Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

beautiful location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: surrounding
Cons: nothing
Location: whaler village was right next door and short car ride to front street.
located right on the beach with an excellent view from our room woke up every morning looking at the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel right on the best beach for kids and adults.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cons: nada
Location: above
easy late checkin. requested cot for son and no problem. had a one bedroom with pullout couch so lots of room for us all. full kitchen present. right next door to whalers village and ate at both main restaurants there. leilani's and hula grill. kanapali beach hotel on other side - they have breakfast buffet. went to sheraton luah which is on other side of the beach hotel w the buffet. all reachable in about 5 minutes or less. lots of parking available for rental car
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Spot

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent location, next to Whaler's Village (which has restaurants and ABC Store), and very close to Westin, Marrriott and Hyatt properties (more restaurants, etc.). Beach great, sandy, easy ingress and egress. Easy to access to the paved walking/jogging pathway along the beach. Easy walk to Black Rock (for good snorkeling). Pool was good for a dip, though not really for swimming laps (too many kids, and not long enough). Room was clean, comfortable, well-appointed. Had air-con, cable tv, wireless (good quality). Clean dishes, dishwasher. Laundry on site if you need it. Perfect for a holiday. Front desk staff were helpful, welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Scott Obley, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! We're so thrilled to hear your vacation was a wonderful experience and that our comfortable rooms, amenities, and ideal location put you in the perfect spot to enjoy all that Hawaii has to offer. We will share your kind feedback with the rest of our staff, and hope to welcome you again soon! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Everything about the Whaler is First Class.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Everything. Would go back in a heart beat.
Cons: Luv it as it is.
Location: Center of Ka'anapali area, yet very private. Beach, golf, restaurants are within short walk along the beach pathway.
Superior experience from curbside valet, front desk to housekeeping.This is the best kept secret in Ka'anapali. Wonderful facility, outstanding location, courteous and helpful staff and great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Very enjoyable

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located, wonderful staff, access to beach and shopping
Cons: Noise from shopping mall and restaurant, but we understand that cannot be avoided.
Location: Very convenient location. Restaurants, shopping, snorkeling boats all within walking distance. Driving distance to other areas very reasonable
Very nice room - modern and exceptionally clean. Only problem was occasional noise from the shopping mall and restaurant next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Scott Obley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Reenie! We're glad you appreciated our great location, friendly staff, beach access, and comfortable accommodations. We do apologize for the noise disruption you experienced and apologize for the discomfort it caused you. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Awesome beach location. Short swim to black rock

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Clean, awesome location , friendly staff. Truly a great experience after visiting black rock for more than 15 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Room was great and the staff was great. Our room was cleaned very well every day. But there wasn't many on site facilities, besides one small pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location and good value

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The Whaler sits in the heart of Kaanapali Beach and is convenient to the town of Lahaina. The staff is generally very friendly.
Cons: In terms of customer care, we thought the staff was responsive and friendly. The fitness center is limited. The furniture needs upgrading.
Location: We like the ability to walk to dinner and to stroll along the beachfront.
As frequent visitors to Hawaii, we found the studio condo that we rented at The Whaler for nine days was a great location with many humpback whale sightings from the balcony of our unit. The unit was a nice size and had a higher end finish to it. The kitchen was perfect for our visit and was well equipped for basic food preparation. The Whaler is nicely maintained and one of the upper end properties in Kaanapali. The negatives: We called housekeeping because of gnats in the room. Housekeeping promptly responded, but we noticed the problem again a few days later. Not overly bothersome, but something we shouldn't have had to deal with. The furniture felt a little too frugal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Scott Obley, Hotel Management
Aloha Mark! Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, friendly service, close vicinity to dining options, personal kitchen, and beautiful property... to name a few! We do apologize for the gnats in your room, but are glad to hear housekeeping responded promptly. Your feedback will be shared with management so that we can look into adding further precautions in addition to our routine pest control. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel with lovely view and good location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, good location
Location: Close to restaurants, beach, shops, Lahaina shuttle nearby.
Nice hotel with lovely views and good proximity to restuarants, shopping and sightseeing an activites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for the beautiful beech, we loved staying here. We will be back!!