Ratings based on 1,672 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for an extended stay

Posted May 26, 2017
We stayed on Maui for nine nights/ten days and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Through Expedia, we got a reasonable price for hotel/flight/car rental bundle. And though we weren't sure what to expect regarding the cheaper priced "mountain view," we were not disappointed. I'd take the mountain view over the ocean or resort views any day. Absolutely beautiful! The resort's location is great. A few minutes drive north of Lahaina, where we visited multiple times. The amenities are nice. With in-room laundry, we were able to pack less. With a full kitchen, we were able to save money on food by buying groceries and cooking many of our meals (though we still wanted to try many restaurants.) There is a general store on the first floor of the tower we stayed in where I was able to get an iced coffee everyday. The three pool options are nice- there's one with a water slide, which is frequented by more kids. There's a "river" pool which is nice and quiet for the adults. And there's a bigger open pool where both adults and kids go. I was able to lay out and read my kindle at all three pools with no problem. The beach at the resort was great for snorkeling. Lots of colorful tropical fish to see! So cool! And not overcrowded! Though we went in mid-May. Overall, we agreed we'd come back to stay at Honua Kai the next time we're on Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great place for families!

Posted May 26, 2017
The rooms were clean & beautiful and the pool slide as well as the rock pool was a hit for my toddler! We noticed some pool repairs needed with stained chipped/ broken tiles but it's easy to look past that with the ocean view. Only one restaurant on the property but a great market for sandwiches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Close to the beach.

Posted May 25, 2017
The hotel staff were efficient and polite. We enjoyed the ambiance at Dukes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wide open resort!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet. Relaxing. Convenient location just out the way from the name brand hotels. Perfect.
Cons: I don't know. maybe a few more shops & dining options. sometimes on vacations you just dont wanna cook LOL.
Location: Perfect. Just a few blocks way from the main resort areas. There's a plaza with a little supermarket. Also a great breakfast spot Slappy Cakes!
We had a great time at Honua Kai, We've stayed in other hotels in Kaanapali and it always felt too busy & cramped. So we did a little research on Honua Kai which is just a few blocks north & its like day & night. Its so much more quiet & relaxing here like what we needed this time for a "real"vacation. Although I think May is just the calming before the summer storm & just lucked out. The resort has 2 buildings, 3 pools. All the rooms are suites with a full size kitchen, dining area and the patio also has a big table for outside dining.( Not to many dining options in the resort) There's a little plaza just a up the street with a supermarket which saved us a ton. Rent a car, parking/valet is easy & they don't allow any airport shuttles services in and out the resort which is awesome!! We had an amazing & relaxing time. We'll be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Island Fla

Super nice place to stay , great place !

Posted May 17, 2017
Super friendly stuff . Come for our 19th anniversary. Recommend eating at the restaurant Dukes great good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Good for families, not for relaxing couples vacay

Posted May 15, 2017
When we checked in, the bell hop complained that we were his first check in and how bored he'd been all day. Not a great first impression. We were also there celebrating an anniversary. This place doesn't give a rip - don't expect so much as a card on the bed. These are condos and the place is swarming with kids. If you want a kid free vacation at an upscale place, I wouldn't recommend. Would be perfect for a family or those who enjoy cooking on vacation since there are full kitchens. Otherwise this isn't your scene. Best part is the location. Each unit had California doors too which was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Stayed here for a week and had a great time. The concierge set us up nicely with events for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful rooms. Nice and close to the beach.

Posted May 13, 2017
Beautiful rooms. Nice and close to the beach. Parking garage was a plus. Location was near lots of food and grocery shopping. Coffee bar in hotel was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maui

Very nice and comfortable room.

Posted May 9, 2017
The room was very clean and comfortable. The property was beautiful and had everything we could think of. The staff was helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice family accommodations

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: It was quiet and spacious with wonderful patios off each room.
Cons: Coordinate prices within the markets. Provide eating facility within the hotel itself.
Location: The hotel was close to the beach which was nice. I was there for a wedding and without transportation; therefore, did not do anything nearby.
Arrived later than expected. My room was in another tower than the people I came with. They tried to move me, but nothing available that night. Got new room the next day. Close to beach and pools great for children and families. Eating facility on site was nice but really only for adults. Rooms had kitchens; however, I was on foot and not a very good walker; therefore did not utilize it because did not get to store. Found the price differences between markets within the facility questionable. Main tower was considerably higher. Room not refreshed each day and the one time mine was no wash rags were left.