Ratings based on 2,322 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Court yard is beautiful!! And so close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the beach for a great price!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: reasonable cost awesome bed close to mini stores awesome staffs
Cons: did not get to watch the Luau since it is only available by Monday
Location: golf scuba diving, snorkeling surf
miles of beaches see sunset cliff dive local beer scuba diving and snorkeling
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It had everything we needed.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We didn't need to leave for anything. Every night there was free Hawaiian entertainment , there was a nice restaurant and bar with waitresses and waiters who were friendly . The grounds were clean and groomed daily. The pool was clean and centrally located . The beach was clean and the hotel opened right onto it . You walked out your door and everything was available to you. We loved our stay and didn't want to leave . It was so fun and relaxing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful hotel right right on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great location right on the beach, cute and beautiful courtyard, free live music and/ or hula performance daily in the evening right at the hotel. Convenient in so many ways! I'd stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Manager at Kaanapali Beach Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time writing this review, Debbie. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation. Hope to see you back soon. Aloha.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Good value and location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Hotel staff is friendly and the grounds are well maintained. Not a top flight resort but then again, neither are the prices. Very convenient to shopping at the Whaler Village to the south and excellent snorkeling is a quick walk north.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay for the price

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff. The beachfront. The way the whole place smelled like flowers. The complimentary lei when you leave.
Cons: Freshen up the rooms; new paint, update bathrooms.
Location: Everything is near by. Try the ziplines just 2 minutes away.
Yes, the rooms are a little run down but the hospitality makes up for it. We stayed at the Hyatt for a few days and I much prefer the Kaanapali. Besides being 1/3 the price, the staff is amazingly friendly. They try very hard to share the Hawaiian culture with you. I think the beachfront by the Kaanapali is superior. The only food we ordered there was cheese pizza at the grill. Only $12.50 for a 12". Cheap for hotel prices. It only took 10-15 minutes to get and very satisfying. Only complaint is their parking spaces are small and mostly marked for compacts. Definitely won't be renting an SUV next time. I would definitely stay here again. Go to the free welcome breakfast, they don't try to sell you anything :) and a free meal in Hawaii is worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

A touch of Hawaiian culture and hospitality.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Pretty much covered it above. There is a free trolley on the Ka'anapali hotel loop. Be sure to use the free hotel activities, esp. the grounds walk.
Cons: Internet is slow and sometimes sketchy. Room lighting for night time readers is marginal. Bring your own light bulb and change theirs out.
Location: Tours we recommend are the whale watch with Pacific Whale Foundation in Lahaina and the all day trip to Hana. Snorkle at Molokini.
This was a great stay. We did not eat there much as the Whaler's Village a short walk away had great food for less. There is nothing wrong with the food at the hotel, however. We just like to spend our money on the sights. There are daily activities, nightly free hula and song shows, unfailing smiles and helpfulness. We did not want to have a car, so we bought two senior bus passes. The buses cover the entire island main routes, but do not make a lot of in between stops.Two people were injured by swimming during storm alerts and one went to the hospital. Again the staff was efficient and caring. We did eat twice at the Tiki Grill on site. Very good food. We were in the Maui section, 5th floor and the view was incredible! There are few rooms in the old original 2 story section. It is indeed the most Hawaiian of the hotels and we visited a few of the others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The facility is in a good location, but it's very old and outdated. Not a lot of activities for kids. The rooms are very small. We asked for a non smoking room, and our room was in a smoking floor, where people were allowed to smoke in the balcony. It was impossible for us to keep our window open, as our neighbors were smoking all the time and not only cigarettes ....with two kids ....not cool. The view from the balcony was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location, and staff
Cons: Rooms were a little dated but still very nice
Location: Lots to do near the hotel. Whale watching pick up on beach in front of hotel. Hiking, waterfalls and pools
Fantastic location and a wonderful staff. A very nice hotel and I would definitely stay there again! Love the bands and dancers that they have every night. Beautiful grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by ec, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and we're happy you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Hotel is actually on the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: All employees are excellent and many have worked there for many years. All want to make your stay comfortable and love working there.
Cons: The food in the restaurants is OK, but not as good as the prices indicate that it should be!
Location: The location is excellent, easy access to the beach, it's on the beach! All activities are available.
Hotel and employees are excellent, very accommodating. Restaurant food is less excellent, but plentiful servings, easy to over-eat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager at Kaanapali Beach Hotel , Hotel Management
Aloha, Ray! Mahalo for taking time writing this review. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our location and our excellent employees. We are proud to be KBH ʻohana (family) and consider you as our extended ʻohana. We will keep improving on food and beverage, and hope to welcome you back soon!