Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great location and views

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: View was fabulous. Oceanfront condo (#425) on the 4th floor, was perfect for my mother and I. Very comfortable.
Cons: Getting used to the stackable washer/dryer. It worked fine, but I wasn't used to having only a few things washed at a time.
Location: Downtown Kihei is only a few miles drive. Lahaina, depending on traffic, can be up to a 40min drive. Great location.
Wonderful place, Sugar Beach. Lovely setting, fantastic pool, and ocean right outside the units. A a great little bar, Dina's Sandwich, is a friendly place with great drinks and fantastic food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrified: Troops of blood sucking bugs on the bed

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The AI style customer service, "please leave a message, and we will response to you ASAP" The lady in the dept with the full name called "specialist"
Cons: Close the hotel and clean up thoroughly. Get some human beings as night staff, and get rid of the staff with the full name called specialist.
Location: Please contact the guest for the April 2017, and make sure they are ok.
The experience can be described as worse than "horrendous"! In the middle of night on your vacation trip at Maui, when you put down your kid and wanted to laid down after an long exhausted day, but suddenly a bug appeared. No problem, squashed it. However, two more came out. Squashed them, more came out from every corner of the bed. The best part are: fresh bloods came out from every one of them. I immediately moved my kid out of the bed. See my high resolution photos of those dead troops! After more than an hour fight, with bloods everywhere and no sign of less bugs coming out, we decided to give up. Picked up the phone to ask for the night stuff help. You got very the futuristic or AI service far ahead Google, "please leave a message, we will return to you as soon as possible". After one hour called from my mobile, and from land line, always the same tone of the same message repeated again again. No human beings on the other end of the line. That is called night emergency service! Called Expedia, and found another hotel 2AM in the morning. Fled away. Next day, an condo management inspector came, acknowledged the issue. Promised to call state pest control dept and called me to confirm. After one month, nothing rings. When i called them up to check what are those bugs, the "specialist" lady challenge me why I called after an month! who is the customer and who should say apologize? I am confused. If you know anyone stay at this property on Apr, ask them to check doctors!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay was very nice.

Posted May 21, 2017
I loved coming out and sitting on the patio and seeing the turtles in the ocean. Walking along the beach was fun. Just a very beautiful place. I loved very minute of my stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tres Pinos CA

Sugar Beach

Posted May 7, 2017
Owner still in our room an hour and 20 minutes after check in still cleaning...not cool The code to the room did not get extended by owner so we were locked out of our room for almost an hour and had dinner plans so of course we were not happy. Then the new code didn't work either but management company did fantastic job retrieving from owner. Overall stay was great just a few mishaps along the way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

View/location make up for condition of room.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: View, location and grounds. Pool is very nice.
Cons: Update the unit. It would make it seem cleaner. Or at the very least, get a decent pull-out sofa bed, new utensils and new bedding.
Location: Location is good. Shopping and snorkeling nearby. 30 minutes to Lahaina and Paia.
Pros - view, location to beach, bbq and pool, and in-suite washer/dryer. Cons - room does not sleep 4 comfortably. Pull out sofa bed should be replaced. Springs and bars are sticking out and no one was able to sleep on it. Someone slept on the floor and someone slept on the couch. Oven took 45 minutes to pre-heat. Kitchen utensils are very old which made them seem dirty. There was a rip in the comforter and it had been sewn but looked terrible and was probably at least 10 years old. I couldn't understand why it hadn't been replaced. Overall the unit is very dated. Honestly even a few things like a decent pull-out sofa bed, new utensils and new bedding would have made the room more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Nice condo. Great views

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Had a great time condo had everything we needed, was reasonably priced and had a great view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland,Or

Centrally located to the places we like to visit

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet and well taken care of with the wonderful weather of course.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: Central to great beaches and many wonderful places to eat nearby.
Very nice beach for walking. Lovely fruit market a short walk away as well as a bakery with incredible baked goodies.It was nice to have a water filter in our unit (209)which saved us money on not having to buy bottled water and cut down on the plastic waste products. The kitchen was very well stocked with dishes, cooking utensils, and cleaning supplies. Comfortable bed. It was a great get away and we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Excellent Location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Great Condo Private beach Super location Fantastic sunsets
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love Sugar Beach

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We love Sugar Beach. It is wonderful to share time as a family on the oceanfront. The units have been gradually updated which is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Pool, beach!
Cons: Turn the volume down on the Jazzercise class at 7:15am!
Overall the hotel was great - beautiful beach and well situated to get to everything. Clean, well-kept and a lovely pool/hot tub. Only complaints would be: 1. The daily Jazzercise class that took place in the pool every morning at 7:15am set to a tape playing on a boom box that could be heard in our unit. 2. The traffic noise from the highway beside was a little loud in our unit as the back bedroom faced the road. Other than that, all good.