Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Marci Castillo from San Diego

Best place

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
Great place, def going back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manuela from B

Shaka at the Aston Maui Banyan

Posted Mar 25, 2014
We've been to Maui 4 times now and we always stay at the Maui Banyan in Kihei: laid back, a riot of tropical flowers and trees, close to shops and facilities, just across the beach and standout sunsets, best place to turtle watch on the island, this place is a keeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Saskatchewan

Wonderful Location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The grounds are well kept, lots of parking, 2 swiming pools with barbeques.
Location: A white sand beach is across the street, great restraunts and shopping with in a short walking distance
We have stayed at the Maui Banyan 3 times and would stay again, it is very quiet and comfortable place to stay. Its a home away from home. Staff are very personable and friendly, always ready to be of service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurie from US

Good value for your vacation in paradise

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Location/price was what drew us here. Plus our love of Kihei and desire to stay at a different condo every time we visit.
Cons: pool access instructions at keypad would be helpful. front desk indifferent to that and also about someone disabling our key cards on our last night.
Location: Favorite places: Maui Tacos, the hidden Black Beach in Wailea, Lappert's ice cream, 3's Bar & Grill (lettuce wraps are THE BOMB), Local Boys shave ice
Location was perfect, proximity to the beach was good. No elevators so kind of a pain lugging your stuff up the stairs but we were only on the 2nd level so not a huge issue. Room was fine, basic. Pocket (sliding)doors between the one bedroom & livingroom didn't work right. Should really have a regular door there anyway to totally close out sound since bedroom and livingroom were next to each other. I stayed in livingroom, friend stayed in bedroom & we could easily hear the other person's tv & see them thru the clouded glass on the pocket door. Lanai was extremely narrow so for two people to go out there & sit each person has to enter the lanai from separate sliding doors. Everything was clean, good basics were stocked for our convenience including beach chairs. Appreciated automatic ice/water in fridge. Internet access was ok. Pool was terrific, clean & often empty. Access to pool could be improved. We were given the pool code but pad was black upon first visit. i.e. nowhere to push in numbers. I tapped pad w/ hand & nothing. Front desk assured us it was working fine. Went back, played with it some more and finally upon laying my hand on it for a few seconds it lit up. Annoying front desk didn't SAY that. Every other person who I saw at the pool had the same issue initially. One night our cards suddenly didn't work to get in our room. Walked to front desk, person didn't apologize, just asked for cards to re-program. She was quite indifferent. Most everything else was okay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Younes from Los angeles CA

Exceeded the expictations.

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool a little bit small.
Location: Beach across the street, and it's one of the best beaches in Maui in my opinion.
1min from the beach, cant beat that. Rooms are spacious and confortable. Everything you need i in there, even spices for cooking were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roberts Family from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Banyan was awesome!

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: How close it was located to the beach.
Cons: Nothing I can think of!
Location: Location was awesome! Close to everything!!
We had a great time there. The place we rented was BIG and open. Two swimming pools. One that didn't get hit by the afternoon sun, was nice to sit and relax beside after a long day at the beach! Very close to all amenities walking distance. Kamaole Beach is just across the street and one of the nicer beaches. Great for snorkeling too! Very kid friendly, even though we didn't bring our kids! But we plan on doing so next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

privacy with entertainment

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Appliances and dishes
Cons: Doors
I wish the master bedroom had locks on the doors. The tv in the master bedroom was 19".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont go there...

Posted Apr 5, 2012
not the kind of place you want to spend your time in Maui. old, not clean, not maintained, far from the beach, ugly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC Canada

Maui Banyan in South Kihei

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels
We had an amazing time in Maui, aka "Paradise!" Our suite at the Maui Banyan was brilliantly situated overlooking the pool, impeccably renovated and very well outfitted with everything we needed for our stay...EXCEPT for the fact that it only had one bathroom! It was advertised as 1Bed/2 Bath, but we quickly realized upon arrival that the four of us would have to fight daily for the use of the one bathroom! Other than that, we were very happy with all the other amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good location
the room was very old and dirty. Old pellows, stained towells and pellows. Not enough dishes. No mixer for smoothies.