Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Very nice, beautiful and mellow hotel by the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I have arrived to Kohea Kai with my parents after 6 days trip in honolulu, when I first got there it was looking so mellow and chill which I really like usually but it was a huge different from honolulu, even though in honolulu we stayed on north shore which mellow and nice but still crowded than Kohea Kai. Anyway... I think it was Jay or James that welcomed us and checked us in, he was so nice and helpful, we were amazed how nice he was. We stayed for 3 nights and I wish I could stay more, the rest of the staff was awesome one by one, 5 STARS !!! Clean hotel and just beautiful, feels so peaceful and beautiful nature hotel, the price was definitely fair and you can be sure that I'll be back there in the near future!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic Staff, Awesome Location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Not only you can access to the beach across road from the resort you can also enjoy beautiful sunset on the rooftop terrace. Close to shopping malls.
The staff from the resort has made our stay so enjoyable, not only everyone we bumped into greeted us, they also spent time to talk to us and give us good tips of places to eat and visit. Molly made our check-in experience nice and pleasant, based on her recommendation we have had an enjoyable Whale Watching excursion and visited places we never thought we could have been so close to the nature, she also lent us a guide book for Maui Island, how considerate is that, last not least she personally took us to our assigned room, OMG, you can see the ocean from our room and we can fall into sleep listening to the sound of the wave. Robyn who looked after the breakfast function gave us fantastic tips about good places to eat on the island, make sure you take some time to talk to the staff who will make your experience more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. George, UT

A fabulous little hide away from the crowds in Mau

Posted Apr 8, 2017
What a great place to stay at when coming to Maui. We were able to check in and get settled very fast. The desk clerk even took the time to walk us to our room and show us where to find everything. He gave us a map of the island and gave us tips on what to see and do. When our friends weren't able to connect with us until much latter the next day they were happy to hold our luggage in the office while we went sight seeing after checking out. I would give the staff a 10 out of a 1-5 rating. They provide service with a smile and went over and above in providing excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Great Service and Location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Very clean with big breakfasts, beautiful grounds, close to the beach, close to anywhere else on the island you want to go, very comfortable king bed, friendly and super helpful staff, all the beach stuff you need to borrow. The closeness to the very busy road was mitigated by the quality of everything else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude employees

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Never ever again.. these people are so rude and need training in how to treat their guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stoughton, WI.

Nice Hotel & Beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Liked it just the way it is.
Location: Close to EVERYTHING. Short walk or drive to whatever you wanted.
Other then the fact that it wasn't long enough stay, would have liked to stay even longer then the week that we were there, alas the real world of work and family calls. Staff was Fab. as well as the room. Will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice facility. Good breakfast. Good beach right across a 2-lane street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, alberta

Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Toilet water flow not great
Hotel is on a busy road so a bit noisy when outside. Staff are excellent very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Covington,WAis

Friendly and Helpful

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Checking in was a breeze and the little things like chairs, boards, and float tubes were available. But the real chuckle is they put out left over suntan lotion for immediate usage. The morning breakfast and coffee was just enough after our walks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia WA

Kohea Kai - a great place to stay

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The genuine interest by the staff on making their guests feel welcome.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Kihei does not offer a lot more than beach and sun, but we appreciated the peace and quiet.
The hotel was right across the road from the beach. The staff, especially Ke'oni at the front desk, were super friendly and extremely helpful. Everything we needed, from a great breakfast to suntan lotion (and Aloe lotion if you did too much sunbathing) was provided. The room included a small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and toaster oven along with dishes and cutlery for use when eating out by the small pool. The grounds were very well kept. My wife and I would not hesitate to return here if we go back to Maui.