Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect stay

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Great location with a beautiful beach pathway to all local hotels/restaurants/shops. The rooms were huge.
This hotel was great, I will be back! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were large, and the pools and grounds beautiful. Highly recommended. I am not a fan of resort fees (why not just make the price higher?) but at least this resort fee included things that actually felt like add-ons; free self parking, in-room coffee/water, yoga (gym classes), and sun screen at the pool. They also offer a car service within the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
I've stayed at the 4 seasons in a honeymoon suite and grand wailea - I feel that this hotel is the best bang for your buck. The room and hotel grounds match what you pay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf bay area

Iconic hotel needs freshening up

Posted May 16, 2017
my wife and I were married here 19 years ago. We had not been back to Maui since then and wanted to stay here for sentimental reasons of course. We were visiting family in town for another wedding. Pros The grounds and pools are still lovely. Plenty of lounging space throughout the 3 pools. Food at Ko restraint was quite good for lunch and happy hour. Everyone very helpful. Their private beach is outstanding and the surf is big enough for boogie boarding. The rooms are all suites and my wife and I had more than enough room. The decor was traditional and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was bigger than I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere. Cons So the hotel went through some sort of remodel and whomever was in charge decided that a non flattering brown would be used to accent walls throughout the hotel. ( baby sh--t is the color my wife described) it looks bad. There are mismatched tiles on the floor through out the hallways and lobby. Needless to say this was a bit disappointing to us. When we stayed here 19 years ago the hotel was painted a crisp white through out and the hotel was much more pulled together. Now it looks tired and a little neglected.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Chris and thank you for returning to the resort after getting married here 19 years ago! We are so pleased to read you found our staff to be helpful, the pools and beach perfect and the suites spacious. However, we apologize for the areas that you feel need more attention and that left you unimpressed. Please know your feedback is extremely valuable and we appreciate you sharing yours with us. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Warmest aloha, April Storey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

First class resort!!

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: everthing
Cons: nothing
Location: n/a
We have stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani Maui four times over the last 12 years and the ocean views and beach are wonderful The food is excellent and the service is all around the resort is also excellent. We will go back again for a 5th time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Jerry! Thank you for your fantastic review and for being loyal return guests over the years. We're so pleased that you always have such enjoyable stays with us and find the resort to be first class. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best wishes and aloha, April Storey
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Somewhat Disappointed

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The Location and setup provides great views.
Cons: The resort is in great need of remodelled rooms and better pricing on restaurants, and services. Don't feel I got a good value for price.
For the price of this resort, I was disappointed by the outdated and old rooms. I was unable to even open the screen door, which they could not fix. I honestly expected much nicer rooms and more comfortable furmiture. Also the price of the breakfast buffet $37 was way overpriced for items served. I did still enjoy the vacation, grounds were nice also. The spa was also overpriced, as well as the room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha TM. Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation and for providing your feedback of your stay. It’s truly disappointing to learn that you were left unimpressed by the overall value of the hotel, the areas you mentioned will be discussed with the leadership team. Please accept my deepest apology and I hope that you will consider returning the next time you visit Maui. Warmest aloha and best wishes, April Storey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
Great hotel! Have stayed there three times now and each time has been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review and for being such loyal return guests! We’re delighted that your expectations continue to be exceeded each time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you again, best wishes and a warm aloha. April Storey, Director of Guest Experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, super expensive

Posted May 4, 2017
It's a great hotel with great service, I just can't give it 5 stars due to their overall pricing, it's just super expensive and some concepts feel abusive, like paying 38usd per day in addition to the cost of the room for what they call added services like Wifi or fitness center or paying 29usd for an omelette
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your stay with us. While we're pleased to learn that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit, we are disappointed to hear that resort pricing had a negative effect on your overall experience. Please accept my deepest apology and I hope that you will consider returning in the future. Mahalo and best wishes, April Storey Director of Guest Experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Great hotel and friendly staff. My dinner reservation got messed up one night and they took care of a few meals and Took accountability. Shuttle service is quick and takes you anywhere close. Right by gold and emerald less than a minute drive. I can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for spending your vacation with us. I am so happy you had a wonderful stay and found our staff friendly. I do apologize for the issue with your dinner reservations but are happy to learn that it was resolved to your satisfaction. Mahalo for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Best wishes, April Storey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel near the beach

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The room was spacious, quiet, and had wonderful, quality ammenities. The restaurants were great, especially Ko! We will definitely return
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha keli and thank you for your review of your experience. It's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the spacious suites, all the amenities and dining experience at Kō. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warmest aloha, April Storey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to beach for a family

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: comfortable bed and conveniently located to the beach
Location: just hang out around the beach and pool all day
Spent 3 nights at Fairmount Kea Lani and everyone in our family of 5 enjoyed the hotel and amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy to read that you had a memorable stay and you enjoyed everything our family friendly resort has to offer, especially the many guest amenities and comforts of your suite. We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest aloha, April Storey