Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does anyone work here?

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Didn't see anyone at the front counter our whole stay. Only saw one person in the night but he said he was a friend of the owner. They left the keys to the room on the counter. Hotel felt unattended but overall the rooms were nice and everything worked out. Washroom smelt like seweage from the drain had to cover it with the garbage can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bude,cornwall

Easy walk to beach

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: It's in Matala
Cons: Sound proofing,and not hood winking people
Location: Beautiful
They let us book in early 10.30 am,it is out of season! Got to our room and could hear other people talking in the rooms both sides !,toilet flushing etc. The hotel is a German holiday company destination,not as we have any problems with that. The shower is very small with a curtain that sticks to you !. I always like to book breakfast with my stay and I noticed I could not see this on my booking with Expedia . As this is my first booking with Expedia and I constantly kept pressing ( breakfast) it wasn't registered on my booking. So in the morning I went to reception and the manager says yes you have breakfast,proceed downstairs,excellent we thought,and a reasonable breakfast was had ! We even paid for a extra night and on leaving the manager informs us we owe the hotel a cheap price for the breakfasts. Not so cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good location, away from the noise at night

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location was great for access to Matal with a 5 minute walk, but far enough away from the noise that sometimes went on late in to the night.
Cons: The pool water was clear but slime appeared around the edge of the pool from sun cream build up which was there for 5+ days. Food a bit bland.
Location: Location will be a bit remote for some. Matal beach can get very busy so we drove to Kallamki which we much prefered. Lively at night in Matala.
Overall the hotel was good value for money. Staff are friendly. Did feel the the pool maintenace could be a bit better. Broken steps on the way to the pool. We enjoyed our stay there but it does fall a bit short of a recommendation from us.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel 2 minutes from Matala Beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Great value hotel very close to Matala Beach. Good breakfast and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good Hotel But.......

Posted Sep 1, 2010
It was clear from previous reviews that the majority of the clientele were European. Unfortunately this meant that a number of the, surprisingly, younger staff appeared to have difficulty when it came to either speaking or understanding English. Whilst this in no way detracted from our overall holiday it was irritating when trying to order drinks or snacks from the bar, especially as they appeared to be fluent in German, French and Polish. Beautiful town with wonderful sunsets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Fine for the price

Posted Sep 7, 2008
Clean, calm, cheap basic hotel with friendly staff.Mainly German guests so atmosphere was a bit lifeless but made for a quieter time which we prefer. We had the half board option which turned out better than expected. Although the ingredients were basic they were freshly and well cooked,though if your vegetarian there would be a problem. We only stayed 5 days and did not bother with other places to eat but there were many options within a short walk. For the little that we paid (bearing in mind the current low value of sterling)we thought it was a bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Food was dire

Posted Jun 5, 2008
Matala Bay is well located, has a nice swimming pool area and the rooms are relatively good - although the shower curtain was such that every time we showered, the bathroom floor filled with water. Included in the price of the room were breakfast and dinner, both of which (and most especially dinner) were almost inedible. Lots of guests brought their own coffee, jam, bread etc. to the breakfast room. We only ate dinner at the hotel twice, and both times it was a mistake. In fact, on the second occasion we rushed in just before "service" ended and were not even asked if we wanted anything to drink. The price of the holiday was very reasonable, but if you are at all bothered about the quality of food you eat, then budget in a bit extra for evening meals out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sutton, Surrey

For a total stress free break, this is the place to go, will probably go back

Posted Jun 29, 2007
Hotel very clean, very impressed with the daily clean.Hotel staff very friendly,within easy walking distance to the village. The only downside was the pool bar wasn't open until my second week, probably due to not being peak season. Overall satisfied with my choice of hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwich, Cheshire

Excellent budget stay hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2007
My partner and I recently returned from a holiday in Crete where we stayed at the Matala Bay Hotel. Although we were very much in the minority as English guests, we very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is simple but very clean. The cleaning staff worked very hard. The management are very friendly and are very responsive to any request for assistance. The meals are quite basic, but the food is fresh and there is plenty of it. If you are looking for a budget holiday in the most beautiful of areas, then the Matala Bay would be an excellent choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Great Location!

Posted Sep 6, 2006
We truly enjoyed staying at Matala Bay Hotel! The value was excellent and the location can't be beat; a short 5 minute walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The hotel had free breakfast and dinner which, although simple and humble fare, was great, and it was very quiet and peaceful there. The only downside was the bathroom facilities could be improved; small showers and poor ventilation. I would definately stay again.