Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They put me across from the kitchen. Too noisy

Posted Nov 4, 2017
They put me across from the kitchen it was too nosy. They left the kitchen door open while they banged dishes and silverware making noises too early in the morning. The baseboards are all ripped up and they break area looks like you stepped back into 1970.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by FDM , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the breakfast area being too loud. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We are currently in the process of a complete renovation, as you could see. The meeting area will be part of this renovation and will be more modern and fresh. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waverly, IA

Under Construction

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The service was very good, and it was nice looking out the window at trees and grass instead of concrete.
Cons: I would think that being under construction, the room rate might have been lowered. Also, put a note on the web site about the construction.
Location: The location is a bit away from Mason City downtown, but it's close to many restaurants and stores.
I booked this hotel without knowing that it is under construction: specifically, the 2nd floor and the pool were closed. The swimming pool being out of commission wasn't that crucial for my husband and I, but if we would have had kids or grandkids with us, it would have been. On a positive note, the room was fine (although the heater which kicked on at 3 a.m. was very loud...sounded like a Mack truck was parked outside our window), with all the amenities (microwave, fridge, and coffee maker) provided. The breakfast was also excellent and offered a lot of options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by FDM-TB, Hotel Management
Nadine-thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our outstanding customer service and I am glad to see that our staff did just that! I am happy to see that you enjoyed of Be Our Guest breakfast, our guests just love all the options we provided to get their day started! Thank you again Nadine and we hope that you come back and visit us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
In the midst of remodeling right so a bit stark in places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by FDM-TB, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property! We are excited to be going through renovations to make us look more modern and fresh! We are hoping to be all completed by February 2018! Come Visit again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The young lady at the front desk who checked us in was very friendly and willing to check on what was going on in Mason City for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by FDM-TB, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kinds words. I am happy to see that once again our staff is going above and beyond! Thank you for your business and we hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from watertown, mn

Horse show..

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: nice staff, Beds, bedding was great..
Cons: let folks know when making plans they were doing a remodel..The smell in hallways was awful..i would not stayed there...
Location: Horses shows near by..
Very nice staff.. They were under a remodel..which was unexpected, alittle annoying..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by FDM - TB, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that the remodel hindered your stay. We do have alerts set up on all websites that state we are under renovation, I will double check to see that these are still in place. If the remodel is ever bothersome during your stay please let us know and we can move you to a different location within the hotel to make your stay more enjoyable! Thank you again and we hope to exceed your expectations in the future!
5 out of 5
by Ruby

Business Trip

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Even though they were tiling the foyer and hallway the front desk was helpful and made sure that I was not inconvenienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: Exercise room
Location: This is a very nice (newly remodeled) property. It is close to restaurant's etc.
Excellent stay! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hiawatha Iowa

Cozy

Posted Aug 24, 2017
My room needed updates but they are in the middle of doing it. My son got a room that had already been remodeled and it was really nice. Room was clean staff friendly no complaints.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels