Ratings based on 1,652 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great for families!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: resort feel with condo convenience. Very clean and comfortable! Great location!! We felt like we were in a 5 star resort!
Cons: valet attendant when we arrived was quite pushy - demanded my keys as I was unloading bags and groceries. Was not very inviting.
Location: main town of Lahaina was 5 minutes away which was convenient, lots to see and do. Fantastic spot for families with small children.
Overall - could not have been happier!!! We would have liked some more amenities in the room itself - we had to go out and buy salt and pepper, foil etc. Only 4 forks, small/big plates and bowls so we were constantly doing dishes (family of 4). The dryer had some issues which left us with mostly wet clothes when we had to do laundry. The head of valet (Tony) was a pleasure to speak with; went above and beyond getting boogie boards for our kids that had been left behind from previous guests. Overall a 4.9 out of 5 for sure! We will repeat!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family friendly hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay at the resort. It is has various pools and is beach accessible. There are a good number of families with children and was perfect for our two boys , ages 7 and 10. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice - beautiful, yet homey

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Loved that we were right on the beach, had all the comforts of home (i.e. kitchen, laundry, grill) and fully serviced as well. Food at the restaurant was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd go back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Nice with room to improve

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Nice hotel but it's individual owned units managed by the hotel so no room service. :-(. We stayed for 5 nights in the 1bdrm. The rooms are spacious and the patio "nana" doors completely fold in to take in the view. Disappointed that at the substantial price point they still expected me to pay to rent a beach chair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid! Much better hotels in Maui!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
My wife and I arrived on our first day in Maui and the air conditioning unit was not working and locked which required a technician. However, the hotel does not have a technician on-site, or front desk staff for that matter, 24hrs a day. Therefore, we were left with having to wait until the next day to have the issue resolved. This is a representation of management that doesn't have the guests' as top priority and is an indication of a hotel cutting corners to save money at the expense of guest comfort. The hotel beds are not top notch beds you would find at a higher end hotel as you can feel every movement when sleeping in the same bed as your partner. My wife and I also stayed at Andaz located in another area (Wailea) in Maui. We are still at Andaz as I write this review and absolutely LOVE he location, facilities and staff at this hotel. Far superior than Honua Kai!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

What a gem!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Spring Break getaway for our family of 6. Resort is very family-focused & there are lots of families who visit. We stayed in 3 bedroom suite (part of hotel, not private residence) and were thrilled with the accommodations! We had a huge patio facing the beach with infinity doors (stunning!) & BBQ, a giant kitchen with high-end appliances, spacious rooms and bathrooms - all modern & well designed. It was super clean, including the whole property. There is no room service, but Duke's is the onsite restaurant. It's expensive (everything is expensive on the islands), but the food is really good. Be sure to make reservations several days in advance. The staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful. Three nice pools with plenty of chairs, pools are cleaned every morning. The water slide is small, but fun for little kiddos. We were excited for the 'lazy river' float but we're disappointed it's really just a short, skinny pool. The beach in front of the resort is pristine - incredibly clean, soft sand, easy to wade in to see colorfish fish & sea life. We rented surf boards, fun waves with a long board. Be careful of rocky bottom. It was great to to cook in our room, and there's a (so-so) market across the street called "Times Market." Go early in the day, stuff sells out fast. Most importantly, enjoy the beautiful location, the warm sun on your face, and relax at wonderful Honua Kai!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island WA

Beautiful resort near lots of amenities

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I stayed in the Konea Tower in the one bedroom suite with garden view. When I first arrived I was a little disappointed in the quality and cleanliness of my particular suite. The carpet was damaged and stretched a bit in one area and the sofa seemed dirty. When I complained they offered to switch me but I was out the door to dinner and couldn't view room and then by the time we got back to room we were too tired to pack up and move. The master bath was large and accommodated our needs but had terrible lighting and if you were trying to put on makeup or something you had to go in the living room and use the full length closet mirror with the natural light from patio. The master bedroom was comfortable but I had trouble with the cable tv in that room. Room service only came every other day and didn't do much detail . The general store in the Konea tower had just opened a few months earlier and was really nice and the staff there was really helpful. I do wish there was another restaurant on the property other than Dukes. Pools are very nice and the beach is lovely although wear water shoes because of the coral. Enjoyed grilling with friends out by the ocean. All in all even though I had some nit picky complaints I would definitely come back to this resort .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beware of roaches

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Many roaches in kitchen! Staff was not welcoming. Never got my bags from bell service so I ended up getting myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Stayed here after leaving our week at a time share. Only stayed two days. Hotel was fine and priced right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Very nice hotel. Close to the ocean and boardwalk. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly.