Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel away from busy area.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location away from city traffic and noise.
Cons: Touch-up on parking areas.
Location: Must drive to find food other than fast food.
Stayed twice. Comfortable and quiet. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Pleasantly surprised! I'm not normally a fan of best westerns but this one was recently remodeled and quite nice.
4 out of 5
by Beverly

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
A little noisy, doors slamming and people next door were very loud
4 out of 5
by Geraldine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Clean room and good location.
Cons: nothing
Nice hotel, friendly courteous staff, convenient location, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Charles

Don't want to live here but a great place to visit

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Been here twice now. Enjoyed both stays. Will definitely stay her on our next trip to Mattoon. Feel very comfortable at this location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware bed bug found

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Slept in a suite with 2 queen beds with my husband and two young children. Woke up to find a bug crawling on my pillow. I was not sure what it was as it was pretty big. I took my pillow along with the bug on it to the bathroom for further inspection. I put it in the sink to take a closer look when I took the picture. Then not thinking of saving the bug for evidence I turned on the water on and it went down the drain. I then went on the internet to be certain that it was a bed bug. After a quick google search lead to a match for a bed bug, we proceeded to inspect the kids and each other for bed bug bites and pack our belongings carefully and got out of there asap. I then went to the front desk. At the front desk I started the conversation by asking the attendant (a male) to look at the picture the I took with my phone this morning at 7:11 (and pointed to the time stamp on the picture) and to tell me what he thought it might be. I told him that I found that on my pillow staying in room 206. He took a second look and even went back to his office for his glasses to take another look. His response was that he was not an expert and could not say for sure that it was what we thought it was. He proceeded to tell me how the hotel inspects every room and disinfects if bugs are found. He could not offer me anything but that they inspect their rooms daily and that he would leave a message with management. I told him I would leave my own kind of message with an online review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly trained staff

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Check in clerk was not competent with use of the computer booking system and had to call the manager to guide her on the phone. She was not aware of how Expedia worked because I was charged for the room by the hotel again after I explained not to be chrged because I had paid with Expedia. Still waiting on a refund
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Untrained check in Staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Again second time in two night's I was charged a high room fee despite showing the check in clerk I had paid with expedia. She could not work the computer and wrote everything down. I protested that she does not write my credit card information on her note paper. But she ignored me and acted like I would not pay if she did not. Not having a very calming time at this hotel in this snow storm :-( Ma king me wish I wasn't stuck here in this town.