Ratings based on 1,708 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

We had a 3 bedroom Oceanside room

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The room was beautiful, beds were so comfy. Loved the full kitchen so we could cook some meals in our condo. The staff helped with all of our needs. We even received a huge gift basket with fresh fruit & snacks (the kids devoured it all). Dukes restaurant was so close & great for convenient & delicious meals!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Great Resort

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Honua Kai. We had a two bedroom unit which gave us the chance to spread out and was very comfortable. We had mountain view which had amazing sunrise, sunset, and moonlight views, but some road noise and yard maintenance. Loved Dukes for dinner and cocktails and the concierge was extremely helpful. Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Nice resort close to the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Hotel room was clean and had an upgraded kitchen. Landscape was simple with several koi ponds. The pools were great for the kids.
Location: Snorkel gear rental, great small beach/es, grocery store, pancake restaurant, ABC store all within walking distance.
Nice beach away from the crowds and walking distance to amenities such as a grocery store. Beach is smaller so not much in terms of paddle board rental kiosks. Nice snorkeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Nice professionally managed condo resort.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Nice professionally managed condo resort with large, clean condos for families. Pros = excellent valet (included in Price), clean updated room w large balcony space, lots of pool amenities, great restaurant on site, great beach, and excellent bar tenders at poolside. Cons = Front desk and waiters/waitresses at pool side seem to not want to be there and at times we're very rude, pool is starting to detoriate (lots of tiles missing, holes in rocks, and floor of pools are chipping), views from upgraded partial ocean view was mainly of another hotel building and not very relaxing. Overall I would stay there again, however, I probably look into the Fairmont first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Not bad but could be a lot better!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the pools Consistent purchasing arrangements More food and drink choices Some level of flexibility for early/late checkin
Location: Lahaina, the nearby town is great for boat trips, wider and better quality food choices and having a wander
Not bad hotel overall but feels like they haven't quite mastered doing the extra little things that make customers happy. Disappointed that after arriving at 11.30 am there were no rooms available until 4pm. Even after regular checking each hour miraculously they all magically became ready at the official check in time. I'm pretty sure they don't have 1 cleaner per room and could have got us in a little quicker so we didn't have to waste the day sitting around. Then on leaving day no facilities for late checkout any time after 11am when we didn't fly until 8pm. Try to make sure you arrive at 4pm and leave by 11am and you'll be ok... Then some strange inconsistent rules on site. The organic cafe/shop let's you purchase by adding to your room. The store in the other building does not so you need cash or card with you. The bar/restaurant asked if we booked direct with the hotel or a 3rd party. Not sure what they mean I just said we booked with Expedia and the response was we had to pay cash or cheque and not put on our room because it wasn't direct. Confusing, inconsistent and annoying! Food wasn't great choice or quality wise at Dukes either. Pool could do with a good clean. The lazy river part had some gross looking scum in it. Apart from the niggles it is well situated with lovely views. There is a good grocery store over the road which is much cheaper than the expensive on site shops and it's only a short drive to Lahaina to get a much wider choice of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Nice resort!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Close to the beach, pools and restaurant. Everything's close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great place, friendly staff, and great amenities.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: I loved eating in our balcony! We just enjoyed hanging out there looking at the view and we only had the mountain view. It was great at night!
Location: It was close enough to most places, the grocery store was just 2 blocks away. The shopping outlet was less than 5 minutes.
From the time we checked in until we left, I felt well taken care of by all the staff. I felt home with everything that the hotel provided such as laundry detergent and soaps to watch dishes. They also gave me a huge box of chocolates as a thank you for staying. In addition, the location of the hotel is awesome, no need to go anywhere else, as they have the beach, great pools and a great convenient store and coffee place. They had the best lemon cheesecake!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, ok room

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Resort is very nice but the room wasn't great. We had a one bedroom suite. The sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and the room didn't seem clean. I kept my sandals on while I was there because the carpet felt dirty. I liked the resort but would make sure I got a different room next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, fl

Great accommodations

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Rooms, full kitchens, pools
Location: Snorkeling at molokoni or golfing
This hotel was perfect. All rooms are suites with full kitchen. Multiple pools, BBQs for guests to use and beach. Rooms were spacious and clean. Balconies were big---some rooms have wrap around. Recommend beach view or resort view from higher floors looking at mountains. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: staff could be more pleasant....and it is not all staff....just a few.
Beautiful sunsets, great food. well manicured property clean room.