Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Cute & Cozy Super 8! <3

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: It's clean, cozy, and extremely quiet. I like how it's kind of in the middle of nowhere, yet extremely close to the interstate; it's a good mix.
Location: Clear Lake & Mason City are easily accessible by the nearby interstate.
I'm a law student, and I had to do some legal research in the Mason City, IA area. I had a great stay at this motel in January, so I made it a point to stay here again when I returned to the area in March. This motel has a different feel than other Super 8s, which is nice! If and when I go back to the Mason City area, this is the place I'll stay yet again! The price is right, and I love the ambiance!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Room smelled like smoke someone tried to cover up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Hotel 5 minutes from the Surf Ballroom

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: There wasn't anything that I would highly recommend. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for showers.
Cons: See notes of my experience.
Location: The location is good (just off I-35) and is close to most anything in Clear Lake.
I was there for three nights during the Winter Dance Party at the Surf Ballroom in Clear Lake. The front parking lot was never salted/sanded for the ice that was present when I arrived. The provided breakfast had a variety of items that was continually replenished. However, the decaffeinated coffee was usually gone and not replenished. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. I never ran out of hot water. The microwave only worked when it wanted to and wasn't a high wattage (it took 4 minutes to heat a glass of milk to make hot chocolate). The top freezer (of the refrigerator) had a huge ice build-up, so I assume the refrigerator and freezer were rarely cleaned. The alarm clock was broken and you could not set the time on the alarm clock/radio that was provided in the room, so unplugged it and set the time on the microwave. I tried using my tablet, but their WiFi blocked almost anything I wanted to look at. If you have no use for WiFi, the refrigerator, microwave, or alarm clock...this is a perfect place for you. Otherwise, you might reconsider staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good night stay.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
TV didnt work well,but was not important.I would stay again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clear Lake, IA

Parent's Night Out

Posted Feb 2, 2017
I t was clean, quiet, and convenient location. The night receptionist was very pleasant and very helpful. Alot of genuine smiles lol made the stay alot nicer. We will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Dodge, IA

Cheap

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The lady that checked us in was accomindating
Cons: The breakfast area was so some there was not enough room for everyone to sit.
We had 2 rooms. The second room I reserved didn't have heat. It was broken & they were so cold. There was a super Creepy guy sitting in the chairs by the front desk. The Continental breakfast was ok, but very limited. And the Breakfast area was very small. Not enough room for everyone to sit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The lady at the front desk was very friendly and accomodating
1 out of 5
by Aphton

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
It took over 25 minutes for check in. They couldn't figure out how to get me room. I paid for a queen room and received a room that had two double beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice location

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice property. Let me check in early. Could have used a mini fridge in the room and the wi-fi was very spotty.