Ratings based on 4,376 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful location, but hotel needs some work.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking and upgrades of rooms
Location: It is in a great location with plenty to do nearby.
This was our fifth time at the Royal Lahaina. The hotel is not a fancy hotel, which is what we enjoy. Overall the staff are friendly and the rooms are basic. This time I sent an email requesting a room with two beds as we have a small child. When we arrived, they did not have a room with two beds and gave us one with a King bed and would move us the next day to an upgraded room. The next morning we asked about the upgrade and the person at the desk said the new room would be ready later, but it was not an upgrade, just two beds. So we were lied to. Also, on the website it mentioned a $10 per day parking fee, but when we got there it was $15 a day. The parking is horrific as it is the same parking lot for the Tennis club and for other locations. In the late afternoon we would drive around waiting for a spot for a while. Overall the Royal Lahaina is nice place, but if you are looking for something fancy, go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Beautiful grounds & hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Everything above
Cons: The wait staff at the restaurant was very slow on two different meals. One night we waited over 30 minutes after water was brought to the table.
Location: Shopping. site seeing, & restaurants with free shuttle to the locations.
There were many things to do on the hotel property. Actually we could have never left the property if we had wanted to & had a wonderful vacation in Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

enjoyed everything about the resort

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: I stayed in a cottage, the space in the cottage excellent.
Location: If you wanted to do something around town, just a few miles away.
staff had an answer for all my questions. Getting from point A to B, knowledgeable of all types of transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Amazing beach view and access. Pleasant hotel. The restaurant stayed open a little later for us one night which was really nice. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was housekeeping did it change our sheets until we left a note requesting it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Cons: Better tour staff.
Location: ~Beach walk ~Whalers village ~Golf/tennis ~Lots of restaurants/bars within walking distance
Hotel only had 3 small pools, nothing fancy compared to other hotels in the area, but we were OK with that. The rest was excellent. Lady at the tour desk wasn't very helpful, but we found the we could book tours and Luau elsewhere with better service and cheaper too. Rest of staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and close to beach, interior lacking

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Staff and the service
There is minimal lighting in the rooms. No mirror with adequate lighting to put on make-up or fix hair, etc. Has a frig, but no microwave. staff quick to respond to requests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The breakfast buffet was good but, the food that should have been hot was cold. We arrived before check in time and they were supposed to call us when the room was ready, and they never did. Best Lual I've ever been too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort exactly what we needed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We got a 2 bdrm cottage, and it was very spacious and it gave us that "Hawaii feeling." It opened up to the lawn so our kids could play. We had a fabulous experience at this resort. Pleasantly surprised and pleased!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, CA

Great Place to Relax and get away.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Get ready to kick your shoes off and recharge your batteries. The staff is very friendly and the resort is very conveniently positioned in relation to shopping and dining options. I stayed for eight days and didn't have any major issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quiet family-friendly hotel with nice beach

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Pleasant gardens overlooking beach.
Cons: Really, it should be updated.
Location: Great location with beaches and coastal drives close by.
Hotel shows its age a bit but is a pleasant spot at which to stay. Seemingly less crowded than some other nearby hotels.