Ratings based on 907 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We got a beautiful view thanks to Stephanie at front desk... maintenance was on it right away wen we had a small issue, they fixed it... food was great. .. no complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

"Royal Lahaina" over Ocean Inn

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Cons: The pictures on the website for the room booked were deceiving for the room we got.
Location: Location is very central
I was not impressed with the Ocean Inn. I rate 5 stars and excellent customer service on the main hotel. However if you are on a budget, do not need elevator access, would like to get a glimpse of and hear the Luau every night of your stay... it is very close to the ocean, a very short walk to the boardwalk which leads to many hotels along the ocean, close to the main hotel and some amenities and close to the town, then the Ocean View Inn would be just fine. I was very pleased with the assistance I received from Expedia. Very helpful, fast and efficient. They need to let the people booking at this hotel know that there is no elevator in the Ocean Inn. Other than that I would suggest staying in the main hotel "Royal Lahaina"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Good location to beach and other locations, being able to access Royal Lahaina facilities helped greatly. Friendly staff, who were willing to make sure you were comfortable. 15 minutes walk to whalers village with shuttle access to Front St.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
This hotel was perfect. It was right on the beach and you can use all the resort amenities for an affordable price. I would 100% stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Nice lobby but very old rooms. Everything was clean. We had to pay for parking but the parking spots can be quite far from the room. We didn't have a view but we slept with the sound of the waves which was cool. There is a restaurant really really close, really nice for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Don't be fooled by the photos and description.

Posted May 4, 2017
I am a destination wedding planner and travel and stay at some of the most beautiful hotels in the world. I had a wedding at the main hotel last year and had a lovely stay so thought I would give this oceanfront cottage a try as the location is great and main hotel amenities are nice. This was the worst hotel/motel room I have ever stayed! I came back from dinner exhausted & spent the rest of the night killing cockroaches and trying to sleep in the most uncomfortable bed. The ac does not work, the room smells of mold and must, tiles and wooden walls were broken and dirty! The staff only offered to send housekeeping to kill the bugs for me. At check out, the manager, Yvonne, did not even come out and only suggested I be given a breakfast voucher or credited $50. I am deeply disappointed in how they handled my complaint as well as the condition of this supposedly renovated room. I lived on Maui for many years and suggest any other hotel than this one!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe friendly staff convinient

Posted May 3, 2017
Except for cockroaches everything fine. Rooms just ok. No tissue napkins
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Overland Park, KS

Affordable hotel on a wonderful resort!

Posted May 1, 2017
We've stayed at this hotel before. I recommend it to everyone. But the cleaning staff needs serious help! With that said...we would stay there again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront lanai/balcony was the best beach view

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Was a nice surprise to get beachfront view upgrade. This room was a great beach front view and surpass our expectations for the room at this great price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Honeymoon nightmare...almost!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We had to be moved to another facility due to water leak in our room! This right after we discoverd our unit was right next to the luau grounds and a lot of noise. Neighbors arguing in the room next door, old facility and dirty floors...not a nice experience for our first night in paradise. However our manager, Steve, was fantastic!!! He immediately upgraded our stay to the other resort hotel on site at no extra charge! We ended up with an ocean view and king size bed and a very quiet location...paradise found!