Ratings based on 1,689 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Great resort. The beach was awesome. The pools were awesome. Drinks were expensive so be prepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent value for the money with family

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Great place, lots pools, convenient Jake's on property along with good cafes. Great for family vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel well situated.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Needed basic condiments . Housekeeping as below par
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice hotel in the center on everything needed

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The hotel is inches from the beach, multiple pools, great restaurant named "Dukes" feet from the beach, "Mixologist" (bartender) Jerry will anticipate anything you may want to try, will have you laughing. Room is great, view was great, the showers need to be updated they lost me when I saw the old tub with a cloth on the bottom of it (expensive hotel and old showers that's a no-no) but I'm sure it's on their list. A store is across the street if needed. Amazing experience, I will attach a photo of the balcony view and from Dukes restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Great for Families

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: - Open concept (Lobby) when you first walk in. It opens to the pool and beach area - Overall very up-to-date condos - Nice full size kitchen
Cons: - Minor paint touch ups in bathroom - Fix stove (wouldn't close completely) and icemaker (wasn't making ice)
Location: Once you pass the bottle neck traffic in Lahaina during peak hours, it's pretty nice. There is a supermarket nearby and tons of eateries.
I wanted to stay in an 'updated' resort. My worst nightmare would have been stuck in a room with dated rattan furniture ... YUCK!!!! From my understanding, there are some units that are 'timeshared' but the units here are standardized and you won't run into that problem like the other surrounding condos in that area (or on island). The only other new resort in the area is the Westin which is right next door. There are 2 towers at the Honea Kai and we stayed in the "Hokulani" tower which is the 1st one you see when you pull into the property (closest to the Westin). We had a fabulous stay here! Pool gets crowded in afternoon (more peaceful/empty) during morning hours because everyone is out on tours. Winds also seem to pick up in the afternoon so hold onto your hats!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel location right on the beach.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The hotel location is very convenient. We were disappointed that we booked a partial ocean view, paying extra, and our room was on the 1st floor, right by the hotel entrance with no view of the beach and heavy foot traffic by our patio. I called the front desk to see if we could move to a partial view or even pay more for a full view and, while they did accommodate on our 3rd day, they were not friendly about it. Overall, the front desk staff was not welcoming or friendly. Housekeeping and pool servers were fantastic! It would have been nice to have the capability to get room service, however I consider that my fault because I didn't research enough. Our family vacation was amazing and we loved Maui, I just might reconsider the Hanua Kai for our next visit. I wanted to love it and the location really is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth TX

Close to the beach, but expensive upgrades

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Great hotel next to the beach. I made several upgrades but were very expensive for what we got. We wanted a separate living area but we got a little studio with everything in one little room. Not enough storage for clothes in dresser.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, newer condo resort.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Very roomy. Big bathrooms. The lani was huge and the doors folded in and opened up to the whole condo.
Cons: Uncomfortable bed, way too much shower pressure, way too many children.
We loved this condo! It was beautiful and on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for an extended stay

Posted May 26, 2017
We stayed on Maui for nine nights/ten days and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Through Expedia, we got a reasonable price for hotel/flight/car rental bundle. And though we weren't sure what to expect regarding the cheaper priced "mountain view," we were not disappointed. I'd take the mountain view over the ocean or resort views any day. Absolutely beautiful! The resort's location is great. A few minutes drive north of Lahaina, where we visited multiple times. The amenities are nice. With in-room laundry, we were able to pack less. With a full kitchen, we were able to save money on food by buying groceries and cooking many of our meals (though we still wanted to try many restaurants.) There is a general store on the first floor of the tower we stayed in where I was able to get an iced coffee everyday. The three pool options are nice- there's one with a water slide, which is frequented by more kids. There's a "river" pool which is nice and quiet for the adults. And there's a bigger open pool where both adults and kids go. I was able to lay out and read my kindle at all three pools with no problem. The beach at the resort was great for snorkeling. Lots of colorful tropical fish to see! So cool! And not overcrowded! Though we went in mid-May. Overall, we agreed we'd come back to stay at Honua Kai the next time we're on Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great place for families!

Posted May 26, 2017
The rooms were clean & beautiful and the pool slide as well as the rock pool was a hit for my toddler! We noticed some pool repairs needed with stained chipped/ broken tiles but it's easy to look past that with the ocean view. Only one restaurant on the property but a great market for sandwiches.