Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very convenient and roomy

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Location and floor space.
Cons: N/A
Location: Visiting Matsuyama castle is a must as well as Dogo Onsen. A day trip to Ozu and Uwajima are worthwhile for castle spotters.
Being a first time visit to Matsuyama, my first priority was location. Approx 10-15 min walk down the main street from JR Matsuyama station or short tram ride (160 Yen). Had a nice room overlooking the park with a great view of Matsuyama castle in the distance. Most impressive feature for a Japanese hotel is plenty of floor space for placing luggage. Experiencing Dogo onsen is a must (don't just take photo's from outside). The ropelift to Matsuyama castle is convenient though only a short ride. Trams are easy to ride and most places are walkable. Day passes for around 400 yen are good value as it is very convenient to catch trams around the city. There is a tasty izakaya style restaurant nearby called Kippei, featuring various bbq skewer items. Just ask for omakase (chef's selection). 10 skewers (or more) per person provides a sufficient meal. English is limited however the staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Location: The castle park can be accessed nearby and the tram can be accessed just outside to go to shops or other parts of the central city.
Really good hotel for the price, close to the station and the nearby park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Across the moat from Matsuyama Castle

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Free LAN connection; Convenient location, public bus and street car access; Convenience store close by;
Cons: Free or reasonably priced wi fi connection would be nice;
Location: Shopping, visiting the Castle,
Very conveniently located, walking distance to City Station and the Castle; Public bus ride from the airport was easy and convenient; Courteous staff members, and food at the breakfast buffet in the restaurant was very tasty. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel in Central Matsuyama

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, decent size room, very clean and comfortable, central location, reasonable room rate.
Cons: More information in English for international visitors would have been helpful and appreciated - both with respect to hotel services and the city.
Location: Matsuyama is a modern Japanese city, with an interesting past - must see Matsuyama castle, Dogo Onsen (oldest hot spring in Japan), Ishite temple.
We went to Matsuyama to visit our daughter. The hotel was in the City centre -approximately half way between the two railway stations and right next to the grounds of Matsuyama Castle. It's also on the main tram route - with a stop right outside the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful - in spite of speaking very little English (which was not their fault - we should have made a bit more of an effort to learn some basic Japanese before we arrived!). Anyway, we got by with a little help from our daughter - who thankfully does speak Japanese. The room was very clean, comfortable and a decent size for a Japanese hotel (others can be on the small size). We were there for two weeks and the hotel made an excellent base for the duration of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Honolulu

Very Good Hotel with Helpful and Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean, a good value, and a good location.
Cons: It would be nice if it had free Wi-Fi. Also the breakfast could be a little cheaper.
We enjoyed staying in this hotel. Very clean and in a good location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were traveling as a party of four. We rented two rooms. The staff made sure our rooms adjoined so that we could all be together as a family. Free Wi-Fi would make this an even better hotel. But overall I have to say a great value, clean hotel, and really good customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Rome, GA, USA

Pleasant business hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast: Food and atmosphere.
Cons: Do something to make the room somewhat more unique if possible.
Location: Near Matsuyama Castle
Nice view of downtown area castle and moat. Breakfast buffet very complete. Dining area nice and bright. Take taxi to/from JR station if you have any luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

JAR City Hotel Matsuyama

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Spacious, well-designed rooms with proactive professional staff. View of Matsuyama Castle was superb too.
Cons: Had trouble connecting to WIFI in the room but was able to use it in the lobby. Not sure why.
This was a wonderful accommodation for our first visit in over 20 years. Enjoyed the castle and Dougo Onsen with special viewing of the Emperor's room and bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Catherine from UK

Comfortable and central

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Our room was spacious by Japanese standards and had a nice view over the central park in Matsuyama. Close to transport links (10 minutes walk to the railway station, and a tram stop just nearby, which was easy to use). A pleasant Italian-style restaurant is attached to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 香港

不錯的酒店

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: 早餐很好,房很大
Location: 乘電車到大街站可往松山城 乘電車可往道後溫泉
是一間不錯的酒店,房間頗大滿舒適。早餐很好很豐富。酒店位置不太近松山JR車站,要走差不多10分鐘,但酒店前有電車站,搭乘電車很快就到JR車站了。離商店街旺區有好幾個電車站的距離,晚上較靜,但酒店對面有便利店。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 兵庫県

窓枠とバスルームのタイルとカーテン

Posted Dec 30, 2016
フロントのサービスは良かったし、部屋は全体的に綺麗だったが、窓が結露しており窓枠下部が汚く、バスルームのタイル目地も黒くなり汚かった。窓側のカーテンが傷んでいた。