Ratings based on 1,804 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fraud

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I paid for an "Ocean View" suite and my suite had a full view of the pool. They consider it "Ocean View," because you can lean out of the side of your balcony and see the ocean from the side. This is NOT an "Ocean View."
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha - we are very sorry to hear that your view was not as expected as we make every effort to appropriately and effectively communicate the various room views featured at the hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you still had a memorable stay.
4 out of 5
by Noah

Great, but for $700+ there are better choices

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
The Ritz-Carlton is clearly a 5-star brand and the service and staff were, of course, top-notch. But our room was $700/night, and for that price, there are way better options on Maui (look in Wailea, to be more specific.) The property is slightly older -- not old, but older, and the condition is a solid 4-star hotel. The staff is perfection. The property is beautiful. But after going head-to-head (we spent one night at the Ritz Carlton and one night at a 5-star resort in Wailea), I would stick with Wailea hands-down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Noah, Mahalo for sharing your review and for your compliments on the beauty of our property as well as the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We appreciate your feedback as well and will take that into consideration as we continue to look for ways to innovate our guest experience. Warmest Aloha, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. First time in Maui and location great! Walk to beaches for body surfing & snorkling, hiking and walking trails. Also saw whales from hotel property! Got delicious inexpensive meals at Honolua Market up the street. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks Ritz-Carlton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for the five star rating! We appreciate your recommendation and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

A great vacation experience.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful and we could not have asked for more. The quality of the rooms, grounds, swimming pools,etc was excelle
Cons: The Burger Shack (beach side restaurant) wait staff was not on the same level with the rest of the facilty. Restroom facilities could be improved.
Location: The Kampala golf course is on the site. LaHaina is about 20 minutes away and whale watching and snorkel trips leave from the harbor daily.
My wife and I had a great time and the staff went out of their way to enhance our experience. We had a bad trip to Maui with cancelled flights and delays. And our first day concluded with the airline losing our luggage. Once we got there, the Ritz staff did all they could to help us. Amy, a server in the Terrace, was a sweetheart. And "Griz" and Joy at the main desk were great. When we arrived and the view was not what we hoped for, they happily moved us to another room that we would like more. The beach was clean with the water was as clear as tap water and you could whale watch from the shoreline. The swimming pools were also great. We had a great experience at the Ritz and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Cary, Mahalo for you recommendation and five star rating! We were very sorry to hear that your arrival to Maui did not go as planned and appreciate you mentioning the Ladies and Gentlemen who helped turn that around once you arrived at the hotel. We also appreciate your feedback on Burger Shack and will be sure to review that with the team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Kapalua in the future. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Vacation of a Lifetime

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great amenities!
Location: Golf, Hiking, Spa, Entertainment, Beach, Restaurants, General Store
From the moment that our Valet opened the door of our car, we were treated like Royalty! The greeters (Sally) with the shell leis, our bellman Lee, Susan at the Front Desk, Brenda at Concierge (Brenda set up our Whale Watching, the Old Lahaina Luau and our Whale Watching Dinner Cruise), Pico at the Pool, Maxine at the pool, Ryan at the hut by the Beach. Our room was awesome thanks to Susan's thoughtfulness and attention to detail. Housekeeping did a great job on the room and we especially loved the Turn Down Service. Convenient location with a great beach and walking paths....Book IT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Mark, We truly appreciate your five star rating and for sharing the names of the Ladies and Gentlemen that made your stay extra memorable. We will definitely pass along your compliments. Mahalo for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to Kapalua in the future. Warmest Aloha!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lehigh Valley, PA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service
Location: A little far away from alot of things, though that was ok with us. There is only one road to get there, unless you want to take the coastal road.
Nice hotel, we have stayed in many 5 star hotel and resorts. I would say most are more updated than this one but few have the location. Our biggest complaint was that upon check in, which we reserved nearly 6 months in advance. We where told that we would not be getting the rooms we reserved and that we shouldn't have expected them. The front desk person said that they guarantee a room, not exactly what we reserved. I said that I thought that is the purpose of reserving rooms in advance, especially at a 5 star resort that far in advance. She didn't care and gave us what they had available. Our reservation was for two rooms for 11 nights, so obviously not a small bill. They didn't care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Woody, While we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, we are disappointed to hear about your check in experience. This is certainly not typical of our Ladies and Gentlemen and we will be sure to address your comments with our front desk team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider us again for a future visit so we may show you the first class service for which we are known.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were all terrific. Very helpful in planning our day trips and a variety of restaurants for evenings. We were a bit disappointed with the food available at the hotel. Not many choices. Very expensive as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Michelle, We appreciate your rating and review after your most recent visit to our hotel. We are sorry that you did not find the menu options to your liking and will be sure to share your feedback with our culinary team. It was our pleasure to provide you excellent service during your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest Aloha, The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Expenses beyond cost of hotel room

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice.
Cons: Remove the facility fee...why would that not be included in the hotel room rate?
The Hotel was very nice, but they should warn you upfront that there will be a $35.00 a day facility use fee and that the parking is $33.00 a day. If I would have known that when I booked the hotel, I would have picked another hotel. Also the hotel restaurants were very expensive. I would recommend eating away from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Richard, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the hotel overall. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the resort fee and will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you had a lovely time on Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A bit overpriced, but still a nice stay

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The Ritz is a clean hotel, staffed by friendly people, with a great view of the ocean. However, compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our week in Maui, the Ritz was more expensive, had a smaller room, and had overpriced food. Also, room service breakfast wasn't very good-would not repeat. But overall, it's a pleasant hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Nate, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As a valued guest, we appreciate your concerns and will be sure to address them with our team. Mahalo
5 out of 5
by Kimberly

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Kimberly - mahalo for your five star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with in Kapalua. Warmest Aloha, The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua