Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mpls

Posted Jul 19, 2016
clean room with comfy bed. clean overused bathroom. could use a little updating. party at the pool was noisy when they left the building. very noisy. woke me up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amy from Seattle

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Passing through while moving across country. Hotel was clean and rooms were decent, felt a bit overpriced for hotel class. Breakfast didn't start until 7am which is way too late for most travelers.
5 out of 5
by Gloria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rosemary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Access Mason City & Clear Lake

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: On a dead end road = quiet
Room was larger than I expected. Breakfast was good with fair variety. Good WIFI service.
5 out of 5
by Debbie from Phoenix

Country Inn Mason City

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel good location. Breakfast was fresh right up until it ended. Only one problem got a late call from front desk about noise in my room and I had been laying in bed no TV on. Front desk said they got a complaint???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
I believe that we should conserve water, but our shower was ridiculous. I shower daily; but I skipped day two, as attempting to rinse off was futile. Had a nice breakfast. One last issue: Iowa has the highest concentration of lead poisoning in the United States. I wish the hotel had offered bottled water (even to buy) as an alternative to what may be coming out of the tap. Possibly missing that shower on day two was a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room especially the shower. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Special touches!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Location: The Surf Ballroom winter dance is amazing!
We were there during the Winter Dance at the Surf Ballroom so the place was sold out. We asked for a quiet space and got it! Wonderful sound proofing, slept great. For breakfast we felt a bit awkward as we just started a special diet and needed something like bacon and not the breaded sausage. Made us a big pile with such grace! We will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wagner, SD

Stayed here for a funeral

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Hot breakfast and BOLD coffee
Cons: The elliptical machine in the exercise room was broken 🙁
Location: There is a Subway just across the street that does amazing chopped salads, and a HyVee a few minutes east for all your other food & beverage needs.
We were here for two nights for a funeral that coincided with a major blizzard--stayed warm, dry, and safe.