Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, England

The hotel is full of history but modern

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: The friendliness and historic features
Location: We were only in Mason for 2 days but the Frank Lloyd Wright house and the sculpture walk was fascinating.
Our room had an air of the original building but was large, airy and very comfortable. The reception clerk Shawn couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and informative. We sat at the chef's table twice and were wonderfully welcomed each time. Kurt Nygaurd's menu was fantastic and he himself very entertaining. We would certainly return here if ever back in Mason and would highly recommend both the hotel and the 1910 restaurant attached to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Once-in-a-lifetime hotel opportunity

Posted Jul 11, 2015
It doesn't matter where you are from this hotel is worth the trip. It is literally one of those rare once in a lifetime opportunities to be able to stay in a Frank Lloyd Wright building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Unique historic property

Posted Jul 7, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Historic Park Inn. The renovation was superb, and our room was spacious and comfortable. The decor is true to the spirit of Frank Lloyd Wright, while providing modern amenities. We would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Warm and inviting. It was like taking a trip back in time to my grandparents home. The staff (desk, restaurant, and cleaning) was friendly and extremely helpful.. All in all a delightful experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Ultimate in comfort.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Our room was SO comfortable and the entire hotel is rich with Frank Lloyd Wright history!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Cons: The lobby had a very strong smell of bad aftershave (or something). It was there both days, so thinking it was not a guest.
The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, it is within walking distance of great restaurants downtown. There is also an amazing restaurant in the hotel and we had the best breakfast we have ever eaten.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!! Close to shopping...

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Frank Lloyd Wright architecture
Location: Shopping. Brewery. History. Dining
Mason city is my home town and I stayed ther this weekend!! Had a marvelous time!! Staff is attentive...restaurant food was divine!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Restoration
Cons: Quality of mattresses
Location: We visited the Music Man Square which was fun
Beautiful job of restoration and renovation. Food was excellent. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Mattress was very uncomfortable. Humidity level was low, the air was so dry in our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granger, Iowa

Cold day ...good day to enjoy an historic park inn

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautifully restored historic Frank Lloyd Wright architecture and near our home!!
Cons: No longer include breakfast with the room rate, but the attached grill offers fare at reasonable rate and other restaurants are nearby.
Location: Great museums in town. Beautiful prairie architecture private homes and within walking distance.
Excellent service from staff. We ate dinner and breakfast at the grill. Both were very good with delicious entrée and desert we took to our room. Nice romantic get away on a cold February evening. Take time to take in the museums and view the beautiful prairie architecture homes near the inn. We have a treasure near us and are grateful it was restored so nicely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls

Perfect romantic hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I loved the character and charm of this hotel. Great location to stroll about for a couple cocktails and look at the architecture. Perfect romantic getaway.