Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

I love maui

Posted May 2, 2017
I love it nice secluded cottage spot. The second place to no other. Probably need a telescope at night time aloha.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, c! Thank you for your visit and kind words. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and truly appreciate your highest rating. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

YOU WILL LOVE THE HUNDREDS OF ROOSTERS !

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The place is ok. The roosters CROW 10 FEET FROM YOUR ROOM ALL DAY so if you don't mind screaming ROOSTERS and a terrible slum view from next door ,But don't pay more than $60.a night also added bonus Staff was extremely ROOD! And.... Never stay at a property with Soleil manegment they are the worst in U.S. never believe anything g they say.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise disturbance. Unfortunately, we can't pick our neighbors, and Maui ordinances permit the roosters. We are also sorry if our resort staff was anything less than completely cordial. Courteous customer service is our top priority, and we apologize if this was not your experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terribly noisy

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Utility unit is right outside the unit so terribly noisy. Never saw any staff. What is the $15/day fee for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Very solid property

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Very solid property within walking distance to Napili Bay/beach which we love for the snorkeling with turtles. We stayed 5 nights and loved the size of the rooms. Our only complaint was the neighbors next to the pool have super smelly animals next to the pool and you can smell it when the wind kicks up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Donovan! Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased our convenient location and spacious accommodations contributed to your five-star experience. Please accept our apology for the olfactory offense. If only we could choose our neighbors ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder Creek, CA

No 24 hr staff, no resolutions.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, well maintained.
Cons: Have a 24 hour staff. Be more observant with the laundry (towels).
Location: N/A
Working on business 12hr/day. There was no staff after 5PM or before 8AM. All the towels had so much lint it took 20 minutes to pick it off after a shower. Fold down bed (mattress) felt like I was on the floor. Cats! My parking spot smelled like a kitty litter box. Would have been happy at a Motel 6, at least I would know what I was getting. Granted I was trying to get a place close to my client with only two days prior notice at the peak of the travel season, and ended up driving 1 hr each way to the job site.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were happy to stay here! The facilities and building were very clean and well kept and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We loved being able to walk along the nearby oceanfront trails, and walk to snorkel at Kapalua Bay and swim at Napili Bay. There are few shops/restaurants within walking distance at this location (unlike Kihei, for example). The room itself was small and a bit dark, and the kitchen could have had a few more basic amenities (e.g. salt and pepper, cooking oil).
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for choosing The Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased we made a favorable impression for cleanliness and friendly, helpful customer service. As you discovered, our location is convenient to a wonderful beach, many recreational opportunities and abundant shopping/dining options. Thanks again for your visit and kind words. It was our pleasure to serve you. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

close to beach and restaurants

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: quietness and confort
Cons: the after hour service phone, but there fixed almost immediately!
Location: beach access, restaurants, shopping are all very easy
nice experience, the staff was friendly, and they know what's around, and recommend what to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great week of golf.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Nice large spacious 1 bedroom with kitchen and 2nd bathroom. Worked out well for pair of golfers, or a couple with a guest could be comfortable also.
Worked out great for SBS Champions Tournament. Property was close to everything that you need for a great week of golf and still be able to see the tournament in the afternoon. Was very cost effective, and you were still walking distance to many great beaches and the Pineapple Grill at the Kapalua Bay Coarse was perfect for breakfast, cocktails, and Dinner. Will stay here again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for choosing The Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased we were the perfect location for your golf visit and delighted you'll be staying with us again next year. We look forward to serving you. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Worst hotel in best location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: There is best beach on the island - Napili. Zipline, golf, snorkeling - many things to do around.
Pros: - Location (just this) Cons: - CHICKENS (seriously) - next to hotel there is a farm house - at 4 AM every day hens start screaming. If you are pretty sensitive - you will not get rest. - facilities - so old that within 6 days we got broken dishwasher. Also every unit has it's own water heater. We are family of 4 and hot water was not enough for all of us. - staff - 'lady' in office so unfriendly that I have not seen during my last 20 hotels. So strict and talking to you like you borrowed money from her. Example - check out date, empty parking, we asked to leave car until 5PM. So she highlighted that giving us a big favor allowing to leave car for several hours. Summary: personal feeling - all hotels around Napili beach a booked in advance. And this property simply using that fact by knowing that people anyways will come on the best beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Andrei. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not make a more favorable impression and extend our sincerest apologies if our employee was anything less than completely cordial. Courteous customer service is our top priority, and we are sorry this was not your experience.