Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Japan

It's really difficult hotel to arrive at!

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: I traveled alone this time, but next time I want to go there with my girlfriend.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Next to Matera duomo, almost 2 min walk.
Palazzo Viceconte is one of the laxurist and attractive hotel in Matera. They are next to Matera Duomo, top of the hill, and they have very good scenery view from their terrace. I had stayed junior suit with lovery terrace, the room has butch tab, twin sink and double bed. One of the most remarkable event in the hotel was breakfast. The dining room located at first floor, when you go there with an elavater, you have to walk through 4 beautiful room. They are all small but really beautiful rooms with lots of fancy paintings. Also breakfast was fabulous one I have ever had. They don't have dinner service but lots of fancy restaurant at Matera, reasonable price in comparison with that of other Italian famous city like Florence, Venezia. When you want to go to Palazzo Viceconte from Alberobello like me, the traffic are terrible for Alberobello's
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel,centrally located in an amazing town

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The hotel is centrally located next to the cathedral in a beautiful Palazzo. Our suite was spacious and lovely. Breakfast was very good. Car parking is done for you, but is expensive (20 Euros per night). Matera is awesome- a most interesting and unusual town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff the history, walkable and the amazing hotel itself.
Cons: More hot water.
Location: The location was perfect walked to everything.
This is a beautifully redone palace. The rooms are large by European standards. The staff is very helpful. Domaino was so helpful and pleasant and always smiling. He gave a good history lesson on the palace including history of Matra. He was helpful with dinner suggestions and reservation. Order taxis, he made our stay very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely Palazzo with home from home atmosphere

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This hotel more than matched our expectations . The bedroom was large, comfortable and with. wonderful views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Excellent overall. Great service from the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, WY

Nice hotel location perfect.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: They have it all together there.
Location: Great dining experience at Ristorante San Biagio (everything fresh, I mean everything). All within walking distance.
Beautiful old hotel and quiet in the middle of Matera. We've been traveling in Southern Italy for a couple of weeks and this was as comfortable location as we have found. The staff "superb" ... would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Mary Lou from Santa Rosa

Palazzo Viceconte

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Only one night in Matera, a surprisingly interesting and starkly beautiful town in Southern Italy. Our hotel was fabulous, a former school turned truly into a "palazzo" with comfortable rooms, a courteous staff, and a fabulous second floor. Explore when you have breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Such a nice hotel, quiet & calm space in a busy little town. Staff were wonderful & went the extra mile. The hotel is hard to find with a GPS (& streets are narrow) so our advice would be to park in a public car park, walk to the hotel (behind the cathedral) & get a map from reception. It's easy once you do this! Parking in the hotel is €20 per night but much cheaper than public parking so well worth it. They have a roof terrace which could be better utilized as a bar/restaurant. Would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fantastic hotel in a beatuful city.

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Unbelievable experience. The hotel is one of my all time favourites, being a former palace renovated with a fantastic eye to details. The staff was very friendly and helpsom, and the city itself is of course also an experience by itself. The only thing I would wish for is to have a spremuta for breakfast, what Italians consider "orange juice" (Succo) is simply not drinkable.