Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Parking is very far away and we got a parking ticket.
3 out of 5
by Eric

Good location, not comfortable

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
We chose this hotel for two reasons. The location and the parking that was advertised. First, THERE IS NO ON SITE PARKING AT THIS HOTEL. You can drive over a mile to the nearest parking garage and walk back to the hotel, or you can pay "20 euro" to have someone come pick it up, but we were mysteriously charged 25 euro upon pick up even though we were there less than a full 24 hour time period. Next, the hotel rooms pictured in the advertisement show beautiful views of the old town. We were given a room on the ground floor with no view, no air conditioning (broken), and a 3 inch mattress that caved in when you sat on it. While the location was great and the breakfast service was nice, we would stay somewhere else if we ever came back.
4 out of 5
by Aysenil

Clean hotel in perfect central historic location

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great Hotel, will stay again! Very kind staff, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was kept clean, but there was some mold growing on the stones in our room due to the humidity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally amazing!

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
A totally amazing town to visit. Our cave room was so beautiful, definitely worth the walk to and from a parking garage several blocks away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Stunning location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Close to all interesting locations quiet due to pedestrianised style of city with steps & passages Good view off balcony. Valet parking at extra cost
Cons: Air-con very noisy, better room photos needed, most not actually in cave style, website shows dining area.No proper driving directions, no parking
Location: Unique cave city with little squares and interesting views. Historic centre should be better signposted. Only 1 supermarket, was in nearby piazza.
Great views and right at the centre of the town in the heritage area. Good restaurants and little shops nearby, very handy for the walk down into the gorge, and visiting the main rock church, opposite. Matera is stunning, a very special landscape which has to be seen up close to be appreciated, photographs really don't do it justice. It's the 2019 European City of Culture, visit soon before everyone else gets to hear about it, mostly Italian visitors when we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Unique

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The cave rooms
Cons: The wifi, the AC I had problems sleeping 95 degrees out side maybe 85 inside wasn't cool enough to sleep
Had a nice room, it's a unique place to stay make sure you are able to climb 20 flights of stairs to get around . But some take taxis we climbs the stairs like like locals great experience
5 out of 5
by ian

Mind-blowing Matera

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
A truly unique and amazing place. A hot walk from the train station but once checked in, a brilliant adventure awaits!