Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terry from Melb Australia

very friendly hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Quite and frendily staff could not do enough for you
Location: Old fort town of Gualle was great, and restrants in Mirressa on beach were great just a short TUT TUT ride
had a very enjoyable stay, staff were great, right on beach great place for relaxing holiday food was good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Apr 9, 2013
This is an extremely nice small resort hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good, and the view and the beach were great. There was really only downside to this hotel, which is that there is a large building being constructed next to it, which is a bit of an eyesore and can be noisy, although it was never too bad. Nothing the hotel can do about that, though.
4 out of 5
by Roger Chen

worthy to see

Posted Apr 23, 2012 on Hotels
hotel is clean and comfort, service is good. the see is clean and beautiful. this hotel is more suitable for peason who like quiet world.I stay 3 days,all is good.i like it .I like to try different feelings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gareth from Wales, UK

great hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2012
the hotel was fantastic, clean, tidy and comfortable. the staff were out of this world, nothing was to much trouble. i traveled to watch the cricket in Galle and although prices everywhere seem to be inflated the hotel was still very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2012
Pros: Caring Manager, right on the beach, boutique hotel
Quiet, sweet place directly on the beach, perfect for resting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brno, Czech republic

Nice small hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2011
Nice hotel, very clean and maintained, good food. We were in one of the Villas which are spacious and Indian style, really nice. Staff is perfect, helping and nice and the hotel has also very decent prices of trips. However, 2 comments: bathroom would need a little painting (nothing big though) and the location is not ideal (nothing much around). Nevertheless, just take a taxi to get you around Sri Lanka (regardless location of your hotel) and enjoy nice relaxing atmosphere of the hotel accompanied by very good service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UAE

Weligama Bay Resort

Posted Feb 24, 2011 on Hotels
A bit isolated for my liking but very relaxing and quiet if that is what you are after. Restaurant food was a little disappointing and due to where the hotel is located really didn't have the choice of eating elsewhere. However, the restaurant right on the beach was just a fantastic setting and the restaurant staff (as were all Weligama staff) were excellent. Pool area needs a bit of attention but as we were right on the beach we didn't use the pool. A gym would be good. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. Weligama Bay is a beautiful spot and swimming in the Bay a great experience. Overall a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

NOT IMPRESSED and would'nt recommend it

Posted Feb 21, 2011
-the resort is too far away from Colombo and I suggest staying overnight at Colombo before traveling to the resort location. -they allow astry dogs in the resort, althogh dogs are well behaved, but I did not like it. I do not like dogs any way and when these dogs are astry!!! you do not know how sick they are. -the resort is not seculuded from the beach side.(no private beach) - there is no night life in the area and it is unsafe to be outside the resort after 8pm. -very bad TV channels. no access to most western news or show channels. - the food served at the beach is good taste but cold most of the time. and because the beach front is open, flys are very present sharing your food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great hotel if they improve their service.

Posted Feb 15, 2011
Weligama Bay Resort is a fantastic hotel just a pity they allow their service to drag them down. The rooms were beautifull, clean and comfortable. It has a fantastic beach with really good surf and it is well situated to enjoy a couple of good sights and sounds of Sri Lanka. The food was good, but unfortunately inconsistent in portion sizes. Which brings me to the dissapointing part of the stay which was their overall service. The service in the restaurant was severely lacking, having to repeat orders several times and sometimes after you have finished your breakfast your eggs arrive. The housekeeping staff was friendly, however not considerate of peoples privacy as they were constantly knocking and wanting to clean after repeatedly told to come back in an hour as we were getting ready in the mornings and even after we had gone to bed at night they were knocking for no apparant reason. I booked a massage at the spa for a specific time as we were going on an excursion and had to wait almost 20 minutes for them to arrive and then cutting my treatment short with 15 minutes and still charging the full price. Weligama Bay resort has the potential to be the best if they can seriously improve their service to the standard of a 5* resort.