Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good!

Posted May 30, 2017
The staff were very nice. The room was a little smely I believe because of the old furniture. The bed was really comfortable and clean sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Very relaxing

Posted May 21, 2017
The staff was great warm and welcoming. It felt like we were the only ones there even though the were at least 6 other couples there also. We will DEFINITELY be coming back. They even have beach beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, snorkel, coolers, and beach mats) for you to borrow. The breakfast was great and the several different eating areas outside were very peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed our breakfast service and all the beautiful outdoor areas to enjoy it. We try to treat all our guest as Ohana (family). We hope to see you back again on Maui and at Kohea Kai soon. Warmest Aloha, Michael
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Very nice, beautiful and mellow hotel by the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I have arrived to Kohea Kai with my parents after 6 days trip in honolulu, when I first got there it was looking so mellow and chill which I really like usually but it was a huge different from honolulu, even though in honolulu we stayed on north shore which mellow and nice but still crowded than Kohea Kai. Anyway... I think it was Jay or James that welcomed us and checked us in, he was so nice and helpful, we were amazed how nice he was. We stayed for 3 nights and I wish I could stay more, the rest of the staff was awesome one by one, 5 STARS !!! Clean hotel and just beautiful, feels so peaceful and beautiful nature hotel, the price was definitely fair and you can be sure that I'll be back there in the near future!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Terrel, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for the review! We are so happy we could provide you with a great experience! We all love our island home so much and enjoy sharing it with our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future! Mahalo, Terrel and The Kohea Kai Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic Staff, Awesome Location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Not only you can access to the beach across road from the resort you can also enjoy beautiful sunset on the rooftop terrace. Close to shopping malls.
The staff from the resort has made our stay so enjoyable, not only everyone we bumped into greeted us, they also spent time to talk to us and give us good tips of places to eat and visit. Molly made our check-in experience nice and pleasant, based on her recommendation we have had an enjoyable Whale Watching excursion and visited places we never thought we could have been so close to the nature, she also lent us a guide book for Maui Island, how considerate is that, last not least she personally took us to our assigned room, OMG, you can see the ocean from our room and we can fall into sleep listening to the sound of the wave. Robyn who looked after the breakfast function gave us fantastic tips about good places to eat on the island, make sure you take some time to talk to the staff who will make your experience more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. George, UT

A fabulous little hide away from the crowds in Mau

Posted Apr 8, 2017
What a great place to stay at when coming to Maui. We were able to check in and get settled very fast. The desk clerk even took the time to walk us to our room and show us where to find everything. He gave us a map of the island and gave us tips on what to see and do. When our friends weren't able to connect with us until much latter the next day they were happy to hold our luggage in the office while we went sight seeing after checking out. I would give the staff a 10 out of a 1-5 rating. They provide service with a smile and went over and above in providing excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Great Service and Location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Very clean with big breakfasts, beautiful grounds, close to the beach, close to anywhere else on the island you want to go, very comfortable king bed, friendly and super helpful staff, all the beach stuff you need to borrow. The closeness to the very busy road was mitigated by the quality of everything else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude employees

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Never ever again.. these people are so rude and need training in how to treat their guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful hotel in wonderful area of Kihei.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Orbitz
We had a fantastic experience here. Waking up to a great breakfast every morning and relaxing to beautiful sunsets every night. We explored the whole island while Kohea Kai resort was our base. The staff is so friendly and very helpful. Thank you to the entire staff at the hotel who made our adventure in Maui unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stoughton, WI.

Nice Hotel & Beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Liked it just the way it is.
Location: Close to EVERYTHING. Short walk or drive to whatever you wanted.
Other then the fact that it wasn't long enough stay, would have liked to stay even longer then the week that we were there, alas the real world of work and family calls. Staff was Fab. as well as the room. Will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice facility. Good breakfast. Good beach right across a 2-lane street.