Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice older hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: a little updating on the outside of your builings
Location: Location was perfect for us. We love 'hole in the wall' locations and there are plenty of them around.
Very nice older hotel located on one of the most pristine stretches of beaches. You can walk 2.5 miles one way or 2.5 miles the other. If you're interested in the adventures on the island and not the amenities of the 'typical resort stay,' this is the place for you. It's a nice, clean, quiet and well kept property. The pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna were great as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay at sugar beach 314

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Our stay at sugar beach was perfect! Easy late check in (11pm)...was permitted for a late checkout 5pm. Fell asleep to the sound of the ocean every night. Everything was provided (beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, Tupperware, etc...). Next time I come to Maui I'm definitely booking here again. Location (kehei) is very central and 20-30 min. to most places!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach. Nice pool and grilling area.

Posted May 29, 2017
Great experience. Would stay here again. It was a convenient location to many things on Maui. It has great access to the beach, a nice pool and grilling area, and the grounds are well maintained. Some of the buildings are a little older but that didn't bother us. We had a full kitchen and private balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Great unit with fantastic views

Posted May 23, 2017
My wife and I stayed in unit 534. It was clean, well appointed with great furniture and a spectacular view with just enough palm trees to be tropical without impeding your view. Carpet was clean, all appliances worked great, and only a small shower valve issue was present but CRH had that cleared up within an hour or so. Overall it was a perfect unit for our honeymoon and we felt like we were at home every time we came back. Elevators worked great, grounds and building exteriors were super clean, little lizards greeted you sometimes, the smell of fresh flowers.. theres nothing bad we can say about Sugar Beach, we loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Bar Wa

Good

Posted May 13, 2017
The room was nice but could be updated. The room was clean but you could tell it had not been updated in a long time. The sofa wasn't very comfortable and some of the outlets didn't work. Other than that we had a great time and loved the resort. When booking our next stay we will be sure to have oceanfront view instead of ocean view, which I didn't know there was a difference until we arrived. But the staff was great and our check in and out process was so fast and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North vancouver

Great location- right next to the beach

Posted May 8, 2017
Room was a bit dated but if that's not an issue was awesome - had everything you needed, and super close to ocean. Hot tub was nice during the rain we had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill SC

Beautiful resort right on the beach!!

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The location was just perfect for us. Beautiful views from the beach. Everything was just beautiful!
Location: The resort is located so that it is very easy to get to either side of the island. We enjoyed spending time on the beach as well as all the highlights
Sugar Beach Resort is absolutely stunning! The staff is so friendly and helpful!! Just steps out of our room we were on the beach or at the pool. The beach is perfect with beautiful sunsets every evening! The grounds and landscaping is incredible. I highly recommend this resort and will definitely stay here again on a return trip to Maui. Athena in the concierge office helped us book many tours and experiences on the island and really added so much to our enjoyment of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Very close to the beach.

Posted May 5, 2017
Great stay. Staff was friendly and the staff at Dina's was awesome. Would have liked to see a little coffee shop on the property. Great rooms and great view. This property defines Oceanfront. I could have thrown a rock into the ocean from the lanai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue MI

Awesome ocean view and beach access

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Easy beach access and full kitchen.
Cons: Late night arrival registration.
Location: Kahului airport is just 20 minutes away. Maalaea Harbor offers excursions and an aquarium. Lahaina/ Kaanapali are 30-45 minutes away with many options
Sugar Beach Resort in Kihei has a beautiful beach right outside your door. This is a smaller complex in a quiet area. We walked each morning for a couple of miles unimpeded toward Maalaea Bay. At times you're alone in paradise. This resort is a short drive to the tourist areas and attractions. We enjoyed the full kitchen and beautiful ocean view from our condo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We have been to Maui four times and this is now our favorite spot. The view is incredible! It is centralized so you are able to get to any thing relatively quick! Our room was great. The bed was comfortable. The condo had everything you needed including a box fan! I love to sleep with a fan!!! I plan on making this my first choice when returning to Maui!!