Ratings based on 2,319 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful hotel right right on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great location right on the beach, cute and beautiful courtyard, free live music and/ or hula performance daily in the evening right at the hotel. Convenient in so many ways! I'd stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Good value and location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Hotel staff is friendly and the grounds are well maintained. Not a top flight resort but then again, neither are the prices. Very convenient to shopping at the Whaler Village to the south and excellent snorkeling is a quick walk north.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay for the price

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff. The beachfront. The way the whole place smelled like flowers. The complimentary lei when you leave.
Cons: Freshen up the rooms; new paint, update bathrooms.
Location: Everything is near by. Try the ziplines just 2 minutes away.
Yes, the rooms are a little run down but the hospitality makes up for it. We stayed at the Hyatt for a few days and I much prefer the Kaanapali. Besides being 1/3 the price, the staff is amazingly friendly. They try very hard to share the Hawaiian culture with you. I think the beachfront by the Kaanapali is superior. The only food we ordered there was cheese pizza at the grill. Only $12.50 for a 12". Cheap for hotel prices. It only took 10-15 minutes to get and very satisfying. Only complaint is their parking spaces are small and mostly marked for compacts. Definitely won't be renting an SUV next time. I would definitely stay here again. Go to the free welcome breakfast, they don't try to sell you anything :) and a free meal in Hawaii is worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

A touch of Hawaiian culture and hospitality.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Pretty much covered it above. There is a free trolley on the Ka'anapali hotel loop. Be sure to use the free hotel activities, esp. the grounds walk.
Cons: Internet is slow and sometimes sketchy. Room lighting for night time readers is marginal. Bring your own light bulb and change theirs out.
Location: Tours we recommend are the whale watch with Pacific Whale Foundation in Lahaina and the all day trip to Hana. Snorkle at Molokini.
This was a great stay. We did not eat there much as the Whaler's Village a short walk away had great food for less. There is nothing wrong with the food at the hotel, however. We just like to spend our money on the sights. There are daily activities, nightly free hula and song shows, unfailing smiles and helpfulness. We did not want to have a car, so we bought two senior bus passes. The buses cover the entire island main routes, but do not make a lot of in between stops.Two people were injured by swimming during storm alerts and one went to the hospital. Again the staff was efficient and caring. We did eat twice at the Tiki Grill on site. Very good food. We were in the Maui section, 5th floor and the view was incredible! There are few rooms in the old original 2 story section. It is indeed the most Hawaiian of the hotels and we visited a few of the others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The facility is in a good location, but it's very old and outdated. Not a lot of activities for kids. The rooms are very small. We asked for a non smoking room, and our room was in a smoking floor, where people were allowed to smoke in the balcony. It was impossible for us to keep our window open, as our neighbors were smoking all the time and not only cigarettes ....with two kids ....not cool. The view from the balcony was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location, and staff
Cons: Rooms were a little dated but still very nice
Location: Lots to do near the hotel. Whale watching pick up on beach in front of hotel. Hiking, waterfalls and pools
Fantastic location and a wonderful staff. A very nice hotel and I would definitely stay there again! Love the bands and dancers that they have every night. Beautiful grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by ec, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and we're happy you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Hotel is actually on the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: All employees are excellent and many have worked there for many years. All want to make your stay comfortable and love working there.
Cons: The food in the restaurants is OK, but not as good as the prices indicate that it should be!
Location: The location is excellent, easy access to the beach, it's on the beach! All activities are available.
Hotel and employees are excellent, very accommodating. Restaurant food is less excellent, but plentiful servings, easy to over-eat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager at Kaanapali Beach Hotel , Hotel Management
Aloha, Ray! Mahalo for taking time writing this review. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our location and our excellent employees. We are proud to be KBH ʻohana (family) and consider you as our extended ʻohana. We will keep improving on food and beverage, and hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Perfect Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: True Hawaiian experience and culture
Cons: it's an older facility, but still maintained fairly well
Location: location is perfect walking proximity to the beach, Whaler's village, water activities, and other restaurants in the area.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that's clean, friendly and accommodating, but don't want to pay outrageous price for the upscale hotels, then this is the place to stay. It's not an upscale hotel, but it's perfect if you just need a place to unpack, sleep, shower and enjoy the Hawaiian culture. Nothing fancy, but the location is perfect, the beach is perfect, and the amenities and staff are very accommodating. Would stay here again when we visit Maui.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by ec, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and we're glad you had a great time. Should your travel return you to Maui, we hope you will once again consider making KBH your home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel service staff very accommodating

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Would recommend to anybody and would return for a visit and stay here very informative very knowledgeable excellent accommodations and comfort
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by EC, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. It is always our goal to turn Hawaiian dreams into lifelong memories. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Heavenly!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
How this property would not get all 5 star reviews, I don't know. Right on the beach, parking on-site, no resort fees, free first day breakfast (for 6 of us in our family), very helpful staff, Great location. Whaler's Village was a five minute walk up the beach sidewalk. One example of the staff being helpful was the gal at the front desk when we checked in at 9:00 on a Sunday night. She advised me where to park in the parking garage so that we would have just a short walk to the rooms we had reserved. Appreciated that very much after traveling for 12 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by EC, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. It is always our goal to turn Hawaiian dreams into lifelong memories and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Should your travels bring you back, please consider us once again.