters, full of fun and made sure they looked after every need. We stayed in Casa Bela and made friends with a great diversity of people from many walks of life and soon found the humour and bon-homie of like minds. This differentiates the Hacienda from other places we have stayed where one only gets to know a few people. In the evening JC’s bar is a magnet for banter, fun and delightful cocktails after a hard day relaxing or touring. Every trip was a great experience, the folk music evening was very special, we can't understand a previous comment about being embarrassing and feeling compelled to pay; that is a niggardly response, we found it a joyful experience and believe it fundamentally important not to lose Nicaragua’s cultural heritage. Many visitors stayed just a night or two on their way to other destinations, consider a longer stay. HPDC supports the local community.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This place is one of the most beautiful places that we have visit, the staff is beautiful the hacienda is beautiful the food is amazing the views are what your eyes mind heart and body needs to relax; Don Juan Carlos is an exceptional person ; we are planning to enjoy this place again ; and take my family as well . love this place love the people love the food. Thank you love you all :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Home From Home - Next to a Volcano!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
JC and his staff give you the warmest welcomes and make you feel at home at the Hacienda which overlooks a lagoon in the shadow of the Masaya volcano.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Views in a Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning view from this beautiful hotel with beautiful cabinas and great staff. Ricardo is particularly good. Meals were usually good but with one very notable exception.
5 out of 5
by Laura from Chicago

Startlingly quiet with extraordinary conversation

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
The first thing we felt when we arrived was that there was a vacuum of noise. It was incredibly still, with only birds breaking the silence. Next, we were hit with the once in a lifetime view. You would really have to be determined not to relax here. JC and Linda treat hospitality like a dinner party. They create a wonderful atmosphere where everyone gets to know each other. There wasn't anyone at the dinner table of 20 that I wouldn't want to chat with. It was a mix of couples and singles, Brits and Americans, mid-20's to mid-60's. It felt like this out of the way, isolated respite attracted an interesting, unpretentious crowd who enjoyed staying up late, drinking Macua and chatting well into the night. Lovely!
5 out of 5
by Laurel from Sebastopol

Authentic Experience

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing staff, quite rooms, beautiful view, social atmosphere- I'd go back in a heart beat!