Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Liked our garden view partial ocean view

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Our room was in a great location with a good garden view and ocean glimpses. Some afternoon sun. It was a well equipped 1 bedroom on the 3rd floor with convenient access to the parking structure. Handy to grocery shopping. Enjoyed a few meals at the restaurant and bar happy hour😁 Good for adults and kids overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Just OK

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The grounds were pretty. Liked having a little apartment to eat a few meals in
Cons: Updating rooms
Location: Nice location not far from Front Street shopping & dining. Grocery store across the street.
After staying in other hotels on the Big Island & Oahu, I had a base of comparison. This place, although clean was dark & dated & overpriced. Nice location on the beach & cute little luau on Thursday night, but did not try any other amenities here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review, Susan. We're glad to learn you enjoyed your apartment and our ideal location. We appreciate your constructive feedback as it will helps us to improve our over all guest experience in the future, and we hope tow welcome you again for an even more comfortable stay again soon. Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel, great location. Great staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Excellent stay, our hotel was very child friendly. Not our first time in Maui so we had a relaxed agenda this visit, we found the Kaanapali Shores a perfect location. We were able to enjoy the beaches (one only yards away from our patio), the local skate park and aquatic center, as well as the regular Maui attractions. Hotel was walking distance to market, ABC store, restaurants, fast food places as well as gas station. Easter Sunday the hotel did a Easter egg hunt for all the kids 12 and under. The Shores have a great pool for kids as well as adult pool by the lounge and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great hotel with everything you need

Posted Apr 19, 2017
I've stayed here multiple times and have yet to be disappointed. The staff always smile and greet you no matter where your at. They went over and above to make sure my friends and I were having a great trip. They gave us drink coupons for the bar and the island informational they give helped us decide what activities to plan. The rooms were cleaned daily and not just making the bed. The only 2 things that could be improved were, A) the bed was extra firm so it was like sleeping on the floor and B) the tv was a 20". The second isn't really a big deal as most of our time was spent outside the room but at night when one wants to catch a little tube before bed I felt like I had to squint to see what was happening. Overall it was a great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
EJ, we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed vacationing with us! We take great pleasure in the comfort of our guests, and are glad to have you in our ohana. Your feedback regarding your mattress and TV are greatly appreciated, and we will share your valuable suggestions with our management. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again! Aloha.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

out dated room, almost no beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: the hotel staff and the beach restaurant and that it was directly on the water
Cons: update rooms, change air refresher
Location: good location for driving to near by beaches for snorkeling. Unfortunately no connection to beach board walk. Supermarket and JavaJazz restaurant/bar
First impression good but room was dark, out dated, very loud ac, the room fresher they used in the ac smelled like someone smoked wheat in the room. The receptionist came and checked it out and said it wasn't wheat smell it was the air refresher they use. Not funny! the smell wore off after the 3rd day. The beach restaurant had good quality food and had bar as well, but everything is closed there after 9pm
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review, Doris! We're so happy to hear you loved our beautiful location and that our staff helped you to feel at home. Your valuable feedback regarding your room is greatly appreciated, and we will share your feedback with management so that we can address your suggestions and make future improvements. It would be fantastic to welcome you again in the future. Aloha and a hui hou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pros and Cons

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Grounds, pool, restaurant was good, staff were top notch.
Cons: Update rooms to match the expectations upon arrival.
Location: Good location on beach, shopping, golf close by.
Outside was very nice, high end look upon driving up, lobby, pool area, shops etc... Rooms did not match, dated but OK, had a few issues with door locks failing, noise from neighbours and such.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're glad you enjoyed our grounds, pool, ideal location, and restaurant, and that our staff gave you a warm welcome. We also appreciate your feedback regarding room updates and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to door lock issues. Your review will be shared with management so that we can improve these fixtures. We hope to welcome you back to paradise again soon! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent service and location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
As a return customer I am known to some of the staff, Vange the front desk service rep. Is amazing and always makes sure that everything is perfect. Thank you all for making my trip memorable !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Alma! Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that Vange has helped to make each of your stays a wonderful experience, and will pass along your kind words. We are looking forward to your next stay! Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Nice place

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: We had a suite with a washer and dryer in the room!
Cons: It's a little dated. The bartenders could be more engaging.
Nice hotel, right on the beach and 2 pools. Great for families. Across the street is a grocery store so we bought snacks and beverages to keep in our room. Happy hour every day was a nice savings. This hotel is not close to many places so you have to Uber, taxi or use the shuttle to go to the tourist places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We're very glad you appreciated your in room washer and dryer! Your feedback regarding the service you received at the bar is greatly appreciated, and we will share your review with management. It's wonderful to hear that you also enjoyed our quiet location and pools, and hope to welcome you again! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Great location and service. My kids love the pool and beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good location, just a few things wrong

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Having kitchen, seperate bedroom
Cons: Bird noise, pullout bed
Location: Good location near Lahaina
Good grounds, nice pools. The big problem here are the local birds (myna?) They roost on the grounds and make the loudest noise just before sunset. This isn't bad, what is bad is that they start the noise again at 5 in the morning. If you are sleeping in the garden area of the hotel it is so loud, impossible to sleep. Also, the pullout sofa mattress is uncomfortable. So the most important thing in a room, sleep, is a problem here. Also, don't expect a beach or really swimmable ocean. Nice place otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Emily, and thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your private kitchen and room accommodations, as well as our beautiful location and pool! We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the disruptive bird noises. They are very common all over the Hawaiian islands and while they add a special charm, they can be quite distracting and we are sorry for the inconvenience they caused you. We will also share your feedback regarding our pull out beds with management, and hope to welcome you for a more comfortable stay in the future. Mahalo.