Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Disappointing hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Hotel is right next to beach which is very convenient.
Cons: Improve wifi and breakfast at least.
#1) The booking confirmed 2 Queen beds suite, but when checked in, there is only one Queen bed and full size pull out sofa. Hotel has to use 2 futon mattresses to make a bed on the floor. #2) We hung "Do not interrupt" tag on the door knob, but hotel staff still entered into the room to do the cleaning, destructed the temporary futon bed and refold the sofa bed which made my sleeping wear was gone with the dirty sheet, I filed the complain to the office for the missing sleeping wear, eventually they found it from laundry. #3) Breakfast only last 1.5hrs, only bread and fruit, come early for the egg, otherwise no refill. #4) No phone and TV in the room, Wifi is horrible weak inside the room. #5) Small ants everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC. Canada.

A very nice quiet,relaxed atmosphere.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The grounds are well cared for by the excellent and dedicated staff namely Joseph and others whom I have spoken to but do not know their names.
Cons: This is an older property.I loved the decor and the paintings.Cannot think of anything at the moment.I was only there 1 night.
Location: I am familiar with the area, as I was at the Sands of Kahana for a week.Presently I am at the Westin Ka'anapali OceanResorts.This is my 4 th trip here
There were turtles on the beach.A bonus was listening to someone playing the ukulele all evening, very soothing, sitting on the lanai, looking at the ocean and listening to the sounds of the ocean waves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing hotel in good location

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel right on the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location but no A/C and no privacy

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The hotel is right on the beach. The Sea House restaurant is 5 min away. The food is great and the views are just perfect.
Pros: The location is perfect! It is right on Napili beach. Our room was 60 steps from the beach. The property is in a very good condition. Beautiful gardens. Security guard on site was very friendly and helpful. Free parking and continental breakfast. The room had a fridge, a stove, a microwave, and everything else you need for cooking and eating. We cooked a breakfast a couple of times and ate it on the balcony, which was nice. Cons: No A/C and it gets REALLY hot. You have to keep both the front door and the balcony open to get some kind of a breeze. This means you can see AND hear your neighbors in the second building right in front of you and everyone who passes your room on the way to theirs or to the lobby. And they can see and hear you, too. It felt like living outdoors. We could hear everything our neighbors downstairs talked about on their patio. Another issue was that the trees needed to be trimmed as they were completely blocking the ocean view that we paid for. This was a disappointment. I'd say if you do not mind lack of privacy and no A/C, it is a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Beautiful grounds on a tranquil bay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location right on the bay and the grounds were gorgeous!!!!
Cons: No AC
Location: Loved the location right on Napili bay easy to get to Lahaina for shopping and restaurants, we Just enjoyed the beauty of place it was relaxing!
Only con is sometimes we wished it had ac!! Beautiful little hotel on a wonderful bay, felt very Peaceful like the old Hawaii, if you are looking for a lot of conveinences like spa services etc This is not the place for you, but we loved it and would go back again in a minute!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean minimalist but expensive hotel.

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed to find out that the rooms had no ac and tv. Some might be happy to do w/o tv but the absence of an ac could be problematic during the hot summers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO AIR CONDITIONING

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
NO AIR CONDITIONING. Check the weather before booking this hotel! Unfortunately, due to climate change, temperatures are getting hotter than they have ever been in Hawaii and other places, so a place like this never needed A/C in the past. The highs were 90 the week we were there, so the room did not cool down at night, even with fans on full blast. Makes for a terrible vacation. The room and property are quite nice, but unless you can sleep in the heat, or unless the weather report is not that hot, look elsewhere. I was shocked to learn that a lot of high-end properties on the island also do not have any Aircon, even Napili Kai next door ($400/night). Other comments: no TV in the room, Wifi was great, and the continental breakfast was pretty weak - this is the kind of place where you buy your own groceries, since there is a fridge and microwave in the room, plus grills onsite. Also, privacy here is minimal, I could hear everyone in both rooms on either side, it's easy to see in someone's window, and it's hard to avoid people if you're looking for a more private vacation. Then again, some people like the community feel and meeting people, so if you like that, this place is for you. All in all, I would give it 3.5 stars - pretty decent overall, but overrated according to other reviews (they probably didn't have to deal with the heat)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Old Fashioned Hospitality

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Modern, Clean, Friendly
Cons: Air Conditioning
Location: I attended a wedding, so didn't go do a lot.
This place took me back to the wonderful time of the 1950's. I could imagine Elvis Presley staying here. While there are no TV's or Phones in the rooms, Wifi is available. The check-in times are from 2 pm to 5 pm and the office opens at 8:30 am. They don't use "key cards" here. ; p The entire place has a wonderful atmosphere of friendliness and hospitality. The grounds are filled with wonderful, well kept, stone paths that wind around the pool and to little hide-away seating areas. In the morning you can take your tray and dishes from your modern full size kitchen up to the Aloha room for the complimentary breakfast and bring it back to sit out on your patio which has a small dining table with 3 chairs and a handy towel rack for your wet things. The bed & pillows were so comfortable! The bathroom is large, remodeled and up-to-date. I had 2 ceiling fans and the wind blew through the room keeping it pretty comfortable. At night the path-ways are well lit. Access to the beach is wonderful, the room provides beach towels, but don't lose them, they will charge you for them. Over all this was a wonderful little hide-away that I would return to over a larger resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

peaceful and relaxing getaway

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Was worried about how small the pool is, but we were the only ones at the pool our entire stay. NOT because it's not clean and beautiful, but because it's a small hotel and the beach is beautiful with great swimming so most guest hang out there instead. Loved this place! We've stayed at other large popular hotels on Maui and they're loud and crowded. This place wins by far - romantic and peaceful with very friendly service. The only downside was that there is no air conditioning and the fan over our bed did not speed up enough to keep us cool at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to awesome beach

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, great location, only issue, no ac unit in room. It was humid when we were there, could have used a little ac to keep room cool at night.