Ratings based on 1,309 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Very poor and scamming concierge

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Everything except the concierge is great.
Cons: Stop scamming the visitors by removing the concierge
Location: If you like beach/water related activities, this please is heaven. Parasailing, Snorkelling, speed boat, ...
Hotel is in a great location. Close to the beach. Very good restaurant facing the beach. However, stay away from the concierge and the first morning "orientation" - which is a scam. I have no idea why this nice hotel have such terrible practice of selling tickets that are 400% more than they actually cost?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Rafael California

Such a nice "aloha" ambience...

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, renovated condo, proximity to the Beach and Lahaina.
Cons: Castaway Cafe needs some improvement in quality of the food on the menu.
Location: Excellent location for the Beach and to get to Lahaina and Kapalua.
We have stayed at Maui Kaanapali Villas several times. IT is situated between an enormous Westin time share complex and The Royal Lahaina right on Kaanapali Beach. In contrast to the large high-rises along the Beach, this place has low lying and spaciously spread out villa compounds. There are three private pools and a restaurant right on the Beach for viewing the spectacular sunrises and sunsets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 1, 2017
Definitely!!! The concierge Lisa was awesome. It was steps from the beach. We didn't want to leave. The property is quite. I loved how we could walk out our room onto the patio and a few steps from the left pool. Our only issue was the washer and dryer weren't working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room even smaller bathroom!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Facilities nice overall. Beech and pool very nice. Room very small, noisy, and bathroom ridiculously small.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Hal Nordblom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel over all and especially appreciated our beautiful pool and proximity to the beach. Your feedback regarding your room is appreciated, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach, quiet, very quiet, extremely relaxing

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Great beach, quiet, very quiet, extremely relaxing. Complete kitchen, all appliances in great shape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, very quiet, very relaxing.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: quiet, great grounds, very clean, always chairs by the pool available.
Cons: The need to have a larger outdoor eating area. Maybe 3 or 4 picnic tables in the same area.
We had a great stay at the villas. One thing to note, these are NOT one bedroom, but more of a studio with a loft. The loft did have a king size bed and a small bathroom. The decor of the room was classy Hawaii. The appliance were brand new, everything was in a great shape. I would highly recommend the Villas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Hal Nordblom, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our comfortable lofts and island atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback regarding outdoor eating areas, and will share your review with our leadership for thoughtful consideration. We hope to welcome you again! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
This was our 4th stay at this facility. Everything was nice except the air conditioner froze up and leaked water. Hotel staff made repairs and offered us a credit on our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Place was nice. But could use some updating in some of the villas. Nice beach. Parking is also kind of a pain. Especially if the place is full. Nice location in Maui though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Hal Nordblom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation and appreciated our ideal location! Your valuable feedback will be shared with management to help us with future improvements, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Aloha.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wisconsin

Great location to the beach.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
I personally did not have any problems with my stay. I was given an upgraded room, so everything was very nice and the staff was excellent. Friends that stayed there did not have the same luck. There were showers with no curtains, a refrigerator went out, 2 different rooms had mice and one had a cockroach!!! Those are unacceptable!! If I had those things happen to me I would have been receiving some compensation. The restaurant on site had very good food, but with mediocre to poor service. The bartenders were SO SLOW and one woman in particular was far from friendly. She acted like it was a chore to be there. The location to the beach is excellent! The breakfast orientation with Dave was wonderful as well. He was so helpful and friendly! Just a few improvement suggestions: A second restaurant on the other side of the property would be nice, or at least a second option to choose from considering there is hardly anything that will deliver. (We arrived at night after traveling all day and were not able to get food) Signs on the property were very difficult to see and read because they were so small. Especially at night. It took us forever to find our room because we didn't know which building we were supposed to be in!! Only a few smoking areas? I completely understand not smoking in the rooms, but what is the harm in letting people smoke on their patios? The designated areas were so dark it was almost scary to use them.,A little bit of light at the spots would be helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hal Nordblom, Hotel Management
Aloha Sarah. Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation! However, we are very sorry to hear that the rest of your party did not find their accommodations to be satisfactory and sincerely apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience they experienced. This is not at all the high quality experience we are accustomed providing for our guests. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the service you received at our restaurant, but are glad to hear that Dave helped to give you a warm aloha welcome. Over all, we thank you for your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Room was getting run down.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Mouse in room. Bathroom faucets needed replaced. Main entry door lock broke (was replaced quickly). Kitchen sink faucet needed replaced. Entry door banged shut. Locks on sliding doors in bad shape. Beautiful grounds,great pools, beach rental staff excellent,cleaning staff great, in fact all staff members were first rate. Restaurant on site needs better menu selections. Wait staff not the best.slow service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hal Nordblom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Jackie. We are very glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, pool, and friendly staff. However, we are concerned to hear that a mouse was seen in your room and we will share your review with our management so that we can take the proper steps to avoid this in the future. Your feedback regarding room updates is also appreciated, and we look forward to improving our over all guest experience. Aloha and a hui hou.