Ratings based on 4,403 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Please don't go here so we can have it all.

Posted May 23, 2017
Great place but small pools and hot tub. Very nice staff. Be aware there's no resort fee but they charge $15 a day to park your car and parking sucks. Or pay $20 a day for valet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome and so close to beach

Posted May 22, 2017
It was a great experience and would highly recommend the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Great Location and beautiful beaches.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The service. I had some issues with my room and every time I called they were there within minutes. Maid service was great.
Cons: The room had peeling paint and bathroom never looked really clean. It needs some sprucing up.
Location: Located near Laihiana which has a lovely little village with great restaurants and shopping. I took a snorkeling trip which was awesome
I checked in past midnight and the staff was professional and friendly. My room was very nice though in need of a little paint and scrubbing in the bathroom. Loved having a balcony which was great for sitting out and reading. Would have liked a comfortable chair in the room for watching TV or just lounging. The grounds were beautiful and enjoyed breakfast overlooking the pool. The employees were outstanding. Everyone I dealt with went above and beyond, to a point that when my TV was not working properly, they brought me a new one! Enjoyed swimming in the pool and ocean and food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted May 15, 2017
Great location. Perfect beach. Great food. Hotel offers many things. Store, coffee shop and restaurant. We will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha ne

great place

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: things you could do
Cons: restaurant menu
Location: many things to do
the only thing that I would change what the restaurant menu had
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of Hawaiian Cultures.

Posted May 12, 2017
Nicely decorated room. Fruendly and helpful staff. Good food and drinks. Nice pool areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel staff was friendly and our room was very nice. I also loved that there was a laundry facility on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted May 6, 2017
The stay was awesome they even updgaded our room. Room smelled nice like pineapple. Definitely our place to stay when in Maui.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Views

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The view, the front desk staff and the cleaning ladies!
Cons: Freshen up the rooms and better use the space that you do have
We recently stayed at the Royal Lahaina for 2 weeks. I am going to be fair in my review and I can only rate this hotel against other hotels we have visited. I would give this hotel a solid 3 star rating. The staff were all amazing....from the front desk to the cleaners....the beach rental staff....could for sure be a bit friendlier....but overall, we found the staff to be great. We upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room which I will say, the view was amazing! The rooms are exactly as other reviewers have stated.....dated but with a true Hawaiian feel. It would be so easy to just refresh the rooms....freshen up that paint, brighten up the rooms a bit...and replace some of those old tired pictures. The bones of the rooms are great, just in bad need of a refresh. And we were a bit surprised at the use of space in the rooms or lack thereof. Move that bed, get a small table in there or at least two chairs so that if you do eat in your room, you can BOTH have a chair. And speaking of food....yikes....the breakfasts were great....we found the buffet to have lots of options...and I am gluten free....but the restaurant after breakfast....don't waste your time. The service was awful, the food was not great....there are so many other great places to eat within walking distance, that was what we did. Royal Scoop was really good....great coffee and ice cream! So all in all, our stay was not awful but its not somewhere we would go back to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great location

Posted May 2, 2017
Staff was nice but just going through the motions not real personal. Room was nice but you could hear a person fart next door. When you book a room it's a request you'll get what's available example I booked a king bed I got two double beds though they did switch us once one became available inconvenient to move. The Castaway restaurant was good. Even though we had some issues overall was a great place to stay I believe the same issues exist everywhere.