Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool,GB

Sassi Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Clean and rustic.
Cons: Would have liked to see a small bar in the hotel.
Location: Lots to see, very cultural, churches are beautiful and grand, very interesting culture about the Sassi district.
Very nice hotel, did not know what to expect from a cave hotel but it was lovely, not cold or earthy as what you would expect from a cave. Loved the cave experience and also the hang out cave in the room, very unusual and quirkey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Genuine Matera experience!

Posted May 22, 2017
We were enchanted by our cave room, and were impressed with how clean and well decorated it was. Restaurant was delicious and beautiful! Excellent location!
4 out of 5
by Rose Lai Kuen

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay overall except there is not enough hot water for shower for two people. The place is very nice and it is really an experience to stay in a cave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Canada

Wow,Wow, Wow!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
You're sleeping and 2500+-year-old cave room. What more is there to sa? other than staff are great and the rest of Matera is outstanding
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm and friendly, elegant and beautiful stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Marie-Therese and her mother were such gracious hosts, and the Residenza was very special and unique, with its own courtyard. They had restored everything from ruins starting around 2000, and it's done so tastefully, with a good balance of respect for the original structure of the site, with a sense of classic style and comfort. The room, part ancient cave, part tufa stone, was so quiet and elegant (no tv, such a relief!), the walls all made out of the local tufa stone that radiated history. We treated ourselves to dinner in the restaurant the last night, which was one of the best meals of our entire Italian trip. Breakfast every morning was perfect, not only classic caffe latte, and a range of croissants and pastries (plus cold cuts and cheeses), but also my favourite, a delicious potato focaccia made fresh every morning by our hosts. The modern sculpture museum, Musma, is almost next door. In a 17th century palazzo, built on top of over 7 cave networks that were formerly Benedictine and Dominican monasteries, it's one of the most beautiful and compelling art installations we've ever seen. The sassi neighbourhood village, Sassi Caveosa, nestled into the cliffs, and the whole town, is quite beguiling. Walking up and down stone pathways and stairs everywhere you go, complete with sassi cats that came out to play at night, was very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, canada

The total experience

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Would highly recommend. Pack light and good walking shoes
5 out of 5
by Marc from Owen sound

Canada

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Must visit this town Unique unique Awesome
5 out of 5
by Piyush from Lugano

Few Nights in Matera

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this hotel in Matera, good value and really nice views at night and very peaceful close to many good restaurants and museums. Very characterful, would not recommend to anyone with walking difficulties as parking can be tricky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Luxury Cave

Posted Dec 17, 2015
The restaurant manager is a dream! His name is John and he is first class. The owners are welcoming and helpful. Lovely renovation of the caves. Comfortable and warm stay. We loved it!
5 out of 5
by Trevor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels