Ratings based on 1,168 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Paradise

Posted Jul 19, 2017
From the moment you walk in the door, the hospitable staff welcomes you with open arms. The property is bursting with waterfalls, beautiful sculptures and exotic flowers. The ocean views are beautiful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and quick. The rooms are ok, comfortable with nice balconies. One down fall to a popular hotel, it is very crowded! You need to get out at 7 am to reserve a pool chair or beach chair! The kids pool Is very crowded and loud!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Excellent hotel. Expensive, but excellent.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My daughter and I had a wonderful time Right on, well we attended, swimming, the beach, everything was magnificent. Only wish I would've been advised about was the trip to Mt. Haleakala for the sunrise. Despite my many calls to the concierge for you and researching Expedia, nobody said anything about this experience. Consequently, we missed it. Otherwise, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The Grand Wailea is an incredible property. The staff is excellent and caters to the guests' needs. The grounds are wonderful and even though you are in Maui, it's tough to leave the property because it is so nice and there is so much to do on the grounds. I would highly recommend this resort for people who want a relaxing and wonderful Maui vacation. It is perfect for families as the rooms are large and can easily accommodate more than two people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best trip ever

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great staff, amazing hotel, pool with water slides, perfect for families, highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom CA

The only Part I was disappointed

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: easy access to the beach, rooms were very clean
Cons: checking in
Location: If you like shopping, great place next door. I would recommend lunghi's, tommy Bahamma for happy hour
The only part I was disappointed in was checking in part. Kids, my husband and I were just tired from the travel to get Hawaii. When I tried to check in they said the hoo wasn't ready. So the family and went for dinner. Came back and Still the room wasn't ready. So we waited around AGAIN. Finally I got frustrated and went back to the front desk and complained and then finally they issued our room. We were supposed to get ocean view, but didn't. I got some ocean but more pool and palms. I was too tired to go back. The room was very nice and very clean and lani was nice. So despite the checking in part. Everything else was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Grand Wailea is a great family hotel. The pools were a lot of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Close to the beach and shopping

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Best resort I have stayed at. Close to the beach, nice clean pools, activities and shopping close by. The room was amazing and the services were the best. They made everything that I could possibly imagine a reality. The complimentary bikes were awesome to have to ride around all the shops that are nearby. Definitely planning another trip out there soon! Worth it and everyone should experience this perfect resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach

Great resort right on the Beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Rooms are comfortable and have nice spacious balconies with fridge and views. Beautiful gardens and decor. Friendly staff, easy car valet.
Cons: As mentioned in review, more umbrellas for chairs and better system for booking chairs on beach. Too many abandoned chairs with just wet towels.
Location: Right on the beach and next to Four Seasons. Easy access to stores and other beaches.
We are a family of four and had a really great stay at the Grand Wailea. The resort is in a beautiful location right on the beach, with multiple pools with attractions for kids or a quiet adult pool area. The only real complaint is that there were far too few lounging chairs with umbrellas, so unless you got to the pool areas really early, then you were left with an option of baking in the sun with no cover or having to spring for one of the cabanas. My feeling is they were trying to push people to buy a cabana as the cost of adding a few more umbrella for such a high end resort would be minimal. Also, not always easy to get a chair on the beach, though did manage this with some work. I would certainly recommend the resort, but for the price you pay you really don't want to be stressing about getting a chair to relax by pool or beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Luxury price without luxury ambience

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and property location is excellent - but there does not seem to be attention to detail for guests. We purchased two rooms for our large family of 6 and requested months in advance two rooms near each other but we did not get our request and upon checkin the front desk was unapologetically unaware of our requests and did not accommodate us. We were a floor apart on opposite ends. The morning food services and beach and pool services were chaotic. Be aware if you are going to the beach there is no cold water service available without going back into the pool area. Some of the pool snacks don't even open until 10 am so if you're going to the beach early you won't be able to get any water for purchase either. The concierge and valet and housekeeping services are the most organized groups and really appear to provide good service. It's just too bad the beach and pool services are so unorganized. We were told upon checkin we needed wristband for pool and beach but each time we tried to get one - we were sent on a wild goose chase and beach concierge told us to get it from the pool and pool concierge told us we didn't need one at the beach. Also you cannot get drinks in the beach. The pool cabanas routinely had long lines to rent and so sadly we never bothered. What was strange is we received text messages from customer service and when I would tell them what was wrong there was no follow up. We probably won't return to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Everything you need n want

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed total experience. However the breakfast buffet was overpriced.