Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Turned away

Posted Sep 24, 2017
When we arrived we were politely informed that the hotel was full and we would be staying in another hotel. The second hotel turned out to be a busy place on the main street of Matala and not the quiet retreat we were expecting. We were furious that our booking was not respected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torun

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Stay for several days. Nice time in Matala. Good breakfast, but a little bit boring. Friendly staff. Not so big rooms, small bathroom.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Kingston

Matala, Crete

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly owner, small hotel 10 minutes from beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dimitrias

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Breakfast was basic but good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily and any mess we left was neatly folded away. The pool was a little cold but we were there at the end of the season. Overall I would reccomend this hotel . All the basics were right
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Small family run hotel on the out skirts of Matala

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Great value for money. Pool area a big bonus especially for children.
Stayed in July for a family wedding. Owner very friendly and helpful. The rooms were small and basic but spotless and cleaned every day. Fridge ,safe and air-con all standard. Worth paying extra for a family room for more space inside and out side. Pool area lovely with drinks and snacks served all day. Excellent continental breakfast served with everything from eggs to cake and as much as you want. Situated a 5 minute stroll into Matala which had a great beach and excellent shops,bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley

Wedding party base

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Wedding guests were split over a number of hotels in matala so we got to see quite a range. Dimitris was by far the best. Very friendly staff and superb pool. Would love to return.
5 out of 5
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place for the festival.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Everything was good for us so keep doing what you are doing.
Great place to stay for the Matala festival. Right at the heart of Matala and a nice place to relax, have a drink and swim without the hustle and bustle of the beach front at a busy time of the year. Enjoyed our stay. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't come here for a good time.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Hotel was decent, and close to the beach. The ac didn't work so I was eaten alive by mosquitos due to having to leave the windows open. The younger lady in the hotel staff was rude and constantly hounding us all weekend over ridiculous issues. I felt like I had my mother griping at me all weekend. If you're 60+ this place might be alright for you, but if not stay at hotel matala across the street. They'll appreciate your business and show you to a good time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels