Ratings based on 1,799 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but it was the farthest away.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: It's reputation, customer service, friendliness of staff, beauty of the hotel itself and the location for which it sits.
Cons: Honeymoon suite we were in could have had a whirl tub. Also, both outdoor Jacuzzis should have been working, only 1 was working.
Location: Location for which the Hotel sits on was Primo! Lahaina was close for exploring but a bit too far if you wanted to go to central Maui.
Since it was our 1st time, the Ritz-Carlton was an amazing experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing your review and choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay including the location of our hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We apologize that one of the outdoor jacuzzis were under maintenance during stay and hope this did not have a negative impact on your stay. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

worst ritz ever

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This Ritz is dirty, overcrowded cruise ship with terrible food and service. It needs millions of dollars in upgrades to make it a 4 star hotel let alone 5 star. It's a joke to charge $600 a night for this dump.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Jack - we are very sorry to hear that you did not find your experience to be synonymous with what you've come to expect from a luxury hotel. We can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel or the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to in the future so that we may have another opportunity to show you the world-class service and facilities for which we are known.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding service!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Employees seem to be genuinely happy and interested in making the guests' stay perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HEAVEN IN PARADISE!!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The pool, beach, restaurants & spa all were magnificent. What a delightful experience! Kai Sushi is a MUST, truly exceptional! Banyan Tree is fabulous
Cons: NOT A THING!! Staff members, facility and grounds are all excellent! :) I hope you are compensating your employees well for the fantastic job they do!
Location: There is too much to list in 150 characters. You must experience it to truly appreciate the hotel, Island and all activities it offers!!
THANK YOU Ritz-Carlton Kapalua for an AWESOME stay!! :) Each & EVERY staff member I had the privilege of encountering was welcoming, warm, helpful and extremely friendly!! I would advise anyone and everyone to come and enjoy this experience for themselves -- Not only will you not regret it, you won't forget it!! I am going back again, and may consider it for a yearly ritual!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Tm and mahalo for such a glowing review of our hotel and the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We greatly appreciate your comments and will be sure to share it with our team. Mahalo for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Long weekend

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location and the hotel had everything we needed.
Cons: everything was great.
Location: Location was perfect and hotel offered a lot to do.
Had a great time at this hotel. Check in was a breeze. Hotel was beautiful. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Disneymia and mahalo for your four star rating! We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our hotel including the location, your room and the activities we feature. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: very clean
Cons: entertainment
Location: lots to do away from hotel if you have a car
All way enjoy Maui very nice hotels beautiful place to live
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review and for choosing to stay with us Charles. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate you feedback regarding entertainment. We will be sure to take this into consideration as we continuously look for ways to enhance our guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, MI

Nice Hotel Away From Bustle and Bustle.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and their attention to detail.
Cons: Nickel-and-diming everything.
Location: It's pretty far out, but there's a small market in the little village. Lahaina is where it's at and then Paia by the airport.
We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton for our Honeymoon in Maui and we were pleased. If you've stayed at the Ritz before, it's nothing special. There's a few restaurants and most close fairly early. Only one spot for breakfast, but it was a buffet option. We didn't really use much of the outdoor facilities (pool, lawn games, etc.) or the spa. We planned most of our trip outside of the hotel since there's so many activities around Maui itself. The staff is amazing. So helpful and kind. They're probably the best part of the Ritz. The hotel is a bit out-of-the-way for most activities, but the drive into town is beautiful, and if you go in February, it's the best route for whale-watching (at least for the passenger, but there are plenty of places to pull off at and watch).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Chelsea, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon and sharing your review. While we were disappointed to hear that your overall experience did not exceed your expectations, we greatly appreciate your comments about the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen and will be sure to share your compliments with them. Mahalo for your review and we hope you had a memorable stay in Maui. Warmest Aloha!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fraud

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I paid for an "Ocean View" suite and my suite had a full view of the pool. They consider it "Ocean View," because you can lean out of the side of your balcony and see the ocean from the side. This is NOT an "Ocean View."
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha - we are very sorry to hear that your view was not as expected as we make every effort to appropriately and effectively communicate the various room views featured at the hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you still had a memorable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. First time in Maui and location great! Walk to beaches for body surfing & snorkling, hiking and walking trails. Also saw whales from hotel property! Got delicious inexpensive meals at Honolua Market up the street. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks Ritz-Carlton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for the five star rating! We appreciate your recommendation and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

A great vacation experience.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful and we could not have asked for more. The quality of the rooms, grounds, swimming pools,etc was excelle
Cons: The Burger Shack (beach side restaurant) wait staff was not on the same level with the rest of the facilty. Restroom facilities could be improved.
Location: The Kampala golf course is on the site. LaHaina is about 20 minutes away and whale watching and snorkel trips leave from the harbor daily.
My wife and I had a great time and the staff went out of their way to enhance our experience. We had a bad trip to Maui with cancelled flights and delays. And our first day concluded with the airline losing our luggage. Once we got there, the Ritz staff did all they could to help us. Amy, a server in the Terrace, was a sweetheart. And "Griz" and Joy at the main desk were great. When we arrived and the view was not what we hoped for, they happily moved us to another room that we would like more. The beach was clean with the water was as clear as tap water and you could whale watch from the shoreline. The swimming pools were also great. We had a great experience at the Ritz and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Hotel Management
Aloha Cary, Mahalo for you recommendation and five star rating! We were very sorry to hear that your arrival to Maui did not go as planned and appreciate you mentioning the Ladies and Gentlemen who helped turn that around once you arrived at the hotel. We also appreciate your feedback on Burger Shack and will be sure to review that with the team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Kapalua in the future. Mahalo!