Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Quiet Overnight

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Decker House. Sally reached out to us ahead of our stay and was very accommodating of some special dietary needs. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Bed and Breakfast. As is typical in an old house, you could hear everyone talking and walking in the common areas. Breakfast was great. Very friendly place. Only problem was that the exhaust fan and the light came on at the same time in the bathroom and it was VERY loud.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Onalaska WI

Great experience!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: The room was very accommodating and comfortable. The antiques were beautiful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There is a shopping mall very close to the Decker house.
Sally was very accommodating for our visit. We arrived at the B&B after 10:00 PM. There were great instructions and communication regarding accessing the B&B after hours. This was my first experience in a B&B. I would do this again. The Decker house was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Beverley from Adelaide, South Australia

It's a great place to stay in Mason City

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at The Decker House for three weeks and highly recommend it. Sally and Tom are excellent hosts and Sally cooks fantastic breakfasts every day. It has a very friendly atmosphere. The House is from the 1890's and was lovingly restored and furnished to the period. We stayed in the Iris room with a queen bed and later in the Rose room with a King size bed. Apparently the Clintons also stayed in this room. You won't be disappointed!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clear Lake, Iowa

A bit of turn-of-the-century peace and quiet.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Furnishings and the atmosphere. Was surprised there was TV.
Cons: I think we will go again in the spring of the year when we can enjoy the area around.
Location: Not much in Mason City.Judd
It was a lovely experience. I have had opportunities to be at gatherings here before. Took my husband for the unique experience. Will be cherished. It is just a short trip from home.
5 out of 5
by Allan from Cooper City, Fl

Excellent B&B

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Charming B&B, worth the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Very nice B&B, it is not a hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Cons: Coffee machine in rooms, a decent desk.
Location: All about FLW. Do the architectural tours...
The good - very nice and friendly staff, the house is cute, and there is a genuine desire to please and help. Rooms are smallish but good enough for size. Parking was ample and right by the house. No elevators, so you're in for some luggage lugging. Missing basic amenities like coffee maker and a desk to work on. A desk was brought into my room but it was so low that it ended serving as a stand for my suitcase. Towels and bed were nice and fluffy. Breakfast was nice and i got what i asked for, I guess they would accommodate any reasonable request. Internet connection was very fast, but the access point had issues throughout the stay - it stopped working and dropping the wifi connection at least twice (for several hours) during my stay - perhaps it is time for a new one? All in all, i definitely recommend the place. Staff is nice, room is comfi, food is satisfactory. Great for a romantic getaway, not so great for a business traveler, you will not get THAT level of comfort.
5 out of 5
by William from Chicago

Comfort away from home

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. a number of dinner choices in walking distance. Recommend "The Quarry". Breakfast was excellent! A home away from home
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely house downtown with comfortable rooms

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms with high ceilings on a quiet street.
We stumbled on the Decker House and were delightfully surprised -- it's an attractive, comfortable and homey place. There are cookies in the parlor, tasty breakfast and the host Sally was very friendly and welcoming. The beds were comfy -- what more could we want? Nothing, that's what. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solo guest

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Amazed to see ample off-street parking at a historic inn. Sally's attention to details such as which outlet to use for charging devices. Quiet
Cons: fan in the bathroom that comes on when light is turned on is very loud
Location: town square, Frank Lloyd Wright and other-designed buildings and residences, shopping mall, music near the square, "Music Man", bronze sculpture
It turned out I was the solo guest for a night, yet everything was as if there was a full house. Sally is warm, engaging and helpful; as was the case with everyone I met in Mason City. Great walking city with lots of points of interest.