Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Wonderful resort definitely recommend!! Great atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great stay in Maui

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and staff.
Location: Convenient to both Lahaina and the west beaches, and the great south beaches. Easy drive to get to the Hana Hwy. Plenty of snorkeling beaches,
Small, uncrowded facility less than 20 yards to a beautiful, secluded beach. Staff is very pleasant and always willing to help. They have everything you need for a great beach experience including free sun block. Nice breakfast, central Kihei location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful Hotel and staff

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything - see above
Cons: We had an older room without a balcony but this suited us and for the price we paid we were very happy. Others may like to request a balcony.
Location: Great, across the road from a beach convenient to South and Central Maui and the airport. Good road links to everywhere on the island.
Great hotel with very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to help to ensure that every aspect of our holiday was brilliant. Warm welcome from the minute we arrived until we left. Lots of home comforts including a great buffet breakfast with hot and cold dishes, fruit and local produce. The staff were happy to provide a tray so we could eat in the lovely gardens. Beach chairs, umbrellas, cool boxes, ice and even suncream were all available free of charge and made road trips for picnics easy to do. Snorkels and boards for those who want them too. This is the difference between the big impersonal hotels and staying in a place where you can feel it is your home away from home. Great facilities; spotless pool, hot tub, roof terrace although we did not use these they are a great bonus. The grounds are breathtaking and were quiet and calm. Full size fridge for cold drinks and snacks. Welcome basket of coffee, popcorn , cereal bars and local water were very welcome on arrival and we made use of the 24 hour snacks in reception. We even got Valentine cookies for breakfast and there was free tea/ coffee in the afternoons. We were invited to stay and use all the facilites after checkout which is good for late departures. We were pleased to stay in a Hotel which has a positive attitude to all people and provided us not just a convenient base from which to see Maui but made us feel part of Maui for one magical week. We hope that one day we can return with our family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria NH

Good bang for the buck

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: I was surprised it was a fully furnished kitchenette. The staff could not be more friendly nor helpful. Much better then expected breakfast.
Cons: Bathroom exhaust fan. Remove blue flashing smoke detector. Parking is tough
Location: One definitely needs a car. The beach, across the busy street is fine for walking but rather silty for swimming. Restaurants and shopping a mile or2
Spent eight nights on Maui. A different experience then Ohau. One definitely needs a car as Maui is much more spread out, esp restaurants. It is actually difficult to find moderately priced restaurants for a Hawaiian experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The staff was wonderful. They go out of there way to make your stay wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by michael@koheakai.com, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us. Please come back again soon. Michael
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing value!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We needed a room for one night between between moving to another part of Maui. We booked here because it was literally the only room left! We had a great night here and for the price, couldn't beat the value. Staff was so helpful and friendly and every room includes breakfast which was really good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha, thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed breakfast. Please do come back and stay again. Mahalo,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel with a lot of privacy & staff attentio

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Have never stayed anyplace with a friendlier staff. Kohea Kai serves a full breakfast every morning, a very nice touch. Grounds offer a lot of privacy and the small size of this hotel lends a friendly atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again, but would reserve at least a two room suite on the upper level. Hotel has a variety of beach equipment free for the borrowing (chairs, boogie boards). Lots to do in Keihi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Very basic for the price. Close to ocean but no view. Not a good swimming beach. No sidewalks and a very busy road to cross to get to the water. No restaurants or coffee shops nearby. Suite had a couch and bench/ coffee table in sitting area. No dining table or chairs, no armchairs so not very cozy.
5 out of 5
by allan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Nice hotel right across the street from beach

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room. Full buffet breakfast was nice start to the day. This is small hotel and some quirks like no shelf for toiletries in shower, but more than made up for it w cleanliness, comfort and staff. Nice too that the room has fridge, microwave and dished in case you want to cook or reheat leftovers.