Ratings based on 2,513 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S, Los Angeles

Shoddy facilities and hospitality

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Very disappointed with rudeness and insensitivity of the rooms manager. Although this was my second time at this hotel, I will not be returning. TV and cable was antiquated and outdated, leaky toilet (was given $80 credit at restaurant and then they tried to charge me for it at check out) old uncomfortable couch, ridiculously tattered and greasy looking overpriced cabanas, absolutely no source of shade by the deep pool, pedantic towel guy who simply could not provide me with an extra towel (one towel per card only!)Unsafe slippery steps by the pool bar. They have a rug to protect the carpet in the dining room and nothing to protect the safety of guest on narrow slippery steps. (I fell, injured myself pretty badly, and didn't even get a refill on my spilled drinks and then had to endure rooms manager's argumentative and snotty attitude at check out) Filed incident report about injury on unsafe stairs and 2 days later it was news to the manager. Sauna facilities really run down. The hotel needs a makeover and management needs retraining in hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilroy, Ca

Very close to beach

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This is the second time we stayed here. Large room. Maid service and staff are greets
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

So so

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Our room was a bit out dated and from our bedroom, we could hear a lot of noise from outside -- doors slamming, etc. They also charge extra fees for access to the gym, etc. Overall, it was ok, but I'll try a different hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Jay. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn about the noise disruption you experienced, and appreciate your feedback regarding room updates. While we are happy to learn that your stay was satisfactory, we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Overall this hotel is great for the price and location. Is a bit outdated. But, overall I would recommend this place to a friend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Ok hotel near to a great beach

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Stores are close by.
Cons: The noise, beach and price
Location: Location is good with stores and restaurant across the street.
The first room we had was horrible the window faced the parking garage and when the pullout bed was out you could not walk in the small room. We had to upgrade and pay more money for a bigger room with a view $$ not worth but we were stuck. The beach is full of rocks and was not good to swim in but down the street a few blocks was a great beach. The noise of birds and kids made it impossible to open your patio door and enjoy the view.It is very close to stores which was great. The grounds were nice and under renovation. I will never stay here again.For the price it was to expensive I have stayed at better places for less money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Not great but not bad, either

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Clean and had a full kitchen
Cons: The overall mood of the staff was one of not really caring too much about us. The air-conditioning could never keep up!
Location: Food, snorkeling, walking
Very clean but dated facilities. Staff is okay, not extra friendly. The beach is only sand in parts. Otherwise it has way too many coral reefs just under the surface. You will need to swim someplace else! Rooms were spacious and everything worked, although a bit dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Robert. Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed clean accommodations and your full kitchen. However, we are disappointed to learn that our staff did not give you the warm aloha welcome we are dedicated to providing for our guests. While we are happy to know that your needs were met, we do hope for another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kona Hawaii 40 Yrs.

Fathers day stay to see my son a Maui resident

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: good local spot on beach ( Great )
Cons: Was $300 plus $ but good
It was good I loved it Pool good Breakfast great ( eggs Benedict ) great ! all good all good Ted
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beaches. Kid friendly pools

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great stay in a beautiful place. Staff was professional and courteous. Rooms were dated but clean. Overall worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ogden,Utah

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet. And a excellent restaurant staff.
Cons: Latter check out time.
Location: Harbor two miles away. And expedia has lots of activities.
Very relaxing experience ,perfect weather, lots of shopping two miles away in Lahaina.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha M. Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean and quiet facilities, were warmly welcomed by our fantastic staff, and appreciated our ideal location. Your valuable feedback regarding check-out times will be shared with our management for thoughtful consideration. It would be our pleasure to welcome you for another vacation in the future, and are happy to have you in our Aston Kaanapali Shores ohana. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo's great little onsite restaurant

Posted May 30, 2017
Location: Nice location on the beach and there is a supermarket across the street to stock the fridge
Nice condo and a great little restaurant, we have stayed here multiple times and always enjoy our stay