Ratings based on 1,804 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver wa

Nice hotel but food was average but pricey

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel and staff were awesome, but the price of food was rediculous, especially the breakfast buffet... $90 for 2 people and the options are slim. Definitely stay at this resort, but rent a car and drive for food. Great restaurants within 15 min.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha laura and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We apologize that you did find the breakfast buffet of value - our culinary team strives to provide the finest quality of ingredients and offer a variety of options to our guests so we will be sure to share your feedback with them. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waipahu, HI

Excellent Hotel!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: I especially loved our room!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Location in Kapalua, there's golf, ziplining, hiking, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, pool relaxing, hammock under coconut tree napping and lot more!
Excellent hotel that's close to Kapalua airport, DT Fleming beach and secluded enough to feel like you're at a secluded resort. On premise is everything you could possibly think of like recreation, hikes, ocean activities, pool, art, and best of all, the great restaurants and food. Our partial ocean view suite was very comfortable and spacious. It felt more than a home away from home. Given another opportunity, I'll be back for more enjoyment!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Kalei and mahalo for sharing your five star review along with the beautiful photos from your trip. We love reading reviews like this and are thrilled you had a memorable visit. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Getting Lost in a Great Hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
We splurged on this hotel to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. We had a lovely lovely time. Staff and food were excellent! Only negatives were the lack of signage and the beach is dangerous. The hotel is huge! From the lobby to our room was an easy 12 city blocks and one elevator ride. Every hall on every floor looks exactly the same. The artwork in the halls is incredibly poor and exactly the same from hallway to hallway, floor to floor. It is such a shame that this great hotel didn't spend a little money on creative signage and some good local artwork.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Cathy and mahalo for your five-star review! We are delighted you chose to stay with us and had a lovely time. Thank you for also sharing some feedback regarding our signage - we will be sure to take that into consideration. Regarding the artwork, we do have several pieces throughout the hotel from local artists including many from our in-house local art gallery,Village Galleries. We do appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but it was the farthest away.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: It's reputation, customer service, friendliness of staff, beauty of the hotel itself and the location for which it sits.
Cons: Honeymoon suite we were in could have had a whirl tub. Also, both outdoor Jacuzzis should have been working, only 1 was working.
Location: Location for which the Hotel sits on was Primo! Lahaina was close for exploring but a bit too far if you wanted to go to central Maui.
Since it was our 1st time, the Ritz-Carlton was an amazing experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing your review and choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay including the location of our hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We apologize that one of the outdoor jacuzzis were under maintenance during stay and hope this did not have a negative impact on your stay. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

worst ritz ever

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This Ritz is dirty, overcrowded cruise ship with terrible food and service. It needs millions of dollars in upgrades to make it a 4 star hotel let alone 5 star. It's a joke to charge $600 a night for this dump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Jack - we are very sorry to hear that you did not find your experience to be synonymous with what you've come to expect from a luxury hotel. We can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel or the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to in the future so that we may have another opportunity to show you the world-class service and facilities for which we are known.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding service!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Employees seem to be genuinely happy and interested in making the guests' stay perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HEAVEN IN PARADISE!!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The pool, beach, restaurants & spa all were magnificent. What a delightful experience! Kai Sushi is a MUST, truly exceptional! Banyan Tree is fabulous
Cons: NOT A THING!! Staff members, facility and grounds are all excellent! :) I hope you are compensating your employees well for the fantastic job they do!
Location: There is too much to list in 150 characters. You must experience it to truly appreciate the hotel, Island and all activities it offers!!
THANK YOU Ritz-Carlton Kapalua for an AWESOME stay!! :) Each & EVERY staff member I had the privilege of encountering was welcoming, warm, helpful and extremely friendly!! I would advise anyone and everyone to come and enjoy this experience for themselves -- Not only will you not regret it, you won't forget it!! I am going back again, and may consider it for a yearly ritual!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Tm and mahalo for such a glowing review of our hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We greatly appreciate your comments and will be sure to share it with our team. Mahalo for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Long weekend

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location and the hotel had everything we needed.
Cons: everything was great.
Location: Location was perfect and hotel offered a lot to do.
Had a great time at this hotel. Check in was a breeze. Hotel was beautiful. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Disneymia and mahalo for your four star rating! We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our hotel including the location, your room and the activities we feature. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: very clean
Cons: entertainment
Location: lots to do away from hotel if you have a car
All way enjoy Maui very nice hotels beautiful place to live
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review and for choosing to stay with us Charles. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate you feedback regarding entertainment. We will be sure to take this into consideration as we continuously look for ways to enhance our guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, MI

Nice Hotel Away From Bustle and Bustle.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and their attention to detail.
Cons: Nickel-and-diming everything.
Location: It's pretty far out, but there's a small market in the little village. Lahaina is where it's at and then Paia by the airport.
We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton for our Honeymoon in Maui and we were pleased. If you've stayed at the Ritz before, it's nothing special. There's a few restaurants and most close fairly early. Only one spot for breakfast, but it was a buffet option. We didn't really use much of the outdoor facilities (pool, lawn games, etc.) or the spa. We planned most of our trip outside of the hotel since there's so many activities around Maui itself. The staff is amazing. So helpful and kind. They're probably the best part of the Ritz. The hotel is a bit out-of-the-way for most activities, but the drive into town is beautiful, and if you go in February, it's the best route for whale-watching (at least for the passenger, but there are plenty of places to pull off at and watch).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Chelsea, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon and sharing your review. While we were disappointed to hear that your overall experience did not exceed your expectations, we greatly appreciate your comments about the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen and will be sure to share your compliments with them. Mahalo for your review and we hope you had a memorable stay in Maui. Warmest Aloha!