Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clear Lake, Iowa

A bit of turn-of-the-century peace and quiet.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Furnishings and the atmosphere. Was surprised there was TV.
Cons: I think we will go again in the spring of the year when we can enjoy the area around.
Location: Not much in Mason City.Judd
It was a lovely experience. I have had opportunities to be at gatherings here before. Took my husband for the unique experience. Will be cherished. It is just a short trip from home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Very nice B&B, it is not a hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Cons: Coffee machine in rooms, a decent desk.
Location: All about FLW. Do the architectural tours...
The good - very nice and friendly staff, the house is cute, and there is a genuine desire to please and help. Rooms are smallish but good enough for size. Parking was ample and right by the house. No elevators, so you're in for some luggage lugging. Missing basic amenities like coffee maker and a desk to work on. A desk was brought into my room but it was so low that it ended serving as a stand for my suitcase. Towels and bed were nice and fluffy. Breakfast was nice and i got what i asked for, I guess they would accommodate any reasonable request. Internet connection was very fast, but the access point had issues throughout the stay - it stopped working and dropping the wifi connection at least twice (for several hours) during my stay - perhaps it is time for a new one? All in all, i definitely recommend the place. Staff is nice, room is comfi, food is satisfactory. Great for a romantic getaway, not so great for a business traveler, you will not get THAT level of comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by William from Chicago

Comfort away from home

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. a number of dinner choices in walking distance. Recommend "The Quarry". Breakfast was excellent! A home away from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely house downtown with comfortable rooms

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms with high ceilings on a quiet street.
We stumbled on the Decker House and were delightfully surprised -- it's an attractive, comfortable and homey place. There are cookies in the parlor, tasty breakfast and the host Sally was very friendly and welcoming. The beds were comfy -- what more could we want? Nothing, that's what. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solo guest

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Amazed to see ample off-street parking at a historic inn. Sally's attention to details such as which outlet to use for charging devices. Quiet
Cons: fan in the bathroom that comes on when light is turned on is very loud
Location: town square, Frank Lloyd Wright and other-designed buildings and residences, shopping mall, music near the square, "Music Man", bronze sculpture
It turned out I was the solo guest for a night, yet everything was as if there was a full house. Sally is warm, engaging and helpful; as was the case with everyone I met in Mason City. Great walking city with lots of points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Overall homelike feeling.
Cons: Outside front of house could use some upkeep. Wood revealed, etc.
Location: Was very convenient to Music Man Square and downtown activities.
My first bed and breakfast. Sally and staff were really, really good. Lots of care and consideration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Samuel from Alexandria, MN

Oh so comfortable!

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Warning! Room was so comfortable we nearly missed our departure time. Unfortunately we scheduled poorly and needed to leave before breakfast was served at 9am, but Sally had the coffee on early and left some delicious danish out for us. Wonderful decor, beautiful hardwood floors, plenty of room (and we stayed in the smallest room!). Only concern was bathroom fan was loud and hoped it didn't disturb the neighbors. Definitely worth another trip to stay in this beautiful home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul

5 star quality at a modest price.

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
The Decker House was the finest lodging of our 3 week trip. This large old manor house built in 1896, with a completely restored interior, is like a step back into the late 19th century but with all the modern conveniences such as Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TV and modern plumbing. The morning breakfast was excellent, also the best of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Nice B&B near the Music Man Square. It was professionally run with a homey atmosphere. It was very well decorated and we slept very well. The breakfast was exceptional with fresh fruit, homemade strawberry jam and spring fruitata. Yum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mary from Independence, Mo

A fun adventure

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Room was comfortable and clean. It was a nice stop-over after a long day of driving. Quite a few stairs for anyone with problems but they do have a room on the lower level that would also work. Beautiful woodwork and furnishings.