Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great resort next to shops

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: service and the food and shops
Cons: no problems with any of the areas
Location: great location with a sandy beach in front of the hotel. lots of pools on site. next door are these great shops with several excellent restaurants.
Great resort, nice 24 hour gym, many activities and pools. Many great places to eat on site and also next door at the Wailea shops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Bugs in sink and tub Not enough pool staff for crowd size
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mission viejo, ca

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Wonderful location with gorgeous grounds. Right on a great public beach and there are also many pools. Water slides, a lazy river,swim up bar and the worlds only water elevator. The grande spa is incredible with mineral baths, deluge shower, steam room and several jacuzzi's. The bathrooms in the hotel rooms could use and update they are starting to show wear and I hated the shower head.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing & by no means a 'luxury' hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms are spacious, gardens and grounds are beautiful, and it's in a great location on the beach, but I would not recommend staying here and would
I would have preferred to have stayed at one of the smaller, neighbouring resorts. When we stayed there it was overrun by two very large and loud conference groups. They had a great time, but it wasn't pleasant or comfortable at all for independent guests. I've never stayed at a 5 star resort where they set up a tent by the pool, hand out cans of alcohol and the group stands around in the pool for hours on end drinking and becoming increasingly obnoxious (clearly not even getting out to go to the bathroom!) People were also ordering food and eating/dropping it into the pool. There was food & drink littered around the pool for hours, with no clean up. There was very little service for anyone who was not part of the group, in fact, you were made to feel ostracised. I appreciate the hotel can't control the behaviour of guests, but they can set some basic rules and pay attention to all guests. Considering the very high room rate paid, to charge a resort fee on top of this experience was just an insult. We tried to speak to a manager, but no luck. We tried to give feedback on check out and was told they only request feedback on a random basis. Overall it wasn't as sophisticated as I had hoped and I wished I had selected a more intimate, classier option. A very expensive mistake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Decent hotel in a nice location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very impressive on arrival but disappointed in our room. Room needs to be updated. We did however enjoy our view. It was a garden view but had a great ocean view. The grotto bar was closed as well as the volcano restaurant. I feel this hotel is way overpriced and was in disbelief when I had to pay the $30 resort fee daily as well as $30 valet fee a day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds but the accommodations are horrible!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Bugs in the room, cracked tile, door hinge broken and the front door was dirty with chipped paint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

great location and beach views

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, beach area, beach walk, koi and garden area were outstanding.
Cons: Missed having a good snack shop on site. What was there was not nice, was overly expensive and did not provide much choice.
Location: Easy access to roads and locations we visited.
Loved the room and view of koi and ocean. Breakfast was excellent, but other food options for lunch and dinner were lacking. Parking staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Losing Grandness

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Pools and spa
Cons: While grounds are amazing, physical asset needs maintenance
Location: Shopping, restaurants and beaches
Excellent location with beautiful views, beach access and nearby shops and restaurants but building itself needs some TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, HI

Almost perfect! The staff is the star.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The staff, the view from our room, the food (except for one room service meal but the other meals were so GOOD they earn a compliment), the pool(s).
Cons: Hotel is starting to show its age. Common walkways are showing there age and are out of date. Some of the railings on the walkways are broken.
Location: Fantastic beach location! So beautiful. We did not leave the hotel property except a short walk to the local ABC store for water and such.
Did a last minute staycation (we live on Oahu). Wow, what a place! The only possible negative is the hotels age is beginning to show. Food - Fantastic! Staff - AMAZING! room - WONDERFUL. I could not give 5 stars because, a.) this category of hotel and the associated prices demand as near perfection as humanly possible, and b.) because while we had two AMAZING room service dining experiences our third one was terrible. Food cold, late, and tasteless. Again, if this was a three or four star hotel I would hit "5's" all the way across. However, this is a five star hotel and so I'm pretty picky. Having said all of that I must say except for some age showing in hotel common areas and one bad room service meal, the Grand Wailea is a SPECTACULAR hotel! The beach, its location, the pool (beyond words), THE STAFF, furniture, landscaping, room amenities, EVERYTHING but the two small things mentioned above, was PERFECT! By far the BEST Hawaiian resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brock, Tx

Posted Mar 15, 2017
All staff very pleasant from checking in to checking out. Wonderful view and slept great!!