Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from matlock

Beautiful little pub

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Was a beautiful little pub,excellent service,good food,very clean rooms ,comfy bed,recommend highly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Biddulph

Nice hotel close to Peak District

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Food and service
Cons: Temperature of room on arrival.
Location: The Inn is in Lea, close to Matlock, Matlock Bath, and the edge of the Peak District.
We enjoyed a lovely one night stay at the Jug and Glass before a planned visit to Chatsworth. We were offered a warm welcome and shown to a well appointed clean room. (only criticism is it took a while to warm up). We then enjoyed a lovely meal, with excellent service. Our breakfast the following morning was equally good and also served with a smile. All in all we would heartily recommend the Jug and Glass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff were very friendly and helpful

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Food was good.
Cons: No mobile signal
Could not get a phone signal but they let us use their phone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Polesworth, North Warwickshire

Lovely pub/B&B

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We lived the very quiet location on a very quiet road. The pub itself was clean serving an excellent range of well kept brews. The food was plentiful and lovely. Never managed a pudding as we were too full after the main course but they looked massive and very tempting. The room was ok but the bed mattress was cheep, you could feel the springs through the sheet and it was like sleeping on the floor, it was so hard. We both ended up with back ache every morning. Bottom line loved the pub and staff but wouldn't stay again as for the price you pay the least I would expect is a good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Traditioal village pub with excellent accommodatio

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Traditional village pub with excellent accommodation an d choice of menu Tucked away a few miles from matlock bath .provides a great base for visiting local attractions.Friendly and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely old pub

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: It was a lovely building and we could fall into bed after enjoying a nice meal and some drinks as the end of a long day.
Location: Good walks
The accommodation was in a lovely old pub in a small village. The food was great and there was a good selection of beers which was lucky as it was a car journey into Matlock. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were eager to make the stay a good one. The only downside was the noise of what sounded like an extractor fan when the window was open, which was most of the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On arrival the room we hd was immaculate, low ceil

Posted Aug 20, 2015
We arrived and were shown to an immaculate room in the roof space, my husband who is 6ft+ did bang his head a few times(no harm done teehee) went down for drinks and dinner. The menu was not extensive, but had a good choice. I had crab salad, which was lovely Chris had bangers and mash. Lots of locals came in with their dogs, which was great to see. Spent a very good night in a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was spot on. Jason and the staff were brilliant. Would stay there again and would recommend the Jug and Glass. If you do stay there, when you have a shower, DONT turn the taps, just use the knob in the middle, and all will work perfectly. A very enjoyable stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Berkshire

Quiet country location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Quiet, interesting location.
Location: Close to Matlock Bath, which has the Heights of Abraham with beautiful surrounding countryside, river and a canal.
Very enjoyable two nights stay. We enjoyed music session on Sunday night, it was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Pleasant Country Inn

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Cosy feel, nice bar area and very good food in the restaurant.
Cons: Nothing if you are looking for a nice pub with rooms and food!
Location: Plenty of walking was disappointed with Matlock Bath more like a run down seaside resort but Matlock itself was fine.
We had two rooms for two days and really enjoyed our stay! The owners and staff were always friendly and helpful. We ate both our evening meals in the hotel restaurant and we were not disappointed. I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn as a place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wigan

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Small and cosy. Very impersonal with lovely food and friendly staff
Location: Near to Matlock, Matlock Bath, Masson Mill... Was great to come back to after a day out, park up, have a drink and not have to move again
Warm and welcoming stay. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful get away with friendly staff, this is the place for you