Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you find yourself in Matsumoto....

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Easy walking distance to sites and restaurants. Great breakfast buffet. Comfortable room with plenty of space
Location: The town is famous for the castle
We passed through on the way to Yamanouchi. The castle is lovely, the town is sweet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Nice hotel very close to Matsumoto Castle. About 15 minutes walk from JR station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location (walking distance to Matsumoto Castle as well as to the center of the city). Comfortable room. No complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from the castle.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
A great place to base a trip to Matsumoto, walking distance from the major attractions, with many excllent restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely, professional hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The location 2 minutes from the castle is awesome. Walking distance from the shopping streets and train station.
We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a lovely upscale hotel, very clean, with a wonderful breakfast. It seemed like there were a lot of business professionals here but our family felt welcome and they accommodated our request for two rooms next to one another.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Everything Good apart from check in where they insisted we all wait until 3 and then they couldn't cope - time means money when one is touring
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, fine location, lovely staff, generously sized room with a very small bathroom. However, this hotel has the best thing any hotel could have: a tiny laundromat in the hotel itself, with two washers and dryers; you don't even have to buy laundry soap; the machine dispenses it. What could be better than, for $6.00, to wash and dry your well worn travel clothes during your excursion?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Ideal Location in a Wonderful Smaller City

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Perfect location in Matsumoto, and a very new, very clean hotel with a helpful staff.
Cons: nothing
Location: Enter on the small side street one building behind the "Hotel Harmonie Bien".
We arrived in Matsumoto by JR Train after completing the Alpen-Route from Tateyama to Shin-Omachi. This hotel is very near the Matsumoto castle and two main shopping districts. Everything you want to see on foot in the core area is accessible from this location. We thoroughly enjoyed Matsumoto as a smaller city in Japan with wonderful shops, restaraunts, and cafes and a very rich historical treasure in the Matsumoto Castle and surrounding park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca. - USA

Loved Matsumoto!

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, clean rooms, nicely decorated and friendly staff!
Cons: No it was perfect!
Location: Nice restaurants, coffee shops, stores for shopping, Matsumoto Temple, Museu and other retail shops.
This stop in our trip was a favorite, small quaint city. Lots to do, could walk everywhere, no problem. will definitely go back to Matsumoto. The hotel was centeralized, clean, friendly, just what a traveler looks for at day's end.
5 out of 5
by Luis from London

Much more luxurious than the photos suggest

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
The photos on the site suggest that this is a budget hotel, similar to the Premiere Inn chain in the UK. It's actually a lot nice than that. The rooms are very nicely laid out and extremely comfortable. There are pay-per-view channels on the TV (movies and Japanese pixelated adult content) that you pay for using an access card sold from a vending machine in the hall (1000 yen). The dining room is very luxurious and looks like a banqueting hall. The breakfast is very high quality with a good mix of western and Japanese food available from the buffet.